Home --> Dirt Late Model News --> TP Holds of Anderson at Thunder Hill

TP Holds of Anderson at Thunder Hill

Terry Phillips - Lloyd Collins Photo

Terry Phillips - Lloyd Collins Photo


Media Contact: Trenton Berry

(June 16, 2012) Mayetta, KS – The annual stop at Thunder Hill Speedway in Mayetta, KS proved to be a good one. Terry Phillips started on the outside of the second row and took the lead from Jesse Stovall on lap sixteen. He held off a late race challenge from John Anderson to win his second race in as many days. “The car was working real good,” said Phillips in AAA Missouri Victory Lane. “Something happened at the end. I don’t know if I sealed a tire or what. I wasn’t near as comfortable, but the car was still pretty good. I’m kind of getting the hang of what to do when.”

Meanwhile, behind Phillips the positions were constantly changing. Anderson and Jesse Stovall matched each other slide job for slide job, in an effort to secure second place. Anderson washed up the race track in turn four at one point and lost several positions. He spent the remainder of the race digging back into contention. He and Phillips even made contact in turn one on the final lap.

Jesse Stovall wrapped up the weekend with two top five finishes, ending his night in Mayetta, KS with a third place showing. Tommy Weder Jr. fielded cars for both he and Jason Hughes. Weder lurked close to the front for the entire duration and ended up fourth. Tony Jackson Jr continues to knock down solid finishes and crossed the line 5th in his first ever visit to Thunder Hill Speedway.

Next weekend the Lucas Oil MLRA will be idle, before ramping up again for the Midwest Tri-Fecta at I-80 Speedway in Greenwood, NE, Friday June 29th and the Liberty 50 at Adams County Speedway in Corning, IA on Saturday June 30th. For the first time, the Corning event boasts a $5,000 winner’s share, along with an enormous fireworks display.

June 16th Contingency Awards
Performance Bodies – Eric Turner
KRC Hard Charger – Mark Dotson
KRC Hard Luck – Justin Asplin
Weld Wheels – Tony Jackson Jr.
BSB Manufacturing – Kevin Sather
R2C Performance Products – Tony Jackson Jr.
Keizer Wheels – Bill Koons
Wilwood Engineering – Dave Eckrich
Wehrs Machine & Racing Products – Jesse Stovall
Racing Optics – John Anderson

Race Results
Lucas Cattle Company A Feature (30 Laps): 1. Terry Phillips (Springfield, MO), 2. John Anderson (Omaha, NE), 3. Jesse Stovall (Galena, MO), 4. Tommy Weder Jr. (Woodward, OK), 5. Tony Jackson, Jr (Lebanon, MO), 6. Eric Turner (Hermitage, MO), 7. Jason Hughes (Watts, OK), 8. Mark Dotson (Cameron, MO), 9. Dave Eckrich (Oxford, IA), 10. Kevin Sather (Des Moines, IA), 11. Chase Junghans (Manhattan, KS), 12. Bill Koons (Omaha, NE), 13. Brian Kenkel (Elkhorn, NE), 14. Randy Foote (Stanton, IA), 15. Dave Conkwright (Manhatten, KS), 16. Brad Wagoner (Colby, KS), 17. Billy Koons Jr. (Omaha, NE), 18. Earl Kinderknecht (Salina, KS), 19. Mark Ronnebaum, 20. Justin Asplin (Birch Tree, MO), 21. Dustin Walker (Peculiar, MO)

Lucas Oil Products Heat 1 (10 Laps): 1. Terry Phillips (Springfield, MO), 2. John Anderson (Omaha, NE), 3. Eric Turner (Hermitage, MO), 4. Dave Eckrich (Oxford, IA), 5. Brian Kenkel (Elkhorn, NE), 6. Bill Koons (Omaha, NE), 7. Dave Conkwright (Manhatten, KS)

Wehrs Machine & Racing Products Heat 2 (10 Laps): 1. Jesse Stovall (Galena, MO), 2. Chase Junghans (Manhattan, KS), 3. Earl Kinderknecht (Salina, KS), 4. Brad Wagoner (Colby, KS), 5. Randy Foote (Stanton, IA), 6. Mark Dotson (Cameron, MO), 7. Kevin Sather (Des Moines, IA)

BSB Manufacturing Heat 3 (10 laps): 1. Tommy Weder Jr. (Woodward, OK), 2. Tony Jackson, Jr (Lebanon, MO), 3. Jason Hughes (Watts, OK), 4. Justin Asplin (Birch Tree, MO), 5. Billy Koons Jr. (Omaha, NE), 6. Mark Ronnebaum (Centralia, KS), 7. Dustin Walker (Peculiar, MO)

Print Friendly, PDF & Email