Home --> Dirt Late Model News --> Randy Weaver wins ‘Cabin Fever 40’

Randy Weaver wins ‘Cabin Fever 40’

Boyds SpeedwayBoyd’s Speedway
Ringgold, GA

Sat. January 28, 2012
Cabin Fever


By Richard Allen
At the end of 2011 it was announced that Randy Weaver of Crossville, Tennessee had secured a new ride with Outlaw Race Parts Racing to pilot their cars. It didn’t take long for ‘The Dream’ to show that he will be a force to be reckoned with on tracks around the region as he captured an early season prize by winning the Cabin Fever 250 at the Boyd’s Speedway on Saturday.

Weaver was fast right out of the box on a track that proved to be more than a little slippery as the daytime sun bore down on its clay surface. The #116 car was quickest in time trials among the 46 Super Late Model machines that showed up ready for competition at the facility located in Ringgold, Georgia.

Weaver posted a fast time of 15.516 seconds on the 1/3 mile banked oval. Following Weaver in the top-12 locked in positions via qualifying were Ronnie Johnson, Mike Weeks, Ray Cook, Jason Welshan, Jake Knowles, Mike Marlar, David Jackson, Josh Johnson, William Thomas, Riley Hickman and Jordy Nipper.

Two B-main races were used to set the rest of the field. Those twelve lap events were won by Mack McCarter and Lamar Scoggins.

At the drop of the green flag for the 40 lap feature, Weaver immediately jumped to the lead over Johnson, who won this event last year. However, the green flag racing was short lived as top-5 runners Jason Welshan and Ray Cook tangled in turn one on the second lap. The accident swept up a number of other competitors and inflicted minor damage on several cars. Both Cook and Welshan retired from the race at that point with Cook suffering extensive damage to the left rear of his MasterSbilt.

Once racing commenced, Weaver bolted back to the front but Johnson closed on the leader as they negotiated heavy traffic. On lap 15 Weaver narrowly averted disaster when Tod Hernandez and Chad Winkles spun in front of him. Weaver was collected in the incident and came to a stop against the wall in turn four. However, since he did not cause the incident, track officials gave him his position back at the front of the field. His car was not significantly damaged.

Johnson continued to stalk in traffic whenever slower cars became an issue but Weaver would pull out to a relatively comfortable working margin when the track in front of him was clear. And considering there were a total of five cautions, there were plenty of opportunities to log laps with clear track ahead.

But that’s not to say there was no passing at all. Among the top-5 finishers, William Thomas made the strongest move of the day. After starting 10th, the Phenix City, Alabama driver moved up to 5th by the end of the race distance. Lamar Scoggins also roared up through the pack, finishing in 6th after a 14th place start. Mack McCarter came all the way up to 7th after beginning from 13th.

After a final caution on lap 31 for a David Jackson crash, Weaver held off the field to take the checkered flag. He was followed to the line by Johnson, Mike Weeks, Jake Knowles, Thomas, Scoggins, McCarter, Tim Busha, Josh Johnson, Chad Winkles, Ethan Hunter and Tod Hernandez.

Weaver was awarded $3,000 for his efforts.

Jerry Coffman ended a losing streak that had extended over a full season when he took home $1,200 for his victory in the crate late model feature. Craig Burrows, Grayson York, Brad Hall and 14th starting Elbert McCullough followed Coffman to the finish in a caution filled race.

Blake Armitage proved too tough for the rest of the A-hobby field to handle as he took the $500 to win event. Chuck Cooper and Devin Stuart were in tow.

Lamar Hughes won the B-hobby feature over Clint Carter and Dallas Brooks.

Super Late Model A-Feature

1. Randy Weaver – $3,000
2. Ronnie Johnson
3. Mike Weeks
4. Jake Knowles
5. William Thomas
6. Lamar Scoggins
7. Mack Mccarter
8. Tim Busha
9. Jordy Nipper
10. Chad Winkles
11. Ethan Hunter
12. Tod Hernandez
13. Josh Johnson
14. David Jackson
15. Riley Hickman
16. Lovan Sparks
17. Jeff Smith
18. Anthony White
19. Kevin Gibson
20. Mike Marlar
21. Derek Ellis
22. Chip Brindle
23. Ray Cook
24. Jason Welshan

Print Friendly, PDF & Email