Home --> Race Track News --> Illinois --> Sportsman Return to Springfield for 19th Race

Sportsman Return to Springfield for 19th Race

Illinois State FairSPRINGFIELD, IL (August 9, 2010)-Sportsman racing has become wildly popular on the last day of the Illinois State Fair since the first Sportsman National event in 1994 and the “Daytona 500” of Sportsman racing returns to Springfield on Sunday August 19 in conjunction with the ARCA Allen Crowe 100.

Springfield residents Dennis Vandermeersch and the legendary Wes O’Dell account for ten of the eighteen sportsman checkered flags to date. Vandermeersch won three in a row before being dethroned by defending race winner Dave Crawley, Jr. of Decatur. Fellow five-time winner O’Dell is the only driver to start all 18 sportsman races to date.

Former winner Tim Dick of Monticello is expected to enter the 19th Sportsman National event as well. Other area drivers include Phil Moreland of Assumption, Mike Pickering of Decatur, Rick Roedel of Shelbyville, Shannon Eskew of Ashland, Tony Clinton of East Peoria and Jim Farley of Springfield.

The 19th Sportsman National 20-mile feature is slated for 12:15 p.m. Sunday August 19 at the Illinois State Fair immediately prior to the ARCA Allen Crowe 100.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email