Home --> Race Track News --> Missouri --> Lebanon Midway Speedway --> Last Lap Action At Midway Hot Summer Nights Leads Tim Petty/Brian Webster To Wins

Last Lap Action At Midway Hot Summer Nights Leads Tim Petty/Brian Webster To Wins

Lebanon MidwayThe 3rd annual Hot Summer Nights at the Midway Speedway in Lebanon lead to plenty of hot action as it wasn’t until the closing laps that feature events were claimed with Tim Petty and Brian Webster grabbing the Factory Stock and Modified wins.

Factory Stock action saw Lebanon’s Brian Schutt take the opening lead from his font row pole spot as current point leader Tim Petty,Tim Brown and Trevor Ellingson to follow.Schutt was pulling away leaving the race for second place as Brown and Ellingson kept a side by side race for 3rd spot.The 1st caution waved on lap 11 as Derek Brown and Shawn Whitman made contact in turn 3 slowing the pace. Schutt’s bid for victory ended on the following start as something broke on his car in turn 4. This placed current point leader Tim Petty in the lead with Tim Brown,Ellingson and Brandon Waters following. Brown got a strong jump on the restart and took the lead with Petty and Waters following.With a slight rain mist in the air the race track kept changing as Petty swung to the extreme top side in turn 3 as the leaders headed for the white flag. Petty and Waters both went around Brown as Ellingson followed. Petty was able to hold off Waters last lap charge to take the win with Brown, Ellingson and Derek Brown following.

The B Modified feature started in a very light rain drizzle as bothe drivers and speedway staff were keeping things going to beat the incoming rain. Michael Jones took the opening lead over pole setter Brian Webster as St. Louis area driver Kyle Stolzer followed. Jones was setting a smooth quick pace as Stolzer moved around Webster on lap 4.On lap 7 caution waved as both Jones and Webster spun around and placing both to the rear of the field. Stolzer took the lead as Midway point leader Ted Ballinger applied pressure. Stolzer kept the lead from lap 7 until lap 9 when Ballinger grabbed the lead. On lap 10, 2 time track champion Michael Stake took the lead as Webster had worked his way from the earlier spin. Stake and Webster kept the action tight up front and coming out of turn 3 for the checkered flag, Webster was able to pull to the top side for the win as Stake, Stozer,Bill Schaar and Ballinger in the top 5.

Midwest Modified point leader Sam Petty took the opening lead to lead all 15 laps but it wasn’t easy in the end.Petty was very strong early with Bennie Joiner and Billy Pearce following. Travis Hill began to reel in the leader as Rob White was slowly moving to the front pace. A late caution really bunched the pack up as Petty would find Hill right on his bumper along with White driving Chris Cheever’s car tonight. In the final 2 lap sprint to the finish, Hill closed in on Petty, but it was Petty taking the win with Hill,White,Billy Pearce and Bennie Joiner in the top 5 rundown.

Pure Stock point leader Rob White got the jump on the start of the 15 lap feature from his pole spot leaving the field to battle for spots. Ava’s Jack Hamer was trying to keep White close and pulled away securing the runner-up position as Larry Flaugher,Tyler Schoen and Monk Barker were keeping things interesting. The Pure Stock feature only had 1 caution early in the event and had plenty of close racing in the pack as 12 of the 13 starters finished on the lead lap.

The Street Stocks came in full force tonight with 11 entries. The race was caution free for the 15 lap feature as Richard Adams and Joe Francis swapped the lead several times while Shawn Schmidt and fast qualifier Brandon Henderson were gaining on the leaders.In the final 3 laps. Francis was able to place some distance between him and Adams and took the win with Adams finishing a very solid second spot as Henderson charged late in the feature to move around Schmidt to take third spot as Schmidt and Daniel Harris completing the top 5 finishers as 8 of the 11 starters completed the lead lap.

The Legend Cars competed tonight in thier first apperance of the season at Midway and kept the fans guessing all night. Fast qualifier Justin Comer took the opening lead with Rod Baird on his bumper. With Comer trying to open the lead up, James McDugle and son Caleb McDugle and Park Jones were coming strong. A couple of cautions kept the pack close as Comer was strong on the restarts. On lap 8 Caleb McDulge moved into second place and then 1 lap later Park Jones made it a 3 wide battle for second. With Comer trying to pull away,Jones would shake Baird and in the closing 3 laps was gaining on the leader. Comer would withstand Jones charges to grab the win with Jones,early contender Baird,James McDugle and Matt Gruenberg were the top 5 as 10 of the 12 starters completed the lead lap.

Over 80 entries competed this past weekend in the 2 day event.

Midway wil be back in action next Saturday night with the points chase featuring factory stocks,B Modifieds,Midwest Modifieds,Pure Stocks and Street Stocks with racing at 7:30.

Results-Hot Summer Nights

Factory Stocks-1-Tim Petty 2-Brandon Waters 3-Tim Brown 4-Trevor Ellingson 5-Derek Brown 6-Mike Murzynski 7-Karla Lampe 8-Ron Myers 9-Leland Seymour 10-Brian Schutt 11-Adam Lowrance DQ-Shawn Whitman,Frank Escamilla-Unsportmanship conduct.

B Modifiieds-1-Brian Webster 2-Michael Stake 3-Kyle Stolzer 4-Bill Schaar 5-Ted Ballinger 6-Tony Moore 7-Austin Arnold 8-Greg Strong 9-Dewayne Hobbs 10-Brian Myers 11-Michael Jones 12-Tim Ballinger 13-Tony Fincher DNS-Kevin Forshey

Pure Stocks-1-Rob White 2-Jack Hamer 3-Larry Flaugher 4-Tyler Schoen 5-Monk Barker 6-Jim Alextates 7-Tanner Sitton 8-Darrell Storment 9-Mick Maggard 10-David Moellering 11-Scott Lampe 12-Caleb Starnes 13-Dustin Ladd DNS-Christopher Sawyer

Midwest Modifieds-1-Sam Petty 2-Travis Hill 3-Rob White 4-Billy Pearce 5-Bennie Joiner 6-Les Hayes 7-Ken Walker 8-Tyler Brown 9-Jamie Petty 10-Keith Cheever 11-Shawn Cox 12-Joe Lafferty 13-Steve Moore 14-Andrew Cheever

Street Stocks-1-Joe Francis 2-Richard Adams 3-Brandon Henderson 4-Shawn Schmidt 5-Daniel Harris 6-Karla Lampe 7-Wayne Bysor 8-Ron Myers 9-Daniel Deason 10-Adam Lowrance 11-Justin Grindstaff

Legends-1-Justin Comer 2-Park Jones 3-Rod Baird 4-James McDugle 5-Matt Gruenberg 6-Wesley Smith 7-Calvin Garner 8-Larry Smoot 9-Kylan Garner 10-Caleb McDugle 11-Jay Reynolds 12-Doug Wilson

Print Friendly, PDF & Email