Home --> Dirt Late Model News --> Comp Cams Super Dirt Car Series --> Billy Moyer Jr. Claims Historic COMP Cams Super Dirt Series Win

Billy Moyer Jr. Claims Historic COMP Cams Super Dirt Series Win

Billy Moyer, Jr. in victory lane at NEA Speedway (Woody Hampton Photo)

Billy Moyer, Jr. in victory lane at NEA Speedway (Woody Hampton Photo)

Harrisburg, Arkansas (07/28/12) – The COMP Cams Super Dirt Series (CCSDS) Super Late Model tour hosted the 100th event in the history of the sanction on Saturday night at Northeast Arkansas Speedway (Harrisburg, Arkansas), and Billy Moyer Jr. claimed the historic win on a night full of fireworks.

Twenty-one Super Late Models registered for action, and after winning his heat race from the tail of the field Jon Mitchell earned the New Vision Graphics Pole Award for the 35 lap, $2,000-to-win finale. He was joined on the front row by 2009 CCSDS Champion, Billy Moyer Jr., who claimed a series win at the facility in June.

When the green flag waved Mitchell narrowly led the first lap with Moyer Jr. to his outside. Completing the second lap Moyer Jr. shot to the lead, while Mitchell, Kyle Beard, and Jon Kirby began to battle for the second spot. An early race restart set up a double file restart, and Beard would take advantage of it to shoot past Mitchell for the second spot. Over the next several laps Mitchell would slide backwards in the top five as Beard tried to make up ground on Moyer Jr.

As the race endured a long green flag run Moyer Jr. navigated heavy lap traffic as he stretched his advantage on Beard. A lap 25 caution set up an apparent ten lap dash to the checkers, but the ensuing double-file restart would see the complexion of the event dramatically changed. As the green flag flew Moyer Jr. again motored away from the pack, but Jon Kirby drifted up the track into Kyle Beard, which pinched Beard into the front-stretch wall breaking his front end. As Beard slowed down the front stretch he received hard contact from behind from Keith Lawson, Curtis Cook, Brandon Smith, and Derrick Richter. Beard would nearly flip as Cook saw his entry erupt in flames. Beard would see his mount destroyed in the accident, but would luckily be uninjured. Cook would be transported to the hospital with a broken arm. The other drivers were sore but uninjured.

After a thirty minute red flag the race resumed, and Moyer Jr. led the last ten laps to claim his third win of the season on the tour and the tenth of his career. He was followed across the line by Jon Kirby, Robert Baker, Jon Mitchell, and Todd Hall.

GRT Race Cars Heat Race #1 was won by Billy Moyer Jr. with Allen Murray winning NEA Super Gas/Killer Coatings Heat Race #2, and RiceTec Heat Race #3 being claimed by Jon Mitchell.

Clay Fisher claimed the Larry Shaw Race Cars Hard Charger Award for advancing from his nineteenth starting spot to an eighth place finish.

Kyle Beard received the Quarter Master Hard Luck Award after seeing his chances at a podium finish come to an abrupt end on a lap 25 restart, when contact from Jon Kirby sent him into the wall resulting in a destroyed race car.
The tour now turns its focus to next Saturday, August 4th for a $2,000-to-win event at I-30 Speedway (Little Rock, Arkansas). The event, which will be part of the RiceTec/RiceSelect Summer Series will mark the second of three appearances for the tour at the 1/4 mile oval in 2012. Billy Moyer claimed a dominating win in the tour’s first appearance at the oval earlier this year. For more information on the event please visit www.I-30Speedway.com .
The COMP Cams Super Dirt Series is sponsored by and would like to thank all of their sponsors including- COMP Cams, Hoosier Racing Tires, Kuntz & Company, Larry Shaw Race Cars, Quarter Master, GRT Race Cars, Rocket Chassis, Woodco, Inc., New Vision Graphics, RiceTec, ROCKHARD Powdercoat, Inc., Mark Martin Auto Group , NEA Supergas, Killer Coatings, MSR Mafia.com Marketing Services, Tobacco Town Inc., Racing Head Service, BSB Manufacturing, Five Star Bodies, Boston’s Restaurant and Sports Bar Pizza, speedliquidators.com, Schoenfeld Headers, Surrett Contracting, Lawson Farms, Powerhouse Products, ASI Race Wear, and FSR Racing Products.
For the latest information on the COMP Cams Super Dirt Series, please visit www.COMPDirt.com .
COMP Cams Super Dirt Series – July 28th, 2012
Northeast Arkansas Speedway (Harrisburg, AR)

Feature Results
1. Billy Moyer Jr. (Bateville, Arkansas)
2. Jon Kirby (Russellville, Arkansas)
3. Robert Baker (Bryant, Arkansas)
4. Jon Mitchell (Texarkana, Texas)
5. Todd Hall (Charleston, Missouri)
6. Allen Murray (San Antonio, Texas)
7. Robert Lovette (Drummonds, Tennessee)
8. Clay Fisher (Dewitt, Arkansas)
9. Billy Frye (Greenbrier, Arkansas)
10. Chandler Petty (Austin, Arkansas)
11. Kenneth Jackson (Beebe, Arkansas)
12. Tanner English (Benton, Kentucky)
13. Curtis Cook (Vilonia, Arkansas)
14. Robby Moore (Arkansas)
15. Brandon Smith (Floral, Arkansas)
16. Kyle Beard (Trumann, Arkansas)
17. Keith Lawson (Houston, Arkansas)
18. Derrick Richter (Bartlett, Tennessee)
19. Gary Beard (Trumann, Arkansas)
20. Raymond Merrill (Salisaw Springs, Oklahoma)
21. Jeff Floyd (Walnut Ridge, Arkansas)

Entries: 21
GRT Race Cars Heat Race #1 Winner: Billy Moyer Jr.
NEA Super Gas/Killer Coatings Heat Race #2 Winner: Allen Murray
RiceTec Heat Race #3 Winner: Jon Mitchell
New Vision Graphics Pole Sitter: Jon Mitchell
Quarter Master Hard Luck Award: Kyle Beard
Larry Shaw Race Cars Hard Charger: Clay Fisher (19th-8th)
COMP Cams Top Performer: Billy Moyer Jr.
Leaders: Jon Mitchell (1); Billy Moyer Jr. (2-35)
Cautions: 3
Red Flags: 1

Print Friendly, PDF & Email