STLRacing.com
Home --> Dirt Late Model News --> Babb Scores His First Victory of 2013 DIRTcar Summer Nationals “Hell Tour” at I-96 Speedway

Babb Scores His First Victory of 2013 DIRTcar Summer Nationals “Hell Tour” at I-96 Speedway

Shannon Babb – Jim Denhamer photo

LAKE ODESSA, Mich. — June 23, 2013 — Shannon Babb faced challenges from Bobby Pierce and Tyler Reddick on Sunday night, but held on to score his first victory of the 2013 DIRTcar Summer Nationals “Hell Tour” and his third consecutive win at I-96 Speedway.

Babb, of Moweaqua, Ill., has dominated the 3/8th-mile Michigan oval, where on Sunday night 28 late models took their best shot at him. Babb started from the outside of the front row and proved his dominance again this year, but not without his fair share of challenges. Babb, a three-time Summer Nationals champion, held off Reddick following a two-lap dash to the finish to score the $5,000 checkered flag.

“This place has been really good to us,” said Babb, who has won every Summer Nationals race held at I-96. “We love racing here. The fans are a lot of fun and the track was excellent.”

(Click here for news and information on the DIRTcar Summer Nationals.)

Bobby Pierce, Brandon Sheppard and Rusty Schlenk rounded out the top five.

Heat race winners included Shannon Babb, Ryan Unzicker and Bobby Pierce.

The DIRTcar Summer Nationals Hell Tour continues on Monday night at Peoria (Ill.) Speedway.

DIRTcar Summer Nationals Statistical Report; I-96 Speedway; Lake Odessa, Mich.: June 23, 2013

A-Main (40-laps): 1.Shannon Babb ($5,000), 2.Tyler Reddick, 3.Bobby Pierce, 4.Brandon Sheppard, 5.Rusty Schlenk, 6.Dustin Griffin, 7.Brandon Thirlby, 8.Jason McBride, 9.Wayne Chinn, 10.Jeff Babcock, 11.Steve Kester, 12.Randy Korte, 13.Brian Ruhlman, 14.Richard Neiser, 15.Ryan Unzicker, 16.Eric Spangler, 17.Pat Ehlert, 18.Jacob Poel, 19.Ryan Vanderveen, 20.Herb Reich, 21.Dusty Moore, 22.Dona Marcoullier.

2013 DIRTcar Summer Nationals ‘Hell Tour’ Schedule

Day Date Track Location Winner
Wed. June 12 Brownstown Speedway Brownstown, IN Dennis Erb, Jr.
Thurs. June 13 Off
Fri. June 14 Cedar Lake Speedway New Richmond, WI Brian Birkhofer
Sat. June 15 Cedar Lake Speedway New Richmond, WI Cancelled (RAIN)
Sun. June 16 Wilmot Speedway Wilmot, WI Kevin Weaver
Mon. June 17 Off
Tues. June 18 Off
Wed. June 19 Spoon River Speedway Canton, IL Brandon Sheppard
Thurs. June 20 Belle Clair Speedway Belleville, IL Brandon Sheppard
Fri. June 21 Tri-City Speedway Pontoon Beach, IL Chris Simpson
Sat. June 22 Fairbury Speedway Fairbury, IL Ryan Unzicker
Sun. June 23 I-96 Speedway Lake Odessa, MI Shannon Babb
Mon. June 24 Peoria Speedway Peoria, IL
Tues. June 25 Off
Wed. June 26 Clarksville Speedway Clarksville, TN
Thurs. June 27 Clayhill Motorsports Park Atwood, TN
Fri. June 28 Paducah International Raceway Paducah, KY
Sat. June 29 Federated Auto Parts Raceway at I-55 Pevely, MO
Sun. June 30 Lincoln Speedway Lincoln, IL
Mon. July 1 Off
Tues. July 2 Quincy Raceways Quincy, IL
Wed. July 3 Jacksonville Speedway Jacksonville, IL
Thurs. July 4 LaSalle Speedway LaSalle, IL
Fri. July 5 Fayette Co. Speedway Brownstown, IL
Sat. July 6 Highland Speedway Highland, IL
Sun. July 7 Tri-State Speedway Haubstadt, IN
Mon. July 8 Off
Tues. July 9 Florence Speedway Union, KY
Wed. July 10 Terre Haute Action Track Terre Haute, IN
Thurs. July 11 Macon Speedway Macon, IL
Fri. July 12 Kankakee County Speedway Kankakee, IL
Sat. July 13 34 Raceway Burlington, IA
Sun. July 14 Vermilion County Speedway Danville, IL
Mon. July 15 Off
Tues. July 16 Off
Wed. July 17 Brushcreek Motorsports Park Peebles, OH
Thurs. July 18 Twin Cities Raceway Park North Vernon, IN
Fri. July 19 Attica Raceway Park Attica, OH
Sat. July 20 Oakshade Raceway Wauseon, OH

The DIRTcar Summer Nationals “Hell Tour” is brought to fans across the country by many important partners including: Arizona Sport Shirts (Official Apparel Company), Hoosier Racing Tires (Official Racing Tires), Racing Electonics (Official Communication), Vicci (Official Uniform), VP Racing Fuel (Official Racing Fuel); in addition to these fine Contingency Sponsors: Beyea Headers, Butlerbuilt, Cometic Gasket, Comp Cams, Dominator Race Products, Edelbrock, Chevy Performance Parts, Integra Shocks, Intercomp, JE Pistons, JRI Shocks, Klotz Lubricants, MSD Performance, Petroff Towing, Quartermaster, Superflow Dynos, UNOH (University of Northwestern Ohio), and Wrisco Aluminum. 

Print Friendly