Home --> Dirt Late Model News --> John Anderson claims John Kuntz Memorial at Springfield Raceway!

John Anderson claims John Kuntz Memorial at Springfield Raceway!

John Anderson - Lloyd Collins Photo

John Anderson - Lloyd Collins Photo


Media Contact: Trenton Berry

(May 13, 2012) Springfield, MO – The 6th Annual John Kuntz Memorial was packed full of action as the Lucas Oil MLRA invaded the Springfield Raceway. Omaha, NE John Anderson assumed the lead just prior to the midpoint of the race and held off late challenges from Jesse Stovall to roll into AAA Missouri Victory Lane for the second time in as many races.

Anderson fired from the pole position and led the first couple of laps before Chad Simpson passed him. Simpson looked to be the favorite, but a dropped cylinder caused a noticeable oil leak. Simpson then began backing up to Anderson. The two made contact on lap 17 as they entered turn three.

“He was blowing all that oil out of there,” stated Anderson of the incident between he and Simpson. “I was underneath him, because when I followed him up there it was slick off the top. He decided to go down there, I slid in his oil, and it was right there. He knows it was a racing deal, I hope. I don’t drive like that; it was early in the race. We were having a good race. He was blowing up so much oil it was getting all over my face. I was trying to stay underneath him and bide my time. He just cut down there and spewed some oil out, and I had nowhere to go. Man I hate it for him.”

Jesse Stovall, behind the wheel of Al Humphrey’s orange #6, knocked down another solid finish. He battled with Anderson at points in the feature, but could never get around him. He settled for second. Justin Wells finished third and was up front for the entire 40 lap race. Wendell Wallace and Tony Jackson Jr. rounded out the top five.

The series will next be in action as part of the 20th Annual Dart Show Me 100 held over Memorial Day Weekend at Lucas Oil Speedway in Wheatland, MO. John Anderson and Will Vaught are currently tied at the top of the point standings and will be guaranteed a starting position in the race, should they need it. For updated standings visit MLRARacing.com.

May 12th, 2012 Contingency Awards

KRC Hard Charger – Justin Asplin

KRC Hard Luck – Chad Simpson

Wehrs Machine & Racing Products – Kevin Sather

Wilwood Engineering – Matt Johnson

R2C Performance Products – Will Vaught

Performance Bodies – Tony Jackson Jr.

Weld Wheels – Jesse Stovall

BSB Manufacturing – Bryon Allison

Keizer Wheels – Jeff Roth

Racing Optics – Mark Dotson


Lucas Cattle Company A Feature (40 Laps): 1. John Anderson (Omaha, NE), 2. Jesse Stovall (Galena, MO), 3. Justin Wells (Aurora, MO), 4. Wendell Wallace (Batesville, AR), 5. Tony Jackson, Jr (Lebanon, MO), 6. Will Vaught (Crane, MO), 7. Terry Phillips (Springfield, MO), 8. Ronny Lee Hollingsworth (North Port, AL), 9. Shane Essary (Aurora, MO), 10. David Turner (Creighton, MO), 11. Matt Johnson (Archie, MO), 12. Brandon Morton (Broken Arrow, OK), 13. Justin Asplin (Birch Tree, MO), 14. Patrick Johnson (Ash Grove, Mo), 15. Brad Looney (Republic, MO), 16. Mark Dotson (Cameron, MO), 17. Leroy Johnson (Battlefield, MO), 18. Kevin Sather (Des Moines, IA), 19. Chad Simpson (Mt Vernon, IA), 20. RC Whitwell (Tucson, AZ), 21. Ken Essary (Cape Fair, MO), 22. Brandon McCormick (Lebanon, MO)


Hoosier Racing Tires B Feature 1 (10 Laps): 1. Brad Looney (Republic, MO), 2. Brandon McCormick (Lebanon, MO), 3. Dustin Mooneyham (Verona, MO), 4. Leroy Johnson (Battlefield, MO), 5. Jeff Roth (Bentonville, AR), 6. RC Whitwell (Tucson, AZ), 7. Mark Dotson (Cameron, MO)


Sunoco Racing Fuels B Feature 2 (10 Laps): 1. Brandon Morton (Broken Arrow, OK), 2. Shane Essary (Aurora, MO), 3. Don Cloyd (Fair Grove, MO), 4. Justin Asplin (Birch Tree, MO), 5. Randy Roth (Bentonville, AR), 6. Bryon Allison (Marshall, MO)


Lucas Oil Products Heat 1 (10 Laps): 1. Justin Wells (Aurora, MO), 2. David Turner (Creighton, MO), 3. Tony Jackson, Jr (Lebanon, MO), 4. Patrick Johnson (Ash Grove, Mo), 5. Randy Roth (Bentonville, AR), 6. Bryon Allison (Marshall, MO), 7. Brantlee Gotschall (Nevada, MO)


Wehrs Machine & Racing Products Heat 2 (10 Laps): 1. Chad Simpson (Mt Vernon, IA), 2. Terry Phillips (Springfield, MO), 3. Will Vaught (Crane, MO), 4. Ronny Lee Hollingsworth (North Port, AL), 5. Brad Looney (Republic, MO), 6. RC Whitwell (Tucson, AZ), 7. Mark Dotson (Cameron, MO)


KRC Heat 3 (10 Laps): 1. Wendell Wallace (Batesville, AR), 2. Matt Johnson (Archie, MO), 3. Kevin Sather (Des Moines, IA), 4. Brandon McCormick (Lebanon, MO), 5. Don Cloyd (Fair Grove, MO), 6. Leroy Johnson (Battlefield, MO), 7. Justin Asplin (Birch Tree, MO)


AAA Missouri Heat 4 (10 Laps): 1. John Anderson (Omaha, NE), 2. Jesse Stovall (Galena, MO), 3. Ken Essary (Cape Fair, MO), 4. Brandon Morton (Broken Arrow, OK), 5. Dustin Mooneyham (Verona, MO), 6. Shane Essary (Aurora, MO), 7. Jeff Roth (Bentonville, AR)

Print Friendly, PDF & Email