Home --> Sprint Car & Midget News --> POWRi Series News --> 2016 POWRi Lucas Oil National Midget Series Schedule Released Featuring 30 Events

2016 POWRi Lucas Oil National Midget Series Schedule Released Featuring 30 Events

powri-nationalMillstadt, IL – The POWRi Lucas Oil National Midget Series Schedule has been released with 30 races on tap, starting off the 2016 season with the thrilling Turnpike Challenge at Port City Raceway in Tulsa, Oklahoma and ending again with the Fourth Annual Jason Leffler Memorial at Wayne County Speedway in Wayne City, Illinois. 

 

After an exciting return to I-55 Raceway in 2015, the POWRi Lucas Oil National Midget Series will again take to the high-banked 3/8th mile in 2016.  Running alongside the World of Outlaw’s Sprint Car Series for all three scheduled events, the National Midget Series will be in action at I-55 Raceway on Saturday, April 30th after making a short drive from Belle-Clair Speedway in Belleville, Illinois the previous night.  On Friday, August 5th and Saturday, August 6th, the National Midgets will again be a part of the Iron Man 55 weekend, joined by the POWRi West Midget Series. 

 

Kicking off the first weekend in May, POWRi will make the traditional haul for the two day Missouri Mid-State Midget Nationals, stopping first at Valley Speedway on Friday, May 6th before venturing to the title-sponsor owned Lucas Oil Speedway, dubbed the “Diamond of Dirt Tracks,” on Saturday, May 7th for the final night of the Missouri Mid-State Midget Nationals.

 

For the fifth year, the POWRi National Midgets will again host the Illinois SPEED Week, but instead of the typical four days of racing, a fifth day will be added for 2016.  Starting off Illinois SPEED Week at Belle-Clair Speedway on Wednesday, June 8th, the series will then head to Quincy Raceways on Thursday, June 9th.  On Friday, June 10th Illinois SPEED Week will venture to Jacksonville Speedway before making the short jaunt to Macon Speedway on Saturday, June 11th.   Illinois SPEED Week will conclude at Lincoln Speedway on Sunday, June 12th. 

 

In 2016, the POWRi Lucas Oil National Midget Series will continue to hold fan-thrilling shows on two of the most talked about 1/5th mile tracks in the Midwest; Belle-Clair and Macon Speedway.  The bullring 1/5th miles will compose 11 events on the 30 race schedule.  Of those 11 events, three will continue to honor those who have contributed to the rich history of midget racing; the schedule includes the Arnie Knepper Memorial on Friday, July 15th at Belle-Clair Speedway, the Camfield Memorial at Macon Speedway on Saturday, August 20th, as well as the Charlene Meents Memorial on Saturday, October 1st at Belle-Clair Speedway. 

 

Also on the docket for 2016, POWRi will make an appearance at the historic Angell Park Speedway in Sun Prairie, Wisconsin on Sunday, July 3rd for the 35th Annual Pepsi Nationals.  Other standout events include Fayette County Speedway in Brownstown, Illinois on Friday, May 20th, Saint Francois County Raceway in Farmington, Missouri on Saturday, June 25th, Fairbury Speedway on Saturday, July 16th, and Spoon River Speedway on Saturday, September 10th. 

 

Printable schedules, rules, contingencies, and payouts can be found under the DOWNLOADS link located at the top of POWRi web site.

 

POWRi Lucas Oil National Midget Series 2016 Schedule:

Fri, April 1 * – Port City Raceway – Turnpike Challenge      Tulsa, OK            

Sat, April 2 * – Port City Raceway – Turnpike Challenge    Tulsa, OK            

Fri, April 22 – Jacksonville Speedway                       

Sat, April 23 – Macon Speedway                               

Fri, April 29 – Belle-Clair 

Sat, April 30 – I-55 Raceway – With the World of Outlaws               

Fri, May 6 * – Valley Speedway – MO Mid-State Midget Nationals             

Sat, May 7 * – Lucas Oil Speedway – MO Mid-State Midget Nationals       

Fri, May 20 – Fayette County Speedway

Sat, May 21 – Macon Speedway

Wed, June 8 – Belle-Clair- Illinois SPEED Week    

Thu, June 9 – Quincy Speedway – Illinois SPEED Week     

Fri, June 10 – Jacksonville Speedway – Illinois SPEED Week            

Sat, June 11 – Macon Speedway – Illinois SPEED Week                                                                                 

Sun, June 12 – Lincoln Speedway – Illinois SPEED Week                                                                                   

Fri, June 24 – Belle-Clair

Sat, June 25 – St. Francis County Raceway            

Sat, July 2 – Macon Speedway   

Sun, July 3 – Angell Park Speedway – Pepsi Nationals       

Fri, July 15 – Belle-Clair – Knepper Memorial        

Sat, July 16 – Fairbury Speedway              

Fri, Aug 5 * – I-55 Raceway – Iron Man 55              

Sat, Aug 6 * – I-55 Raceway – Iron Man 55             

Fri, Aug 19 – Lincoln Speedway – Springfield Fair

Sat, Aug 20 – Macon Speedway – Camfield Memorial      

Fri, Sept 9 – Jacksonville Speedway – Herb Barlow Memorial        

Sat, Sept 10 – Spoon River Speedway – Tom Knowles Memorial 

Fri, Sept 30 -Belle-Clair – Belleville BASH

Sat, Oct 1 -Belle-Clair – Meents Memorial             

Fri, Oct 21 – Wayne County Speedway – Jason Leffler Memorial 

 

Co-Sanction – *POWRi West            

           

For more information, visit www.powri.com.

 

Contact:

Derek Schuett

POWRi Media

info@powri.com

Print Friendly, PDF & Email