Home --> Open Wheel Modified News --> American Modified Series --> Trent Young Tames American Modified Series at Tazewell Speedway

Trent Young Tames American Modified Series at Tazewell Speedway

American Modified SeriesTazewell, TN-June 30, 2012- The American Modified Series presented its sixth event of the 2012 season on Saturday evening at Tazewell Speedway in Tazewell, TN and the tour got its first repeat winner of the 2012 season as current series points leader and second generation racer Trent Young of Hopkinsville, KY would score the victory and grab the $3,000 first place prize money.

Polesitter Tommy Bailey would take the initial race lead would hold until a restart on lap 3 when Trent Young would grab the top spot.  Young and Bailey would proceed to scoot away from the field in the late stages of the event, with Young holding off Bailey and becoming the repeat winner on the tour in 2012.  Bailey would finish second, while Brad Hall would claim third place honors.  Clayton Miller would come home in the fourth position, while Billy Palmer would earn hard charger honors by finishing in the fifth sport after starting in the 18th position.

The remainder of the top ten finishers would be Rocky Wilson, Jeff Hamby, Jr., Dustin Isom, Joey Kramer, and Bryan Barber.  The 40 lap, $3,000 to win event would be slowed by five caution flags (two of which turned into red flags) and take 41 minutes to complete.

In preliminary action, Trent Young would be the Williams Precision Engine top qualifier among 20 entries at 12.771 seconds.  Tommy Bailey would win Hypercoil Springs heat one, while Don Adams won Wiles Driveshafts heat two, and Nick Stroupe would take the win in VP Racing Fuels heat three.

American Modified Series Race Summary-Event #6:  Tazewell Speedway-Tazewell, Tennessee

Williams Precision Engine Overall Top Qualifier- Trent Young 12.771 Hypercoils Spring Heat #1- Tommy Bailey, Trent Young, Jimmy Payne, Brad Hall, Tyler James, Kurt Owens, Dustin Isom Wiles Driveshafts Heat #2- Don Adams, Bryan Barber, Joey Kramer, Clayton Miller, Ricky Tinch (DNS- Keith Smith, Jeff Hamby, Jr.) VP Racing Fuels Heat #3- Nick Stroupe, Shon Flanary, Ricky Arms, Mack McCarter, Rocky Wilson, Billy Palmer Comp Cams Heat #4- N/A

Tazewell Speedway AMS A-Main– Trent Young, Tommy Bailey, Brad Hall, Clayton Miller, Billy Palmer, Rocky Wilson, Jeff Hamby, Jr., Dustin Isom, Joey Kramer, Bryan Barber, Nick Stroupe, Jimmy Payne, Shon Flanary, Tyler James, Mack McCarter, Ricky Arms, Don Adams, Ricky Tinch, Kurt Owens, Keith Smith

Race Statistics

Entries- 20

Race Leaders- 2 (Bailey 1-2, Young 3-40)

Caution Periods- 5 (Laps 3, 9, 9 restart, 10, 22) Red Flag Periods- 2 (Lap 10, 22)

American Modified Series Provisional Starters- None

Track Provisional Starters- None

Time of Race- 41 minutes

Williams Precision Engine Fast Time Award ($100 cash award)- Trent Young

All Star Performance Hard Charger Award ($100 gift certificate)- Billy Palmer (started 18th-finished 5th-advanced 13 positions)

American Modified Series Top Ten in Points after June 30, 2012

1.            Trent Young- 1,350

2.            Jimmy Payne- 1,130

3.            Rocky Wilson- 1,035

4.            Clayton Miller- 730

5.            Devin Gilpin- 700

6.            Bryan Barber- 660

7.            Joey Kramer- 635

8.            Keith Smith- 500

9.            Matt Hamilton- 435

10.          Joe Godsey- 410


American Modified Series 2012 Sponsors/Supporters *All Star Performance (www.allstarperformance.com)- “Hard Charger of the Race” Award *Arizona Sport Shirts- “Official Merchandise Vendor” of the American Modified Series (www.arizonasportshirts.com) *Bad Fast Race Chassis (www.734dirt.com) *Bandit Race Cars (www.banditracecars.net) *B&B Motorsports *Bilstein (www.bilsteinus.com)- Presented by B&B Motorsports *Bob Pierce Race Cars (www.bobpierceracecars.com) *Boknecht Trucking *Comp Cams (www.compcams.com)- “Sponsor of Heat #4”

*Crane Cams (www.cranecams.com)

*Crane Ignition Systems- “Official Ignition System” of the American Modified Series *Cruise with the Champions (www.cruisewiththechampions.com) *Dale Meers Race Engines *Diamond Race Cars (www.diamondracecars.net) *Dyers Top Rods (www.dyersrods.com) *Frankland Racing Equipment (www.franklandracing.com)- “Top Finisher with a Frankland Rear End”

*H & H Computer Services- North Vernon, IN (812) 352-1221 *Hypercoils (www.hypercoils.com)- “Sponsor of Heat Race #1”

*Impressive Race Cars (www.impressiveracecars.com) *Jay Dickens Race Engines (www.jaydickens.com) *JB Salvage, Inc. (www.jbsalvage.com) *Maximum Energy Development *Mullins Race Engines (www.mullinsraceengines.com) *PPM Racing Products (www.ppmracingproducts.com)- “Hard Luck Award”

*RACEceiver (www.raceceiver.com)

*SpeeDecals Racing Graphics (www.freewebs.com/speedecals/) *UMP Dirt Car (www.umpracing.com) *VP Racing Fuels (www.vpracingfuels.com)- “Official Race Fuel of the American Modified Series and Sponsor of Heat Race #3”

*Wick Oil Company (www.wickoil.com)

*Wiles Driveshafts (www.wilesdriveshafts.com)- “Sponsor of Heat Race #2”

*Williams Precision Engines (www.wpespeedshop.com)- “$100 Fast Qualifier Award” at all events *Willy’s Carburetors (www.willyscarbs.com)- “Lucky Draw Award”

Print Friendly, PDF & Email