Home --> Race Track News --> Illinois --> Highland Speedway --> Highland Speedway – April 10, 2010 News Article

Highland Speedway – April 10, 2010 News Article

It was a great night for racing on April 10, 2010 at the Highland Speedway. The Breese Elementary School band started off the evening by playing the National Anthem. They did an awesome job and even entertained the crowd during intermission. The racing started with the UMP Factory Stock Feature from 4-3. It was Jordan Suhre who took the first checkered flag of the night. He was chased by Austin Isaak, Tracy VonRohr, Eldon Hemken, Bobby Funderburk, Trevor Isaak, Ryan Emig, Dale Bohnenstiehl, Justin Hall, Justin Suhre, Shawn McCall, Cale Hartnagel, Travis Horner, Jacob Rexing, Jon Easley, Jerry Thompson, Caleb Lintezenich, Rick Viviano, Cody Ventimiglia, Shea Gagne, Brent Trame, Kyle Swip DNS, Kyle McMahon DNS, and Craig Monk DNS.

There were 23 UMP Late Models who came to race. First heat win belonged to Mark Faust. He led Frankie Martin, Bobby Dauderman, Paul Bailey, Michael Jacober, Mike Schulte, Dan Jacober, and Rick Salter. Second heat had Jason Zobrist leading Chad Zobrist, Matt Weidner, Steve Leach, DJ Cygan, Aaron Kleine, John Cory, and Brandon Hogenson. Third heat saw Dave Thornton beat out Clay Baumann, John Beck, Dave Hartman, Bruce Unterbrink, Chad Sellers, and Dick Taylor. It was Mark Faust who swept the night by taking the checkered flag in the Feature.  He was followed by Chad Zobrist, Dauderman, Bailey, Weidner, Thornton, Salter, Schulte, Michael Jacober, Jason Zobrist, Dan Jacober, Leach, Cygan, Beck, Taylor, Hartman, Hogenson, Unterbrink, Cory, Martin, Sellers, Baumann and Kleine DNS.

The UMP Steve Schmitt Modifieds has 18 cars. First win of the division went to Mike Harrison in the first heat. Chasing him were Chad Sellers, Eric Faust, Trista Stevenson, Steve Lach, and Stephen Flannery, Jr. Second heat had Steven Ellison leading Chris Smith, Khris Fohne, Tyler Deibert, Ron Hartnagel, and Travis Koehler. Third heat top dog was Jim Werner, Jr, then Brett Korves, Dean Hoffman, Eric Goetter, Adam Pate, and Andy Oswald. For the second time this race night, a driver swept his division. This time it was Mike Harrison who took his second checkered flag of the evening. The Feature line up after Harrison was Korves, Ellison, Hoffman, Khris Fohne, Deibert, Stevenson, Sellers, Chris Smith, Lach, Goetter, Pate, Werner, Jr, Faust, Flannery, Jr, Hartnagel, Koehler, DNS and Oswald DNS.

There were 20 UMP Sportsman cars. It was Rick Johnson who took the first heat over Dennis Wernle, Ryan Eilers, Aaron Melton, Robbie Eilers, Andy Casper, and Tracy VonRohr. Second heat went to Russell Eilers, Jimmy Cummins, Tory Ernst, Nathan Schmitt, Jon Huegen, Devone Hartwell, and Dale Laird. Third heat leader was Allan Geiseking, then Rob Lee, Jon Ripperda, Steven Ellison, Mark Bohnenstiehl, and Lenny Garson. The third time of the evening, a broom was used at the speedway. This time it was Russell Eilers who brought his along. He won the Feature by beating out Wernle, Geiseking, Lee, Ryan Eilers, Bohnenstiehl, Ripperda, Ellison, Robbie Eilers, Cummins, Ernst, Huegen, Laird, Johnson, Schmitt, Melton, Casper, VonRohr, Hartwell, and Garson.

Twenty five drivers showed up in the UMP Street Stock division. It was Michael Ripperda, Jr who took the first heat over TJ Eilers, Larry Smith, Jr, Jake Hewitt, Bill Austin, Cody Johnson, Kenny Landolt, Zach Hoffman and Chris Harper DNS. Second heat went to Scott Ponder, then Jordan Bauer, Brad Venhaus, Mike Reagan, Dennis Ponder, Marcus Kruep, Tim Koch, and Brian Handegan. Third heat went to Justin Leichsenring who was followed by Jeff Buss, Shaun Horstmann, Michael Leichsenring, Jacob Steinkoenig, James Kruep, Matt Koch, and James Rhoades, Jr DNS. Sweeping his division was Michael Ripperda, Jr. He took the Feature over Scott Ponder, Buss, Bauer, Eilers, Justin Leichsenring, Dennis Ponder, Reagan, Smith, Jr, Austin, Hoffman, James Kruep, Tim Koch, Landolt, Handegan, Hewitt, Steinkoenig, Venhaus, Johnson, Horstmann, Marcus Kruep, Michael Leichsenring, Harper, Matt Koch DNS, and Rhoades, Jr DNS.

The UMP Factory Stock division had 25 cars. The first heat went to Ryan Emig, then Trevor Isaak, Jacob Rexing, Justin Hall, Travis Horner, Jerry Thompson, Brent Trame, Cody Ventimiglia and Jason Schmidt. Second heat went to Jordan Suhre who beat out Justin Suhre, Eldon Hemken, Willy Myers, Cale Hartnagel, Caleb Lintezenich, Rick Viviano, and Dale Bohnenstiehl DNS. Third heat winner was Jon Easley chased by Andy Hellmann, Bobby Funderburk, Shea Gagne, Kory Riesel, Shawn McCall, Lacey Egbert, and Austin Isaak DNS. For the third time of the evening, Jordan Suhre took the checkered flag in the Feature. Order of finish after Suhre was Justin Suhre, Hellmann, Easley, Emig, Rexing, Funderburk, Hall, Hemken, Myers, Gagne, Schmidt, Riegel, Horner, Trevor Isaak, McCall, Hartnagel, Thompson, Lintezenich, Viviano, Ventimiglia, Egbert, Austin Isaak, Trame, and Bohnenstiehl DNS.

Next Saturday, April 17th, will be sponsored by Highland Rural King. Grandstand gate opens at 5:00 pm. For more information, check out the website, www.highlandspeedway.com



Print Friendly, PDF & Email