Home --> Dirt Late Model News --> Inaugural Bad Boy 98 for the Lucas Oil Late Models Set for this Weekend at Batesville

Inaugural Bad Boy 98 for the Lucas Oil Late Models Set for this Weekend at Batesville

Lucas Oil Late Model SeriesWAYCROSS, GA (May 16, 2011) – The Inaugural Bad Boy 98 sanctioned by the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series will take place May 19th, 20th and 21st at the Batesville Motor Speedway in Locust Grove, AR. The winner of the race will receive $10,000 plus a 2011 Chevrolet Camaro as the trophy. Also a lucky fan will win a 2011 Ford Mustang., which will be given away on Saturday Night. The event will air on SPEED at 12 PM Eastern Time on June 12th.

Activity at Batesville Motor Speedway will get underway on Thursday Night, May 19th with a special practice session. On Friday Night, May 20th will be Red Buck Cigar Time Trials for the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series along with heat race action. On Saturday Night, May 21st will be the B-Mains followed by the Bad Boy 98 which pays $20,000 for second place and $1200 to start the main event. Also on Saturday will be the ApplianceZone.com autograph session for the series drivers.

The series event at Batesville Motor Speedway will continue the Sunoco Race Fuels Road to Wheatland in 2011 as 15 drivers with perfect attendance will be eligible for the $700 winners circle money once again as they make their way across America, heading to the 19th Annual DART Show-Me 100 at Lucas Oil Speedway in Wheatland, MO. So far this year 19 drivers have had perfect attendance and the series has had seven different winners in eleven races.

Scott Bloomquist of Mooresburg, TN, the two-time and defending Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series National Champion will be the series championship point’s leader heading to Batesville this weekend. Bloomquist, who had his four consecutive win streak broken last Friday Night at 34 Raceway in Iowa by Brian Birkhofer, will lead the series into the first of two visits this season to the Mooney Starr-promoted facility.

Jimmy Owens of Newport, TN has moved into second place in the championship point’s standings after a solid run in Iowa. Owens jumped ahead of Don O’Neal of Martinsville, IN, who fell to third in the points. Earl Pearson Jr. of Jacksonville, FL, the four-time LOLMDS champ rests fourth in points followed by Steve Francis of Ashland, KY who entered the top five for the first time this season after finishing third at 34 Raceway.

The rest of the top ten in the points coming to Batesville include; Mike Marlar of Winfield, TN; Dale McDowell of Chickamauga, GA; Bub McCool of Vicksburg, MS; Dennis Erb Jr of Carpentersville, IL; and Brad Neat of Dunnville, KY.

McCool leads the Quarter Master Rookie of the Year Points Standings coming into the Bad Boy 98 at Batesville this weekend. McCool leads Batesville, AR native and reigning COMP Cams Topless 100 winner, Jared Landers by 35 points in the chase for the $10,000 first place prize to be awarded at seasons end. Tyler Reddick, of Corning, CA, the 15-year-old racer sits third in the rookie followed by Frank Heckenast Jr. of Frankfort, IL.

The tire rule for the Bad Boy 98 will be; American Racer MD56, Hoosier Crate 55, 1600, LM40 and WRS 55.

For more information on this huge weekend of racing at Batesville Motor Speedway, you can visit www.batesvillemotorspeedway.net or you can call (870) 251-0011 for more info.

For the latest breaking news on the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series logon to www.lucasdirt.com or you can contact the series office at (951) 532-2503.

Current Lucas Oil late Model Dirt Series Championship Points Standings

1. Scott Bloomquist (Mooresburg, TN) – 1440
2. Jimmy Owens (Newport, TN) – 1300
3. Don O’Neal (Martinsville, IN) – 1265
4. Earl Pearson Jr. (Jacksonville, FL) – 1115
5. Steve Francis (Ashland, KY) – 1100
6. Mike Marlar (Winfield, TN) – 1080
7. Dale McDowell (Chickamauga, GA) – 1065
8. Bub McCool (Vicksburg, MS) – 1045
9. Dennis Erb Jr (Carpentersville, IL) – 1045
10. Brad Neat (Dunnville, KY) – 1040
11. Jared Landers (Batesville, AR) – 1010
12. Ray Cook (Brasstown, NC) – 955
13. Tyler Reddick (Corning, CA) – 955
14. Chris Wall (Springfield, LA) – 930
15. John Blankenship (Williamson, WV) – 910

Current Quarter Master Rookie of the Year points Standings

1. Bub McCool (Vicksburg, MS) – 1045
2. Jared Landers (Batesville, AR) – 1010
3. Tyler Reddick (Corning, CA) – 955
4. Frank Heckenast Jr. (Frankfort, IL) – 860

Print Friendly, PDF & Email