Home --> Dirt Late Model News --> Late Pass Propels Chad Simpson to Victory at Lucas Oil Speedway’s MLRA event!

Late Pass Propels Chad Simpson to Victory at Lucas Oil Speedway’s MLRA event!

MLRAMedia Contact: Trenton Berry
(April 13, 2013) Wheatland, MO – Chad Simpson was fast from the outset of Saturday’s Lucas Oil MLRA feature, but it wasn’t until lap thirty-five he took the lead from Jesse Stovall, at Lucas Oil Speedway in Wheatland, MO.The pair raced to the flag stand off of turn four and Simpson never looked back.

“It was a pretty wild one tonight.” said Simpson following the race. “We’re never going to catch a break on these draws at the beginning of the night. We got to start deep in a heat race just like we were last week. We got up to fourth, and I just knew that wasn’t going to be good enough to get us in the top couple of rows. Starting tenth is pretty tough anywhere you go, especially with the caliber of cars that are here. I just got up on the wheel.” The win comes on the heels of second and third place finishes last weekend for Simpson.

Will Vaught led the opening eleven laps, before Stovall was able to work to the front in lapped traffic. Stovall slowed late in the race with a flat left rear, which ended his shot a solid finish.

The race’s final caution waved with just three laps to go. On the restart it was smooth sailing for Simpson as Vaught and seventeenth starting Eric Turner dueled for second. Vaught held the position at the checkers, with Turner scored in third.

Tony Jackson Jr. debuted a new Club 29 Rocket, and earned the Casey’s General Stores Hard Charger award as he moved from twentieth to fourth. Next up for the Lucas Oil MLRA is an Oklahoma tilt at Thunderbird Speedway and Tri State Speedway, April 26th and 27th.

4-13-13 Contingency Awards
Casey’s General Stores Hard Charger – Tony Jackson Jr. (20th to 4th)
Sunoco Rookie of the Race – Chase Junghans
KRC Top Qualifier – Jesse Stovall
Performance Bodies Move of the Race – Tony Jackson Jr.
JRi Shocks Fifth place Finisher – Brad Looney
KRC Hard Luck – Tommy Weder Jr.
Eibach Springs Race Winner – Chad Simpson
BSB Manufacturing – Corey Zeitner and Jason O’Brien
Powertrain Industries – Brandon McCormick
Keizer Wheels – Dave Eckrich
Wehrs Machine & Racing Products – Bryon Allison
Weld Wheels – David Turner

Race Results
Lucas Cattle Company A Feature (40 Laps): 1. Chad Simpson (Mt Vernon, IA), 2. Will Vaught (Crane, MO), 3. Eric Turner (Hermitage, MO), 4. Tony Jackson, Jr (Lebanon, MO), 5. Brad Looney (Republic, MO), 6. David Turner (Creighton, MO), 7. Brandon McCormick (Lebanon, MO), 8. Dave Eckrich (Cosgrove, IA), 9. Bryon Allison (Marshall, MO), 10. Chase Junghans (Manhattan, KS), 11. Travis Dickes (Madison, NE), 12. Mark Dotson (Cameron, MO), 13. Jason Russell (Henley, MO), 14. Jesse Stovall (Billings, MO), 15. John Anderson (Omaha, NE), 16. Shawn Knuckles (Poplar Bluff, MO), 17. Justin Asplin (Birch Tree, MO), 18. Jason O’Brien (Atlantic, IA), 19. Matt Johnson (Archie, MO), 20. Terry Phillips (Springfield, MO), 21. Matt Brookshire (Newburg, MO), 22. Kevin Sather (Des Moines, IA), 23. Justin Wells (Aurora, MO), 24. Tommy Weder Jr. (Woodward, OK)

