Home --> Dirt Late Model News --> Late Race Pass Lifts Vaught to Victory in Lucas Oil MLRA Series at Nebraska Raceway Park!

Late Race Pass Lifts Vaught to Victory in Lucas Oil MLRA Series at Nebraska Raceway Park!

Will Vaught - Fasttrack Photos

Will Vaught - Fasttrack Photos


(April 8, 2012) Buckner, MO – On Will Vaught’s first ever visit to the state of Nebraska to race, he captured a memorable victory. A lap 24 pass on race long leader Chris Simpson, landed Vaught in AAA Missouri Victory Lane. “I knew in the first couple laps we had a good car,” stated Vaught. “This track, it’s a racy sucker. You can’t ask for much more.”

The win certainly wasn’t handed to Vaught though. He came from a twelfth place starting position at the drop of the green flag. This win is on the heels of a runner up finish in the Lucas Oil MLRA season opener, and also guarantees Vaught a starting spot in July’s $25,000 to win, Silver Dollar Nationals. He also sits atop the early championship points standings.

Vaught drives a Sanford Goddard built Warrior Race Car, with Clements power. His sponsorship support comes from Circle M Auto Sales, GW Performance, Transport Graphics, Peterson Fluid Systems and Warrior Race Cars. This is his second Lucas Oil MLRA win. The first came in July of 2007 in Eldon, MO.

Chris Simpson held onto second, for his best run of the year this far. Terry Phillips stayed up around the front of the pack and battled with several cars before settling in to third.

The series will next race on Saturday, April 14th at Lucas Oil Speedway in Wheatland, MO. On the original schedule for the season, Friday, April 13th the series was slated to appear at Heartland Park in Topeka, KS, however the event has been cancelled.

April 7th, 2012 Contingency Awards
Performance Bodies – John Anderson
KRC Hard Charger – Will Vaught
KRC Hard Luck – Bill Koons
Weld Wheels – Chad Simpson
BSB Manufacturing – Mark Dotson
R2C Performance Filters – Mike Collins
Keizer Wheels – Scott Koskovich
Willwood Engineering – Dave Eckrich
Wehrs Machine and Racing Products – Mike Wiarda
Racing Optics – Jesse Stovall

Lucas Cattle Company A Feature (40 Laps): 1. Will Vaught (Crane, MO), 2. Chris Simpson (Oxford, IA), 3. Terry Phillips (Springfield, MO), 4. John Anderson (Omaha, NE), 5. Tim Isenberg (Marshfield, WI), 6. Jesse Stovall (Galena, MO), 7. Denny Eckrich (Tiffin, IA), 8. Chad Simpson (Mt Vernon, IA), 9. Dylan Smith (Osceola, NE), 10. David Turner (Creighton, MO), 11. Mike Collins (Council Bluffs, IA), 12. Matt Aukland, 13. Jake Meier (Tipton, IA), 14. Mark Dotson (Cameron, MO), 15. Bill Leighton (Omaha, NE), 16. Andrew Kosiski (Omaha, NE), 17. Bryon Allison (Marshall, MO), 18. Kevin Sather (Des Moines, IA), 19. Scott Koskovich (Omaha, NE), 20. Rob Moss (Iowa City, IA), 21. Bill Koons (Omaha, NE), 22. Jason Rauen (Farley, IA), 23. Travis Dickes (Madison, NE), 24. Justin Mitchell (Cedar Rapids, IA), 25. Leon Zeitner (LaVista, NE), 26. Dave Eckrich (Oxford, IA), 27. Jim Rychtik (Port Washington, WI), 28. Jill George (Cedar Falls, IA).

Sunoco Racing Fuels B Feature 1 (12 Laps): 1. Denny Eckrich (Tiffin, IA), 2. Dylan Smith (Osceola, NE), 3. Justin Mitchell (Cedar Rapids, IA), 4. Tom Thompson (Brainerd, MN), 5. Mike Wiarda (Aurora, NE), 6. Travis Dickes (Madison, NE), 7. Allen Zeitner (Bellevue, NE), 8. Andrew Kosiski (Omaha, NE), 9. Josh Krug, 10. Jill George (Cedar Falls, IA), 11. Chris Spieker (Massena, IA), 12. Garrett Alberson (Las Crvces, NM), 13. Dustin Reeh (Council Bluffs, ia), 14. Pat Doar (New Richmond, WI), 15. Corey Zeitner (Bellevue, NE).

