Home --> Dirt Late Model News --> Comp Cams Super Dirt Car Series --> Wendell Wallace Charges to COMP Cams Super Dirt Series Checkers at I-30

Wendell Wallace Charges to COMP Cams Super Dirt Series Checkers at I-30

Comp Cams Super Dirt SeriesLittle Rock, Arkansas (08/04/12) – The winningest driver in the history of the COMP Cams Super Dirt Series (CCSDS) Super Late Model tour increased his win advantage by another triumph on Saturday night at I-30 Speedway (Little Rock, Arkansas).

On a hot and steamy Saturday evening, twenty-six competitors converged on I-30 Speedway for a $2,000-to-win, CCSDS event, which marked the fourth round of the RiceTec/RiceSelect Summer Sizzler Series. Via preliminary action it was Texarkana, Arkansas’ pilot, Duke Whiseant, who earned the New Vision Graphics Pole Award for the 35 lap feature. He was joined on the front row by Tyler Erb, but as the race went green it was Bill Frye, who shot to the lead. Early in the event Frye would pace the event, but received a strong challenge from his teammate, Jon Kirby. While the pair of #11 entries battled at the front of the pack the driver on the move was Wendell Wallace, who was rapidly advancing from his tenth starting spot. By lap ten he had cracked the top five.

Wallace continued his march through the field over the next several laps, and on lap 19 he would shoot past Frye into the top spot. Once out front he set sail as the battle behind him heated up with Frye, Kirby, Brandon Smith, and Timothy Culp all waging war for the second spot. When the checkered flag dropped Wallace was followed across the finish line by Culp, Frye, Smith, and Kirby.

The win marked the fourteenth career triumph on the tour for Wallace, which is the most of any competitor.

GRT Race Cars Heat Race #1 was won by Duke Whiseant with Robert Baker winning NEA Super Gas/Killer Coatings Heat Race #2. RiceTec Heat Race #3 went to Tyler Erb while Jon Mitchell won the Racing Head Service Heat Race #4.

Wendell Wallace was the recipient of the Larry Shaw Race Cars Hard Charger Award for advancing from his tenth starting spot to the win.

Jon Mitchell received the Quarter Master Hard Luck Award after handling and mechanical issues relegated him to an seventeenth place finish.

The CCSDS tour will travel to Diamond Park Speedway (Nashville, Arkansas) this Saturday, August 11th for the second time this season. When the tour visited the facility back in April it was Kuntz & Company Rookie of the Year candidate, Robert Baker, who scored the win. For more information on the $2,000-to-win event, please visit www.DiamondParkSpeedway.com .

The COMP Cams Super Dirt Series is sponsored by and would like to thank all of their sponsors including- COMP Cams, Hoosier Racing Tires, Kuntz & Company, Larry Shaw Race Cars, Quarter Master, GRT Race Cars, Rocket Chassis, Woodco, Inc., New Vision Graphics, RiceTec, ROCKHARD Powdercoat, Inc., Mark Martin Auto Group , NEA Supergas, Killer Coatings, MSR Mafia.com Marketing Services, Tobacco Town Inc., Racing Head Service, BSB Manufacturing, Five Star Bodies, Boston’s Restaurant and Sports Bar Pizza, speedliquidators.com, Schoenfeld Headers, Surrett Contracting, Lawson Farms, Powerhouse Products, ASI Race Wear, and FSR Racing Products.

For the latest information on the COMP Cams Super Dirt Series, please visit www.COMPDirt.com .

COMP Cams Super Dirt Series – August 4th, 2012

I-30 Speedway (Little Rock, AR)

Feature Results

1. Wendell Wallace (Bateville, Arkansas)

2. Timothy Culp (West Monroe, Louisiana)

3. Bill Frye (Greenbrier, Arkansas)

4. Brandon Smith (Floral, Arkansas)

5. Jon Kirby (Russellville, Arkansas)

6. Robert Baker (Bryant, Arkansas)

7. Tyler Erb (Magnolia, Texas)

8. Gary Christian (Broken Bow, Oklahoma)

9. Stacy Taylor (Jacksonville, Arkansas)

10. Trey Beene (Bossier City, Louisiana)

11. Clay Fisher (Dewitt, Arkansas)

12. Jeff Chandler (Minden, Louisiana)

13. Curtis Cook (Vilonia, Arkansas)

14. Chandler Petty (Austin, Arkansas)

15. Shane Harris (Sheridan, Arkansas)

16. Keith Lawson (Houston, Arkansas)

17. Jon Mitchell (Texarkana, Texas)

18. Kenneth Jackson (Beebe, Arkansas)

19. Duke Whiseant (Texarkana, Arkansas)

20. Jamie Dacus (Lakeland, Tennessee)

DNS: Travis Mosley, Tommy Surrett, Eric Perry, Wesley Crutchfield, Odie Green, Thomas Dacus

Entries: 26 Representing Four States (AR, TN, LA, OK)

GRT Race Cars Heat Race #1 Winner: Duke Whiseant

NEA Super Gas/Killer Coatings Heat Race #2 Winner: Robert Baker

RiceTec Heat Race #3 Winner: Tyler Erb

Racing Head Service Heat Race #4 Winner: Jon Mitchell

Boston’s Sports Bar & Restaurant B-Main Winner: Jeff Chandler

New Vision Graphics Pole Sitter: Duke Whiseant

Quarter Master Hard Luck Award: Jon Mitchell

Larry Shaw Race Cars Hard Charger: Wendell Wallace (10th-1st)

COMP Cams Top Performer: Wendell Wallace

Leaders: Bill Frye (1-18); Wendell Wallace (19-35)

Cautions: 2

Red Flags: 0

Ben Shelton, Owner
MSR Mafia – www.MSRMafia.com

The Midsouth Racing Scene – www.MidSouthRacing.com

Print Friendly, PDF & Email