Home --> Race Track News --> Illinois --> BARNES, JR., FARRIS PUT ON A SHOW AT PEORIA SPEEDWAY


Peoria Speedway(Peoria,IL) Chuck Barnes, Jr. and John Farris are in a battle for the UMP National Championship, and the duo put on a show Saturday night at Peoria Speedway.

Barnes and Farris sit in 2nd and 3rd in the battle for theUMP National Street Stock Championship, and the battle raged on-track on a muggy evening. Farris started on the pole with Barnes, Jr. next to him on the front row, and Farris got the jump on the start. Barnes stalked Farris over the first 4 laps until a caution for Squoria Rivers slowed the action. On the re-start, Barnes challenged Farris on the inside of the track and the war began.

Barnes held the inside line and led on lap 5, with Farris taking the lead back on lap 6. Over the next 3 laps, they thrilled the crowd with a lead-swapping, side-by-side race until Barnes finally secured the lead for good on lap 9. Farris ended up 2nd, followed by Wally Zander, Greg Sauder and Rick Skelton.

“I couldn’t believe he slid up and left the bottom open on that re-start”, said Barnes in victory lane. “That was a terrific race and I think we only touched once on the backstretch. John’s a clean racer and this battle for the title is gonna be fun. The fans had to love that one.”

Steve Lance Jr. won his 5th straight UMP Late Model victory, but had to fight his brother Tim and Bobby Pierce for the win. Tim Lance got the jump on Pierce using the high-side as Pierce hugged the bottom of the track. Steve Lance followed Tim on the high side over the first 3 laps, and then followed Pierce in an attempt to find the fastest way around the racy quarter-mile. On lap 5, Steve Lance made the winning move with as he ran 3 wide and split the middle, taking over the lead in turn 3.

Steve Lance worked traffic masterfully as the race went caution-free and was never headed for the win. Pierce held on for 2nd, with Tim Lance, Jason Jaggers and Donny Walden completing the top 5. “I told our guys before the race that, starting 4th, we would probably have to win this thing in the middle of the track”, said Lance, Jr. “We’ve really got this Rayburn dialed in here.”

Ray Bollinger closed the gap in his quest for the UMP Modified National Championship with a dominating win in a race which began with a scary 7 car pileup on the backstretch. Bollinger was in 2nd place nationally, chasing Mike Harrison for the National title, and helped his cause with the win in the UMP Modified division. Bollinger survived 4 cautions and a line-switching Erik Bruce for the victory. Dale Munson, Dan Turner and Mike Chasteen, Jr. completed the top 5.

“This is sure going to help catchHarrison”, Bollinger told the crowd. “It sure helped to start on the pole, and it stinks so many guys got caught up in that wreck. I’m glad everyone was OK.”

Steve Shannon led flag-to-flag in a caution-filled and time shortened Limited Late Model feature, followed by Jack Siegel, Brian Crebo, Bobby Cowell and Jerry Carmody. “This is only our 4th race in this car, and I think we are getting it dialed in”,Shannon said. “I could hear Jack (Siegel) back there, and saw his nose a few times, but I knew if I held my line we would be OK.”

In the UMP Hornet class, the nations’ top 2 in points, Kenny Butterfield and Matt Maier respectively, started on the front row. Butterfield jumped to the lead, and Maier began to run the middle in an attempt to catch the current national points leader, but 5 cautions slowed the action and the race was called due to reaching the track-imposed time limit. The final caution was for a scary accident by Brent Terry, who lost a tire and barrel-rolled 3 times in turns 3 and 4. Remarkably, Terry was OK and described the frightening wreck as “fun”.

“Matt and I are good friends so its’ pretty cool to race with him for the championship”, said Butterfield. “I knew he would try the middle, so I just had to hold my line. He ran pretty well for his first time here.”

In the Illinois Lightning Sprint feature, Chaz Gregory dominated the race until lap 11, when a broken suspension piece ended his race on the front stretch. Brent Burrows inherited the lead, and was never seriously challenged for the win. Austin Archdale, Shane Morgan, Doug Kraft, and Brennan Gregory completed the top 5.

Action resumes next Saturday night at Peoria Speedway with a complete UMP DirtCar racing program featuring UMP Late Models, UMP Modifieds, Limited Late Models,UMP StreetStocks and UMP Hornets.


