Home --> Dirt Late Model News --> Comp Cams Super Dirt Car Series --> Billy Moyer Jr. Conquers CCSDS at Camden Speedway

Billy Moyer Jr. Conquers CCSDS at Camden Speedway

Comp Cams Super Dirt SeriesCamden, Tennessee (04/25/14) – The competitors of the COMP Cams Super Dirt Series (CCSDS) presented by Lucas Oil went into battle at the 3/8 mile confines of Camden Speedway (Camden, Tennessee) on Friday evening, and it was former series champion, Billy Moyer Jr., who wired the field.

After seeing the series makes its debut at the middle Tennessee oval in 2013 to rave reviews, the stars and cars of the CCSDS returned for their sophomore appearance on Friday night, and a strong field of twenty Super Late Model pilots entered the event.

2009 CCSDS Champion, Billy Moyer Jr. from Batesville, Arkansas won his heat race from the third starting spot to earn the New Vision Graphics Pole Award for the 35 lap, $2,000-to-win affair. After winning his respective heat race, Eric Hickerson from Linden, Tennessee, who was making his CCSDS debut joined Moyer Jr. on the front row for the main event.

Moyer Jr. jumped to the lead at the drop of the green flag, while Hickerson found himself trying to keep Jack Sullivan at bay for the runner-up spot. Sullivan would ultimately work his way past Hickerson as he set his sights on Moyer Jr. The Greenbrier, Arkansas driver, was able to pressure the leader on multiple occasions, but would ultimately fall short of overtaking Moyer Jr. as he led ever lap of the caution free event to score the win. Sullivan, Hickerson, Kyle Beard, and Clay Fisher rounded out the top five finishers.

The victory was the twelfth of Billy Moyer Jr.’s career in CCSDS competition, and puts him second on the all-time win list behind fellow Batesville, Arkansas driver, Wendell Wallace, who has eighteen.

Linden, Tennessee’s Eric Hickerson won GRT Race Cars Heat Race #1 with Jack Sullivan winning Allen Manufacturing Heat Race #2. Billy Moyer Jr. raced to victory in ROCKHARD Powder Coating Heat Race #3.

Tommy Surrett was the recipient of the Larry Shaw Race Cars Hard Charger Award for passing five cars to finish 12th. Brandon Smith was presented with the Keith Craft Racing Engines Hard Luck Award for his handling struggles late in the feature.

On Saturday evening, April 26th the series rolls into Riverside International Speedway (West Memphis, Arkansas) for a $2,000-to-win/$400-to-start program. Ross Camponovo and Brandon Smith won at the famed, 1/4 mile oval in 2013. Time trials, heat races, b-mains, and a 35 lap feature will all be held for the event. 305 Winged Sprint Cars, 600cc Mini Springs, and Street Stocks will also be in action. Grandstand admission is $20 for adults with kids ages 6-to-11 $5, and ages 5-and-under free. For more information on the facility please visit http://www.RiversideInternationalSpeedway.com .

The COMP Cams Super Dirt Series presented by Lucas Oil is sponsored by and would like to thank all of their sponsors including- COMP Cams, Lucas Oil, Hoosier Racing Tires, Kuntz & Company, Larry Shaw Race Cars, Quarter Master, Allen Manufacturing, GRT Race Cars, Woodco, Inc., New Vision Graphics, ROCKHARD Powdercoat, Inc., Mark Martin Kia, Keith Craft Racing Engines, SRC Sampson Racing Radios, Beach Veterinary Services, Killer Coatings, MSR Mafia.com Marketing Services, Racing Head Service, BSB Manufacturing, Five Star Bodies, Boston’s Restaurant and Sports Bar Pizza, speedliquidators.com, Schoenfeld Headers, Surrett Contracting, Powerhouse Products, and FSR Racing Products.

For the latest information on the COMP Cams Super Dirt Series presented by Lucas Oil, please visit www.COMPDirt.com .
COMP Cams Super Dirt Series – April 25th, 2014
Camden Speedway (Camden, Tennessee)

Feature Results
1) Billy Moyer Jr. (Batesville, AR)
2) Jack Sullivan (Greenbrier, AR)
3) Eric Hickerson (Linden, TN)
4) Kyle Beard (Trumann, AR)
5) Shannon Scott (Henryetta, OK)
6) Clay Fisher (Dewitt, AR)
7) Tommy Surrett (NorthLittle Rock, AR)
8) Mark Fields (Lawrenceburg, TN)
9) Keith Craft (Arkadelphia, AR)
10) Tanner English (Benton, KY)
11) Brandon Smith (Floral, AR)
12) Brandon Poppenheimer (Nesbit, MS)
13) Caleb Ashby (Cunningham, TN)
14) Rick Hearnsberger (Arkadelphia, AR)
15) Kody Mea (Southaven, MS)
16) Mark Gant (Savannah, TN)
17) Jamie Dacus (Lakeland, TN)
18) Thomas Dacus (Lakeland, TN)
19) Lynn Beach (Hensley, AR)
20) Allen Murray (San Antonio, TX)

Entries: 20 from six states (AR, KY, MS, OK, TN, TX)
GRT Race Cars Heat Race #1 Winner: Eric Hickerson
Allen Manufacturing Heat Race #2 Winner: Jack Sullivan
ROCKHARD Powder Coating Heat Race #3 Winner: Billy Moyer Jr.
Boston’s Sports Bar & Restaurant B-Main Winners: NA
New Vision Graphics Pole Sitter: Billy Moyer Jr.
Keith Craft Racing Engines Hard Luck Award: Brandon Smith
Larry Shaw Race Cars Hard Charger: Tommy Surrett (12th to 7th)
COMP Cams Top Performer: Billy Moyer Jr.
Leaders: Billy Moyer Jr. (1-35)
Cautions: 0
Red Flag: 0

Ben Shelton, Owner
MSR Mafia Marketing & Website Services – www.MSRMafia.com
The Midsouth Racing Scene – www.MidSouthRacing.com

Print Friendly, PDF & Email