Home --> Dirt Late Model News --> Comp Cams Super Dirt Car Series --> Timothy Culp Takes Top Cash at Ark-La-Tex Speedway

Timothy Culp Takes Top Cash at Ark-La-Tex Speedway


Vivian, Louisiana (05/06/17) – Louisiana-native, Timothy Culp became the fourth different winner of 2017 on the COMP Cams Super Dirt Series (CCSDS) presented by Lucas Oil tour on Saturday night. The pilot of the #c8 Rocket Chassis scored the $2,500 victory at Ark-La-Tex Speedway.

Gene Boyter’s Ark-La-Tex Speedway played host to the tour on Saturday evening, and a last-to-first charge in his heat race presented Culp with the New Vision Graphics Pole Position for the 40-lap finale. He was joined on the front row by fellow Louisiana native, B.J. Robinson.

Culp paced the field for the first circuit, but it was Robinson who jumped to the top spot on lap 2.

Robinson led until a lap 10 restart, when he jumped the cushion in turn 2. He would be able to recover from this mistake, but not before Culp stole the lead. Culp went on to survive a mishap with a lapped car just before the halfway point on his way to his first CCSDS victory of the season. He was followed across the finish line by 8th-starting Billy Moyer Jr., while Chandler Petty, Jack Sullivan, and Garrett Alberson completed the Top 5.

Billy Moyer Jr. received the Larry Shaw Race Cars Hard Charger Award for advancing from his 8th starting spot to a runner-up finish, while Joseph Long received the Henryetta Ford Hard Luck Award after mechanical issues forced him out of the feature in the early going.

Next weekend – May 12-13 – the CCSDS heads to the Magnolia State for a doubleheader. Action kicks off at Greenville Speedway (Greenville, Mississippi) on Friday evening with a $2,000-to-win affair before shifting to Magnolia Motor Speedway on Saturday night for a $2,500-to-win program. For more information on the events, please visit www.GreenvilleSpeedway.net and www.MagnoliaDirt.com .

The COMP Cams Super Dirt Series presented by Lucas Oil is sponsored by and would like to thank all of their sponsors including- COMP Cams, Lucas Oil, Hoosier Racing Tires, Larry Shaw Race Cars, New Vision Graphics, Midwest Sheet Metal, Black Diamond Chassis, KARR Transportation Incorporated, Big Air, Quarter Master, Allen Manufacturing, Mid State Golf Cars, ROCKHARD Powder Coating, Mark Martin Automotive Group, Mark Martin Powersports, Henryetta Ford, Central Arkansas Pest Services, Beach Veterinary Services, Racing Head Service, Allen Manufacturing, McClain Custom Cabinets, P&W Sales, Schoenfeld Headers, and MSR Mafia Marketing Services.
For the latest information on the COMP Cams Super Dirt Series presented by Lucas Oil, please visit www.COMPDirt.com .

COMP Cams Super Dirt Series – May 6, 2017
Ark-La-Tex Speedway (Vivian, Louisiana)

Feature Results
1)Timothy Culp 2)Billy Moyer Jr. 3)Chandler Petty 4)Jack Sullivan 5)Garrett Alberson 6)B.J. Robinson 7)Jon Mitchell 8)Kyle Beard 9)Hunter Rasdon 10)Wendell Wallace 11)Zach McMillan 12)Tanner Kellick 13)Brandon Wilson 14)Gavin Landers 15)Ronny Adams 16)Bo Day 17)Charlie Cole 18)David Payne 19)Joe Gorby 20)Joseph Long

DNS: Ross Camponovo, Trey Beene, Jim Bryant, Robbie Stuart, Derrick Nichols, Chad Dupont, Lee Davis

Entries: 28
Black Diamond Chassis Heat Race #1 Winner: B.J. Robinson
Allen Manufacturing Heat Race #2 Winner: Chandler Petty
KARR Transportation Heat Race #3: Timothy Culp
Big Air Heat Race #4: Kyle Beard
Mark Martin Powersports B-Main #1 Winner: Wendell Wallace
ROCKHARD Powder Coating B-Main #2 Winner: Zach McMillan
New Vision Graphics Pole Sitter: Timothy Culp
Henryetta Ford Hard Luck Award: Joseph Long
Larry Shaw Race Cars Hard Charger: Billy Moyer Jr. (8th-2nd)
COMP Cams Top Performer: Timothy Culp
Leaders: Timothy Culp (1, 10-40), B.J. Robinson (2-9)
Caution: 3
Red Flag: 0


Ben Shelton, Owner
MSR Mafia Marketing & Website Services – www.MSRMafia.com

The Midsouth Racing Scene – www.MidSouthRacing.com


Print Friendly, PDF & Email