Impact Signs, Awnings and Wraps B Feature (15 Laps):1. Eric Turner (Hermitage, MO), 2. Tommy Weder Jr. (Woodward, OK), 3. Tony Jackson, Jr (Lebanon, MO), 4. Mark Dotson (Cameron, MO), 5. Timothy Culp (Prattsville, AR), 6. Justin Zeitner (LaVista, NE), 7. Jason Bodenhamer (Centerview, MO), 8. Travis Dickes (Madison, NE), 9. Dustin Walker (Peculiar, MO), 10. Justin Asplin (Birch Tree, MO), 11. Bill Leighton (Omaha, NE), 12. Larry Jones (El Dorado Springs, MO), 13. Brantlee Gotschall (Nevada, MO), 14. Kevin Sather (Des Moines, IA), 15. Corey Zeitner (Bellevue, NE), 16. John Anderson (Omaha, NE), 17. Chance Bishop (Bartlesville, OK)

Lucas Oil Products Heat 1 (10 Laps):1. Jesse Stovall (Billings, MO), 2. Matt Brookshire (Newburg, MO), 3. Jason Russell (Henley, MO), 4. Chad Simpson (Mt Vernon, IA), 5. Eric Turner (Hermitage, MO), 6. Travis Dickes (Madison, NE), 7. Brantlee Gotschall (Nevada, MO), 8. Dustin Walker (Peculiar, MO), 9. Chance Bishop (Bartlesville, OK)

ProtectTheHarvest.com Heat 2 (10 Laps):1. Chase Junghans (Manhattan, KS), 2. Brandon McCormick (Lebanon, MO), 3. Terry Phillips (Springfield, MO), 4. Justin Wells (Aurora, MO), 5. Tommy Weder Jr. (Woodward, OK), 6. Bill Leighton (Omaha, NE), 7. Tony Jackson, Jr (Lebanon, MO), 8. Justin Zeitner (LaVista, NE)

Hoosier Racing Tires Heat 3 (10 Laps):1. Brad Looney (Republic, MO), 2. Shawn Knuckles (Poplar Bluff, MO), 3. Matt Johnson (Archie, MO), 4. Dave Eckrich (Cosgrove, IA), 5. Corey Zeitner (Bellevue, NE), 6. Justin Asplin (Birch Tree, MO), 7. John Anderson (Omaha, NE), 8. Kevin Sather (Des Moines, IA)

MAV TV American Real Heat 4 (10 Laps):1. Will Vaught (Crane, MO), 2. Bryon Allison (Marshall, MO), 3. Jason O’Brien (Atlantic, IA), 4. Mark Dotson (Cameron, MO), 5. David Turner (Creighton, MO), 6. Jason Bodenhamer (Centerview, MO), 7. Timothy Culp (Prattsville, AR), 8. Larry Jones (El Dorado Springs, MO)
To stay up to date with the Lucas Oil MLRA please like us on Facebook at facebook.com/lucasoilmlra. You might also want to follow us on Twitter at twitter.com/mlra. Check out our Youtube page as well, youtube.com/user/LucasOilMLRA.

The Lucas Oil MLRA (Midwest Latemodel Racing Association) sanctions regional Super Dirt Late Model touring series events in Missouri, Kansas, Nebraska, Oklahoma and Iowa.

For all the latest news and information on the Lucas Oil MLRA please visit us on the web at MLRARacing.com or by calling the series office at (417) 282 5984.

The Lucas Oil MLRA would like to thank their marketing partners; Lucas Oil Products, MAV TV, Protect the Harvest, Lucas Cattle Company, Hoosier Racing Tires, Geico, E3 Spark Plugs, CANIDAE, Optima Batteries, Speedco, Sunoco Race Fuels, Marriott Properties, Impact Signs, Awnings, and Wraps, Casey’s General Stores, JRi Shocks, Bodee’s Race Bodies, Peterson Fluid Systems, KRC, Midwest Sheet Metal, Fast Track Photos, RacinDirt.com, BSB Manufacturing, Racing Optics, Eibach Springs, Bell Helmets, Outpace Racing Products, ATL Fuel Cells, Schoenfeld Headers, Weld Wheels, Wehrs Machine & Racing Products, Powertrain Industries, Performance Bodies, Wilwood Engineering, Intercomp Scales, R2C Performance Products, Keizer Wheels.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email