Hoosier Racing Tires B Feature 2 (12 Laps): 1. Chad Simpson (Mt Vernon, IA), 2. Bryon Allison (Marshall, MO), 3. Bill Koons (Omaha, NE), 4. Tad Pospisil (Norfolk, NE), 5. Bill Leighton (Omaha, NE), 6. Leon Zeitner (LaVista, NE), 7. Rob Moss (Iowa City, IA), 8. Jon Rogers (Freeport, IL), 9. Jordan Heiman (Sioux Falls, SD), 10. Jason O’Brien (Atlantic, IA), 11. Junior Coover (Norfolk, NE), 12. Billy Koons Jr. (Omaha, NE), 13. Craig Preble (Yutan, NE), 14. Al Humphrey (Giltner, NE), 15. Mike Wallace (Carter Lake, IA).

Lucas Cattle Company Heat 1 (10 Laps): 1. Dave Eckrich (Oxford, IA), 2. Terry Phillips (Springfield, MO), 3. Kevin Sather (Des Moines, IA), 4. Jason O’Brien (Atlantic, IA), 5. Tim Isenberg (Marshfield, WI), 6. Chris Spieker (Massena, IA), 7. Chad Simpson (Mt Vernon, IA), 8. Rob Moss (Iowa City, IA), 9. Dylan Smith (Osceola, NE), 10. Travis Dickes (Madison, NE), 11. Allen Zeitner (Bellevue, NE).

Wehr’s Machine & Racing Products Heat 2 (10 Laps): 1. David Turner (Creighton, MO), 2. Matt Aukland, 3. Scott Koskovich (Omaha, NE), 4. Mark Dotson (Cameron, MO), 5. Jim Rychtik (Port Washington, WI), 6. Dustin Reeh (Council Bluffs, ia), 7. Junior Coover (Norfolk, NE), 8. Pat Doar (New Richmond, WI), 9. Corey Zeitner (Bellevue, NE), 10. Craig Preble (Yutan, NE), 11. Mike Wallace (Carter Lake, IA).

BSB Manufacturing Heat 3 (10 Laps): 1. Jesse Stovall (Galena, MO), 2. Jason Rauen (Farley, IA), 3. Denny Eckrich (Tiffin, IA), 4. Will Vaught (Crane, MO), 5. Bill Leighton (Omaha, NE), 6. Bryon Allison (Marshall, MO), 7. Justin Mitchell (Cedar Rapids, IA), 8. Tad Pospisil (Norfolk, NE), 9. Tom Thompson (Brainerd, MN), 10. Mike Wiarda (Aurora, NE), 11. Josh Krug, 12. Leon Zeitner (LaVista, NE).

Fast Track Photos Heat 4 (10 Laps): 1. Chris Simpson (Oxford, IA), 2. John Anderson (Omaha, NE), 3. Mike Collins (Council Bluffs, IA), 4. Jake Meier (Tipton, IA), 5. Jill George (Cedar Falls, IA), 6. Jon Rogers (Freeport, IL), 7. Bill Koons (Omaha, NE), 8. Andrew Kosiski (Omaha, NE), 9. Jordan Heiman (Sioux Falls, SD), 10. Al Humphrey (Giltner, NE), 11. Billy Koons Jr. (Omaha, NE).
The Lucas Oil MLRA (Midwest Latemodel Racing Association) sanctions regional Super Dirt Late Model touring series events in Missouri, Kansas, Nebraska and Iowa.

For all the latest news and information on the Lucas Oil MLRA please visit us on the web at www.MLRAracing.com or by calling the series office at (816) 650-5063 or (816) 305-6572.

The Lucas Oil MLRA would like to thank the 2012 marketing partners; Lucas Oil Products, AAA Missouri, Hoosier Race Tires, Lucas Cattle Company, Larry Shaw Race Cars, AFCO Racing Products, GRT Race Cars, Powertrain Industries, Sunoco Race Fuels, Bodee’s Race Bodies, Outpace Racing Products, Fast Track Photos, Weld Racing Wheels, Impact Signs and Lighting, Racing Optics, Schoenfeld Headers, Kluhsman Racing Components, Performance Bodies, RacinDirt.com, Wehr’s Machine & Racing Products, ATL Fuel Cells, Day Automotive, Bilstein Shocks, BSB Manufacturing , Keizer Wheels, MasterSbilt Race Cars, R2C Performance Products and Wilwood Engineering.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email