Home --> Race Track News --> Illinois --> MOWA Opener (Again) Set for Jacksonville Friday!

MOWA Opener (Again) Set for Jacksonville Friday!

MOWA - Monster Energy Sprint Series(Bill W) May 15, 2012 – It has been tough getting the 2012 Midwest Open Wheel Association (MOWA) season underway!  After a couple of hiccups, they will try it again this Friday night at the Jacksonville Speedway in Jacksonville, Illinois!  A number of drivers have confirmed their intentions on battling at the banked ¼-mile oval.

Defending MOWA champion, Jerrod Hull, of Sikeston, Missouri, will look to defend his title, starting Friday.  Springfield, Illinois’ Jimmy Hurley made a run at Hull, but fell just short.  He is expected to compete along with Robbie Standridge, also of Springfield, who finished third last season.

Korey Weyant, Chris Urish, AJ Bruns, Jim Moughan Jr., Jordan Goldesberry, Jeremy Standridge and Joey Moughan completed the top ten and all are expected back this season.  Three Rookie of the Year candidates have also indicated their participation: Paul Nienhiser of Jacksonville, Illinois, Paul Patterson of Virden, Illinois and Caleb Wankel of Jacksonville, Illinois.

Four different winners graced Victory Lane at Jacksonville in 2011.  Terry McCarl, Hull, Danny Smith and Hurley all won features there last season.

Pit gates open at 4 p.m. on Friday, with grandstands opening at 5 p.m.  Hot laps are scheduled for 6:30 p.m. with racing slated for 7 p.m.  Tickets are $18 for adults.  Modifieds, Street Stocks, 600cc Micros and Hornets are also on the card!

2012 MOWA Racing Fantasy League!

MOWA is teaming up with www.FantasyDirtRacing.com to allow fans and drivers alike to team up for FREE in a 2012 MOWA Racing Fantasy League! Stay tuned to www.FantasyDirtRacing.com and www.MidwestOpenWheel.com for more details!

Follow us on Facebook … http://www.facebook.com/midwestopenwheel

2012 Midwest Open Wheel Association (MOWA) Tentative Schedule

Friday, April 20 – Lincoln Speedway (Lincoln, IL)

Friday, May 4 – Jacksonville Speedway (Jacksonville, IL)

Friday, May 18 – Jacksonville Speedway (Jacksonville, IL)

Saturday, May 26 – I-55 Speedway (Pevely, MO)

Sunday, May 27 – 34 Raceway (West Burlington, IA)

Friday, June 8 – Jacksonville Speedway (Jacksonville, IL)

Friday, June 15 – Lincoln Speedway (Lincoln, IL)

Friday, June 29 – Tri-City Speedway (Pontoon Beach, IL)

Saturday, June 30 – Spoon River Speedway (Canton, IL)

Sunday, July 1 – Quincy Raceways (Quincy, IL)

Friday, July 6 – Lincoln Speedway (Lincoln, IL)

Wednesday, July 11 – Lee County Speedway (Donnellson, IA)

Wednesday, July 25 – Highland Speedway (Highland, IL)

Thursday, July 26 – Peoria Speedway (Peoria, IL)

Friday, July 27 – Jacksonville Speedway – Mary Lee Standridge Memorial (Jacksonville, IL)

Saturday, July 28 – Macon Speedway (Macon, IL)

Sunday, August 19 – LaSalle Speedway (LaSalle, IL – tentatively non-points with IRA)

Friday, August 24 – Jacksonville Speedway (Jacksonville, IL)

Friday, August 31 – Lincoln Speedway (Lincoln, IL)

Saturday, September 1 – Plymouth Speedway – Earl Gaerte Memorial (Plymouth, IN)

Saturday, September 15 – Spoon River Speedway – Tom Knowles Memorial (Canton, IL)

Friday, September 21 – Jacksonville Speedway (Jacksonville, IL)

Saturday September 22 – 34 Raceway (West Burlington, IA)

Friday, October 12 – Tri-City Speedway – Season Championship (Pontoon Beach, IL)

Final 2011 Monster Energy™ Sprint Car Series Point Standings (top 20 – with two lowest scores eliminated)

 

Driver

Hometown

Car #

Total Points

         

1

Jerrod Hull

Sikeston, MO

12

1274

2

Jimmy Hurley

Springfield, IL

35

1251

3

Robbie Standridge

Springfield, IL

23

1161

4

Korey Weyant

Springfield, IL

83

1068

5

Chris Urish

Elkhart, IL

77u

1063

6

AJ Bruns

Lincoln, IL

44

1057

7

Jim Moughan Jr.

Springfield, IL

1m

1056

8

Jordan Goldesberry

Springfield, IL

65

908

9

Jeremy Standridge

Springfield, IL

10s

893

10

Joey Moughan

Springfield, IL

14

886

11

Ben Wagoner

Emden, IL

84

775

12

Logan Faucon

Elkhart, IL

52F

725

13

Mike Hess

Springfield, IL

51

701

14

Bret Tripplett

Lincoln, IL

22

680

15

JC Bland

Springfield, IL

98

625

16

Justin Springer

Pekin, IL

28

503

17

Brett Samonds

Springfield, IL

47

491

18

Terry McCarl

Altoona, IA

55

445

19

Matt Harms

Lacon, IL

53H

418

20

Nathan Charron

Lincoln, IL

96

386

 

Bill W Media

Monroe, IA USA

sprntcar@hotmail.com

 

Print Friendly, PDF & Email