Home --> Dirt Late Model News --> John Anderson claims MLRA win at US 36 Raceway

John Anderson claims MLRA win at US 36 Raceway

John Anderson - Lloyd Collins Photo

John Anderson – Lloyd Collins Photo

Osborn, MO – July 19, 2012
By: Trenton Berry
Lucas Oil ASCS PR

After having some mechanical trouble in hot laps, John Anderson and the Shop Quik team righted the ship. They scored their fourth Lucas Oil MLRA victory of the season Wednesday night at US 36 Raceway in Osborn, MO. It wasn’t a cakewalk however, as the likes of Billy Moyer, Will Vaught, Terry Phillips and Chris Simpson were all in hot pursuit. “The last couple of weeks we’ve got our tails beat,” commented Anderson on his recent winless streak. “We’ve went back to work and it has paid off tonight.” The win was Anderson’s first since the Alphabet Soup Race at I-80 Speedway over Memorial Day Weekend. It also broke a tie with Alan Vaughn for fifth on the all time series wins list. Anderson has now amassed twenty-eight Lucas Oil MLRA victories.

Will Vaught led the first thirty laps before Anderson got underneath him in turn two and took over the top spot. Chris Simpson charged early and then backed off as his engine got hot. He charged late to finish second. Terry Phillips fired from seventh and gained ground late to end up third. The forty lap feature was only slowed by one caution. Moyer and Vaught got together exiting turn four on lap thirty-five. Moyer pitted and didn’t finish. Vaught restarted second, but lost the handling on the race car, and faded to fourth.

In support action, Jimmy Owens, fresh off his CMH Diamond Nationals win, was behind the wheel of Mark Dotson’s modified. He started on the outside pole and won the race. It was the first time Owens competed in a modified in approximately ten years.

The Lucas Oil MLRA will now head to I-80 Speedway in Greenwood, NE to take part in the running of the 2nd Annual Silver Dollar Nationals. Practice takes place Thursday with dual heat race qualifying on Friday. The eighty lap, $25,000 to win feature, takes place Saturday evening.

Race Results

Lucas Cattle Company A Feature (40 Laps):1. John Anderson (Omaha, NE), 2. Chris Simpson (Oxford, IA), 3. Terry Phillips (Springfield, MO), 4. Will Vaught (Crane, MO), 5. Chad Simpson (Mt Vernon, IA), 6. Dave Eckrich (Oxford, IA), 7. Denny Eckrich (Tiffin, IA), 8. Tim Isenberg (Marshfield, WI), 9. Mark Dotson (Cameron, MO), 10. Billy Moyer (Batesville, AR), 11. Mike Collins (Council Bluffs, IA), 12. Jim Rychtik (Port Washington, WI), 13. Kevin Sather (Des Moines, IA), 14. Ron Binning (Grand River, IA), 15. Rob Moss (Iowa City, IA), 16. Sterling Perkins (Lamoni, IA), 17. Eric Turner (Hermitage, MO)

Lucas Oil Products Heat 1 (10 Laps):1. Will Vaught (Crane, MO), 2. John Anderson (Omaha, NE), 3. Kevin Sather (Des Moines, IA), 4. Mark Dotson (Cameron, MO), 5. Eric Turner (Hermitage, MO), 6. Rob Moss (Iowa City, IA)

Wehrs Machine & Racing Products Heat 2 (10 Laps):1. Billy Moyer (Batesville, AR), 2. Chris Simpson (Oxford, IA), 3. Terry Phillips (Springfield, MO), 4. Mike Collins (Council Bluffs, IA), 5. Jim Rychtik (Port Washington, WI), 6. Tim Isenberg (Marshfield, WI)

Impact Signs, Awnings & Wraps Heat 3 (10 laps):1. Dave Eckrich (Oxford, IA), 2. Chad Simpson (Mt Vernon, IA), 3. Denny Eckrich (Tiffin, IA), 4. Sterling Perkins (Lamoni, IA), 5. Ron Binning (Grand River, IA)

Print Friendly, PDF & Email