Home --> Sprint Car & Midget News --> American Sprint Car Series (ASCS) News --> Crawley Tops ASCS Warrior Region at LA Raceway; Moore Masters LA WAR!

Crawley Tops ASCS Warrior Region at LA Raceway; Moore Masters LA WAR!

Tim Crawley - Paul Gray Photo

Tim Crawley – Paul Gray Photo


Crawley Tops Warrior Region at LA Raceway


Bryan Hulbert – LaMonte, Missouri (July 21, 2012) The Speedway Motors ASCS  Warrior Region stopped into LA Raceway this past Saturday night with Arkansas’s Tim Crawley taking the win.


Taking the lead from Brian Bell on lap nine, Crawley would lead the rest of the way to victory. Bell would hold onto the runner up spot with Tyler Blank, Bryan Grimes, and Evan Martin rounding out the top five. Randy Martin, Josh Fisher, Jay Rusell, Terry Gray, and Tim Montgomery completed the top ten.

Racing with the Speedway Motors ASCS Warrior Region continues Sunday night at Double X Speedway in California, Missouri.


Speedway Motors ASCS Warrior Region

LA Raceway – LaMonte, Missouri

July 21, 2012


Car Count: 31


Heat 1 (8 Laps): 1. 28-Jonathan Cornell; 2. 75-Tyler Blank; 3. 86X-Josh Fisher; 4. 4J-Jon Corbin; 5. 38-Cody Baker; 6. 29-Brandon Hahn; 7. 5-Matt Close; 8. 48-David Brown


Heat 2 (8 Laps): 1. 04-Brad Graham; 2. 23b-Brian Bell; 3. 76-Jay Russell; 4. 3b-J.D. Black; 5. 33-Austin Alumbaugh; 6. 49-Tyler Elliott; 7. 5M-Miranda Arnold; 8. 65-Trevor (T.J.) Muths


Heat 3 (8 Laps): 1. 14-Randy Martin; 2. 77-Bryan Grimes; 3. 88-Tim Crawley; 4. 10-Terry Gray; 5. 2a-Randy Hibbs; 6. 3P-Rusty Potter; 7. 9m-Lanny Carpenter; 8. 9-Casey Baker


Heat 4 (8 Laps): 1. 4-Evan Martin; 2. 01m-Tim Montgomery; 3. 86-Kyle Bellm; 4. 09-Joshua Stephens; 5. 93-Taylor Walton; 6. 99-Jimmy Davies; 7. 3z-Zach Davis


B Feature (12 Laps): 1. 33-Austin Alumbaugh; 2. 2a-Randy Hibbs; 3. 3P-Rusty Potter; 4. 93-Taylor Walton; 5. 5M-Miranda Arnold; 6. 29-Brandon Hahn; 7. 99-Jimmy Davies; 8. 9m-Lanny Carpenter; 9. 3z-Zach Davis; 10. 5-Matt Close; 11. 49-Tyler Elliott; 12. 65-Trevor (T.J.) Muths; 13. 38-Cody Baker; 14. 48-David Brown; 15. 4J-Jon Corbin


A Feature (25 Laps): 1. 88-Tim Crawley; 2. 23b-Brian Bell; 3. 75-Tyler Blank; 4. 77-Bryan Grimes; 5. 4-Evan Martin; 6. 14-Randy Martin; 7. 86X-Josh Fisher; 8. 76-Jay Russell; 9. 10-Terry Gray; 10. 01m-Tim Montgomery; 11. 38-Cody Baker; 12. 3b-J.D. Black; 13. 33-Austin Alumbaugh; 14. 93-Taylor Walton; 15. 2a-Randy Hibbs; 16. 04-Brad Graham; 17. 3P-Rusty Potter; DNF 86-Kyle Bellm; DNF 28-Jonathan Cornell; DNF 09-Joshua Stephens


Moore Masters LA

La Monte, MO (July 21, 2012)-

Becoming the eighth different winner in nine races, Mitchell Moore wired the field at LA Raceway in Wingless Auto Racing competition Saturday night.

Moore, shot into the lead at the start with John Helm, Faron Crank, and Frank Brown just behind.

Brown looked very strong early as he moved past Helm for second on lap three with a nice pass off the high line of turn two.

After a caution for a stalled Jeff Wingate on lap six, Moore again set a furious pace with Brown, Helm, and Steven Cross following.

Tenth-starting Josh Stephens and eleventh starter Austin Alumbaugh had worked their way up into fifth and sixth with eight laps complete.

On lap nine, the pair continued their march forward as they worked by Cross putting both in the top five.
Second running Brown would avert near disaster on lap ten as he lost a couple of positions slipping off the backstretch. Brown’s misfortune allowed Helm and Stephens into the top three.

Stephens had worked his way up to Helm for second as he put heavy pressure on him.  In turn two, the pair nearly made contact with Stephens sliding over the bank.  This allowed Brown to move back into third as Stephens worked his way back on the track in the fourth spot.   Stephens  would move back up a short while later to challenge Brown for third.

Brown and Stephens continued their great battle with both moving by Helm on lap fifteen.

Stephens would work by Brown with just a handful of laps left. Over the last few laps, Stephens made up a lot of ground, but he would not catch the smooth driving Moore, who picked up his first WAR win in his Kelly Potter #51 with Denny Moore power under the hood.  Stephens would come home a strong second in his Steve Neale owned/Summers Farms Eagle with RMS power.  Brown was third in the Brown Farms MRP with Engine Connection power.  Alumbaugh was fourth in the Rick Smith owned MRP with Engine Connection power. Rounding out the top five was Helm in his Wesmar-powered Eagle.  Finishing sixth was Cross in his Zink Motor Company #19s  with Chris Parkinson, Taylor Walton, T.J. Muths, and Kenny Potter rounding out the top ten.

WAR will be in action next Sunday July 29th at the US 36 Raceway in Osborn, MO.


WAR Results from LA Raceway-


A Main-(25 laps)

  1. 51 Mitchell Moore, Edgerton, KS (2)    2. 09 Josh Stephens, Buckner, MO (10)   3. 43 Frank Brown, Marshall, MO (4)   4. 26 Austin Alumbaugh, Higginsville, MO (11)   5. 12 John Helm, Kearney, MO (5)   6.  19s Steven Cross, Clinton, MO (7)   7. 66 Chris Parkinson, Gladstone, MO (6)   8. 14c Taylor Walton, Warrensburg, MO (9) 10. 55 Kenny Potter, Harrisonville, MO (12)   11. 88 Chad Tye, Independence, MO (14) 12. 12c Faron Crank, Sedalia, MO (1)-DNF 13. 8 Jeff Wingate, Centertown, MO (8)-DNF 14. 1K Aaron Kuhn, Independence, MO (3)-DNF   15. 77 Lanny Carpenter, Clarksburg, MO (15)-DNF    DNS:  27 Bob Thoman, Higginsville, MO,  14 Brad Ryun, Higginsville, MO,  and 11X Andy Helm, Kearney, MO


Award Winners

Waterloo Industries Toolbox –Chad Tye

Schure Built Suspensions Fast Time-Kenny Potter

Rod End Supply and Steve Watt Enterprises Heat Race Winners-Josh Stephens and Austin Alumbaugh

Engine Connection Hard Luck Award-Lanny Carpenter


Print Friendly, PDF & Email