Home --> Dirt Late Model News --> Stovall Shows the Way in NCRA/MARS Feature at 81 Speedway!

Stovall Shows the Way in NCRA/MARS Feature at 81 Speedway!

MARS DIRTcar SeriesPark City, Kansas – August 4, 2012 – Jesse Stovall got the jump on pole sitter Jimmy Seagraves and never looked back to claim the National Championship Racing Association of Park City, Kansas presented by Precise Racing Products late model feature finale Saturday night at 81 Speedway in Park City. The event wrapped up a double header weekend the tour had with the Missouri based MARS DIRTcar series.

Just two laps into the twenty-five lap feature, Stovall quickly built a half stretch lead over Seagraves using the top of the tracks three-eight’s mile oval. Third starting Tony Jackson, Jr. got past Seagraves for the runner up position on lap three before the first caution of the race fell one lap later when Rick Leatherman lost a drive shaft entering turn one.

Stovall got the jump on the field on the restart while Jackson and fifth starting Tommy Weder, Jr. relegated Seagraves back to the fourth position. The leader opened a full stretch lead over Jackson by lap seven while behind them, seventh starting Gary Gorby worked his way up into the fourth position.

Lapped traffic first came into play on lap ten but that didn’t slow Stovall down one bit as he kept pace over the rest of the field. His lead would soon vanish and the caution waved on lap nine when Danial Patocka spun in turn two.

A couple of cautions slowed the race on laps eleven, one involving Gorby, who drifter high exiting turn two and hit the backstretch concrete to end his night.

On the final restart there was no catching Stovall and he went the rest of the distance unchallenged to pick up the $2500 victory.

Jackson held off a race long battle with Weder for the runner up position while Chase Junghans, who was disqualified after being found light at the scales after winning his heat race, started fourteenth and moved his way into the  fourth position on lap eleven and settled there for the finish. Sixteenth starting Bill Leighton worked his way up through the field to round out the top five.

Heat races for the nineteen car field were won by Gorby, Seagraves and Stovall.

The next event for the NCRA late model series will be this coming Friday and Saturday night, August 10-11 as the tour heads to Junction Motor Speedway in McCool Junction, Nebraska as they take on the Lucas Oil Midwest Latemodel Racing Association in the annual “King of the Hill” Late Model Shootout.

1st Heat: 1) Chris Kratzer, 2) Tommy Weder, Jr., 3) Gary Gorby 4) Ronnie Warman, 5) Corey Zeitner, 6) Bill Leighton, 7) Earl Kinderknecht

2nd Heat: 1) Jimmy Seagraves, 2) Tony Jackson, Jr., 3) Damian Patocka, 4) Dan Battaglia, DQ: Chase Junghans (light at scales), DNS: Rick Leatherman

3rd Heat: 1) Jesse Stovall, 2) Darrick Klima, 3) Matt Brookshore, 4) Justin Asplin, 5) Leroy Johnson, 6) Justin Kinderknecht

A Feature: 1) 00s Jesse Stovall, 2) 56 Tony Jackson, Jr., 3) 02 Tommy Weder, Jr., 4) 18 Chase Junghans, 5) 24 Bill Leighton, Jr., 6) 3 Jimmy Seagraves, 7) 26jt Corey Zeitner,  8) 21 Ronnie Warman, 9) t1t Earl Kinderknecht, 10) 00 Matt Brookshore, 11) 45 Dan Battaglia, 12) 55 Chris Kratzer, 13) 92x Darrick Klima, 14) 28j Leroy Johnson, 15) 1jr Justin Kinderknecht, 16) 7c Gary Gorby, 17) 77a Justin Asplin, 18) 22p Damian Patocka, 19) 16 Rick Leatherman

Print Friendly, PDF & Email