Home --> Race Track News --> Indiana --> Santos wins the USAC Traxxas Silver Crown Series race at Lucas Oil Raceway in Indianapolis.

Santos wins the USAC Traxxas Silver Crown Series race at Lucas Oil Raceway in Indianapolis.


Indianapolis, IN – Bobby Santos won the J.D. Byrider 100, round five of the 2012 USAC Traxxas Silver Crown Championship held at Lucas Oil Raceway. The win was historic because it was 300th USAC race held at race track.

Santos won going wire-to-wire. There was little drama for the top spot as Santos quickly jumped to the lead and no-one was able to challenge him.

The only drama for Santos was knowing where his competition was in the race.

“My radio was not working so I wasn’t sure if someone was going to catch me,” said Santos.

Kody Swanson and Bobby East came in second and third respectively but their finishing spots were not as easy the race winner. Swanson battled Kyle Larson early in the race before Larson before finally passing him on lap 37. Meanwhile Bobby East moved through the field and once again sent Larson back a spot on lap 63. Larson eventually finished in fourth. Tanner Swanson finished in fifth.

The Swanson battle with East in the race is similar the competition going for overall championship. Swanson started the race with a 17-point lead over Bobby East in the series standings, both drivers seeking their first Silver Crown title. East won USAC’s 2004 Mopar National midget crown.

Thursday’s program honors the memory of USAC’s winningest driver of all time, Rich Vogler, whose 171 career feature wins include four in the Silver Crown series.


TRAXXAS USAC SILVER CROWN RACE RESULTS: July 26, 2012 – Clermont, Indiana – Lucas Oil Raceway at Indianapolis – “Rich Vogler Classic”

QUALIFYING: 1. Bobby Santos, 17, RW/Curb-Agajanian-20.947; 2. Tanner Swanson, 23, Six-R-21.010; 3. Kyle Larson, 11, Bowman/Canine-21.035; 4. Kody Swanson, 19, Six-R-21.071; 5. Tracy Hines, 16, Lightfoot-21.111; 6. Jerry Coons, Jr., 27, RW-21.144; 7. Eric Gordon, 2, Bowman/Canine-21.217; 8. Russ Gamester, 51, Gamester-21.469; 9. Brian Tyler, 21, Six-R-21.469; 10. Kyle Hamilton, 33, Six-R/Hamilton-21.470; 11. Bobby East, 22, Stewart/Curb-Agajanian-21.531; 12. Jacob Wilson, 07, WBR-21.590; 13. Taylor Ferns, 35, Six-R-21.638; 14. Levi Jones, 10, Stewart/Curb-Agajanian-21.639; 15. A.J. Fike, 3, RFMS-21.720; 16. Bud Kaeding, 29, BK-21.968; 17. Aaron Pierce, 26, Vance-22.379; 18. Jimmy Kite, 25, Sachs-NT; 19. Damion Gardner, 02, Vance-NT.

FEATURE: (100 laps) 1. Bobby Santos, 2. Kody Swanson, 3. Bobby East, 4. Kyle Larson, 5. Tanner Swanson, 6. Jerry Coons, Jr., 7. Eric Gordon, 8. Russ Gamester, 9. Levi Jones, 10. Bud Kaeding, 11. Jacob Wilson, 12. Kyle Hamilton, 13. Brian Tyler, 14. A.J. Fike, 15. Taylor Ferns, 16. Tracy Hines, 17. Aaron Pierce, 18. Jimmy Kite. 34:48.05
FEATURE LAP LEADERS: Laps 1-100 Santos.

NEW TRAXXAS SILVER CROWN POINTS: 1-K.Swanson-279; 2-East-259; 3-Coons-244; 4-Santos-222; 5-Jones-219; 6-Kaeding-217; 7-T.Swanson-205; 8-Hines-190; 9-Fike-158; 10-Wilson-141.

Story by Kevin Proot
Photos by Larry Vancil

Print Friendly, PDF & Email