August 6, 2011


  1. 25-Steve Lance, Jr,Cuba
  2. 32-Bobby Pierce, Oakwood
  3. 48-Tim Lance, Brimfield
  4. 32J-Jason Jaggers, Wyanet
  5. 1w-Donny Walden, Towanda
  6. 40-Charley Hess, Bartonville
  7. T2-Todd Bennett,Peoria
  8. 4G-Bob Gardner,Peoria
  9. 74-RussAdams, Princeville
  10. 4-Mike Mullvain, Bartonville
  11. 38C-John Garnder, Jr., Germantown Hills
  12. 65-Gerry Reeder, Jr.,Peoria
  13. 95-Frank Shickel,Bloomington
  14. 16-Shane Allen,East Peoria
  15. 50-Tim Fauklenberry, Mapleton

FAST TIME: Walden 12.455

HEAT WINNERS: Bennett, Pierce



  1. 77-Ray Bollinger, Kewanee
  2. 2-Erik Bruce,Norwood
  3. M1-Dale Munson,Fairview
  4. 87-Dan Turner, Princeville
  5. 40JR-Mike Chasteen, Jr.,East Peoria
  6. 89-Noah Faw,HannaCity
  7. 38-Steve Turner, Princeville
  8. 7-Cody Spirling,Peoria
  9. 26d-Derrick Doerr,Peoria
  10. 4-John Winters,Canton
  11. 11-Zane Oedewaldt,HannaCity
  12. 59-Johnny Parlier,Peoria
  13. 56-Joe Cook,SpringBay
  14. Z1-Zac Oedewaldt,HannaCity’
  15. WFO-Rick Etherton, Bartonville
  16. d3-Matt Dillon,West Peoria
  17. 5-Dan Glover,Peoria
  18. 23t-Billy Tuckwell, Metamora
  19. 21p-Mike Mennell,Peoria
  20. 26j-Mark Johnson, Glasford

HEAT WINNERS: Bollinger, Zac Oedewaldt, Bruce




  1. 15-SteveShannon, Bartonville
  2. A2-Jack Siegel,Pekin
  3. 99-Brain Crebo,HannaCity
  4. 22c-Bobby Cowell, Sr.,East Peoria
  5. 83-Jim Carmody, Dunlap
  6. 65T-Mike Reeder,Peoria
  7. 45-Dwayne Walters, Metamora
  8. 7-Rick Erwin,Peoria
  9. 72-Noah Faw,HannaCity
  10. 18a-Cody Wisher, Bartonville
  11. 5-John Traver,Peoria
  12. 1r-Jim Hagedorn,East Peoria
  13. 01-Jim Sellner,PeoriaHeights
  14. 93-AmandaEllis,Washington
  15. 00-Jason Weyeneth,Peoria
  16. 51-Cameron Guidi,HannaCity
  17. 0-Zac Kuhel,Pekin
  18. F4-Chris Feger,MarquetteHeights
  19. 1-Brad Carrington,Peoria
  20. 28m-Matt Mills,East Peoria

HEAT WINNERS: Siegel, Shannon



  1. B22-Chuck Barnes, Jr.,Peoria
  2. 90-John Farris,Peoria
  3. 68-Wally Zander, Groveland
  4. 63P-Greg Sauder, Deer Creek
  5. 10-Rick Skelton,Peoria
  6. 4h-Paula Harrison, Germantown Hills
  7. 22x-Bobby Cowell, Jr.,East Peoria
  8. 124-Jim Bolen,East Peoria
  9. C7-Mike Cusack, Sr., Edwards
  10. 258-Virgil Nussel,Peoria
  11. 75m- Darrell Matthews, Jr.,Roanoke
  12. 6s-SquoriaRivers,East Peoria

HEAT WINERS: Farris, Barnes


UMP HORNETS (15 cars)

  1. 24-Kenny Buterfield,Peoria
  2. 7-Matt Maier,Champaign
  3. 77-Zac Bollinger, Kewanee
  4. 1-HughJordan,Pekin
  5. c7-Mike Cusack, Jr., Edwards
  6. 18w-Tommy Wisher,Peoria
  7. 3g-Bryce Garhnart,Peoria
  8. 39-Brent Terry,Pekin
  9. 52-ToddBreithbarth,Washington
  10. 88b-Billy Snider, Elmwood
  11. 18z-Zach Nimrick,Pekin
  12. 3s-David Sills,Peoria
  13. WFOJR-Tyler Etherton, Bartonville
  14. 1x-Rick Wagner, Tiskilwa (DNS)
  15. 13-Matt Musgrave,Peoria(DNS)

HEAT WINNERS: Maier, Butterfield



  1. 51-Brent Burrows, Lewistown
  2. 2-Austin Archdale, Brimfield
  3. 15m-Shane Morgan, Creve Coeur
  4. 57-Doug Kraft, Princeville
  5. 20-Brennan Gregory,Pekin
  6. 28-John Springer, Bushnell
  7. 6-TJ Bolen,East Peoria
  8. 21-Roger Bess, Brimfield
  9. 2c-Chaz Gregory,Pekin
  10. 7c-Jake Sollenberger,Canton



Print Friendly, PDF & Email