Home --> Dirt Late Model News --> Comp Cams Super Dirt Car Series --> Billy Moyer Dominates COMP Cams Super Dirt Series at Batesville

Billy Moyer Dominates COMP Cams Super Dirt Series at Batesville

Comp Cams Super Dirt SeriesLocust Grove, Arkansas (04/13/12) – Billy Moyer is a threat to win at any track in the nation, but when he enters an event at his home track, Batesville Motor Speedway (Locust Grove, Arkansas) he is more than an odds-on favorite. On Friday evening he dominated the COMP Cams Super Dirt Series (CCSDS) sanctioned event at the 3/8 mile oval by leading flag-to-flag to claim the victory in the $2,000-to-win event.

Twenty-nine Super Late Models entered the event, and after a dominating charge from last to first in his heat race Moyer earned the JFR Graphics Pole for the 30 lap feature. He was joined on the front row by RC Whitwell and as the race went green the field flared two and three wide into turn one. Before a lap could be completed the caution flag flew for Kuntz & Co. Rookie of the Year candidate, Chandler Petty, who jumped the cushion exiting turn two, making hard contact with the wall.

The field was lined up again for what would be the only restart of the night. As the green flag flew it was Moyer, who bolted to the lead. Over the course of the 30 lap feature he would drive away from the competition, lapping up to the seventh position on his way to his second CCSDS win a row. He was followed across the finish line by RC Whitwell, Billy Moyer Jr., Robert Baker, and Brandon Smith.

GRT Heat Race #1 was won by Brian Ritchie with RC Whitwell winning NEA Super Gas/Killer Coatings Heat Race #2. RiceTec Heat Race #3 saw Billy Moyer victorious, while Robert Baker won Racing Head Service Heat Race #4.

The Boston’s Sports Bar & Restaurants b-mains were won by Johnny Virden and Todd Hall.

Johnny Virden was the recipient of the Larry Shaw Race Cars Hard Charger Award after advancing from his 15th starting spot to a seventh place finish.

The Quarter Master Hard Luck Award went to Chandler Petty for his bad luck on the opening lap of the feature.

The COMP Cams Super Dirt Series is sponsored by and would like to thank all of their sponsors including- COMP Cams, Hoosier Racing Tires, Kuntz & Company, RacingJunk.com, Larry Shaw Race Cars, Quarter Master, GRT Race Cars, Rocket Chassis, Woodco, Inc., JFR Graphics, RiceTec, ROCKHARD Powdercoat, Inc., Mark Martin Auto Group , NEA Supergas, MSR Mafia.com Marketing Services, Tobacco Town Inc., Racing Head Service, Boomland, BSB Manufacturing, Five Star Bodies, Boston’s Restaurant and Sports Bar Pizza, speedliquidators.com, Schoenfeld Headers, Powerhouse Products, and FSR Racing Products.
For the latest information on the COMP Cams Super Dirt Series, please visit www.COMPDirt.com .

COMP Cams Super Dirt Series – April 13th, 2012
Batesville Motor Speedway (Locust Grove, Arkansas)
Feature Results
1. Billy Moyer (Batesville, AR)
2. RC Whitwell (Tucson, AZ)
3. Billy Moyer Jr. (Batesville, AR)
4. Robert Baker (Bryant, AR)
5. Brandon Smith (Floral, AR)
6. Clay Fisher (Dewitt, AR)
7. Johnny Virden (Russellville, AR)
8. Wendell Wallace (Batesville, AR)
9. Jack Sullivan (Greenbrier, AR)
10. Stacy Taylor (Jacksonville, AR)
11. Jon Mitchell (Texarkana, TX)
12. Kyle Beard (Trumann, AR)
13. Larry Campbell (Van Buren, AR)
14. Todd Hall (Charleston, MO)
15. Brian Ritchie (Newark, AR)
16. Jon Kirby (Russellville, AR)
17. Jason McBride (Carbondale, IL)
18. Curtis Cook (Vilonia, AR)
19. Allen Murray (San Antonio, TX)
20. Chandler Petty (Austin, AR)

Entries: 29
GRT Heat Race #1 Winner: Brian Ritchie
NEA Super Gas/Killer Coatings Heat Race #2 Winner: RC Whitwell
RiceTec Heat Race #3 Winner: Billy Moyer
Racing Head Service Heat Race #4 Winner: Robert Baker
Boston’s Sports Bar & Restaurant B-Main Winners: Johnny Virden, Todd Hall
JFR Graphics Pole Sitter: Billy Moyer
Quarter Master Hard Luck Award: Chandler Petty
Larry Shaw Race Cars Hard Charger: Johnny Virden (15th-7th)
COMP Cams Top Performer: Billy Moyer
Cautions: 1
Red Flags: 0
Leaders: Billy Moyer (1-30)

Ben Shelton, Owner
MSR Mafia – www.MSRMafia.com
The Midsouth Racing Scene – www.MidSouthRacing.com

Print Friendly, PDF & Email