Home --> Race Track News --> Missouri --> Lebanon Midway Speedway --> Petty Fends Back National Leader Jackson In USRA B Modified Feature

Petty Fends Back National Leader Jackson In USRA B Modified Feature

Lebanon, Mo.- Current Lebanon Midway Speedway Out Pace USRA B Modified track point leader Sam Petty fended back a charge from National leader Kris Jackson in the final 2 laps in taking his 3rd win of the season Friday Night in an action packed 20 lap feature.

Defending track champion Tyler Brown and Tyler Knudtson brought the 16 cat field to the green with Brown grabbing the opening lead while Petty, who started 3rd followed closely behind followed by Knudtson and Rex Harris as Jackson was starting in the 11th position. A quick yellow flew as 5th place in points Rich Reynolds had a wheel issue slowing him in turn 4 ending his night. Brown was keeping Petty and Knudtson at bay as Donnie Jackson began to move forward from his 9th starting spot as all eyes were on Jackson as he was slicing through the field. On lap 5, the caution waved as Jackson spun in turn 3 on the top side while making a 3 wide pass for position sending him to the rear of the long line. On the restart, Tyler Brown had his hands full as Petty pulled even with the leader while Knudtson and Donnie Jackson raced hard for 3rd spot with a tight battle between Dillion McCowan, Kelly Hicks and Bobbye Williams for 5th. On the 9th lap, Petty made a strong move on Tyler Brown and took the top spot as Jackson’s 65 was picking off cars every lap.

A lap 11 caution bunched the field-up as Petty brought the field down on the double-file restart as Donnie Jackson made a move around Knudtson for 3rd spot as Jackson cracked the top 5. Kris Jackson moved into 3rd spot on lap 13 as Petty maintained a 4 car advantage over Brown as Jackson and Brown wagged a classic battle for 2nd place while Donnie Jackson and McCowan and Harris kept things interesting behind the top 3. On circuit 18, Kris Jackson finally cleared Brown for the runner-up spot and set his sight on leader Petty. The final 2 laps kept everyone waiting as Petty kept the car smooth to hold back Kris Jackson with the win as Kris Jackson, early leader Tyler Brown, Donnie Jackson and young McCowan completed the top 5 as 13 of the 16 feature starters completed the lead lap.

For Petty, it inched him closer to The Midway USRA Track Championship sponsored by S&S U-Pull It Auto Parts of Lebanon and for Jackson, another good national points night in The Out Pace National Standings. He came in to the night with 15 feature wins out of 28 starts, and 26 top 5’s. With the car count and starting position and finishing spot, should help gain a few more markers. Other feature winners Friday Night saw Derek Brown ( Street Stocks), 1st time winner Luke Gideon( Midwest Modifieds), Corey Henson( Hornets), Mark Simon ( Bombers), and John Gamble in a 3 wide finish to the checkered ( Pure Stocks).

USRA Summit Equipment Racing Action continues Friday Night on Aug.3rd as The Midway will close out The Spring/Summer Series and then return to action on Saturday Nights starting Sept.8th with The 2nd Annual Bud Perry Memorial. For USRA B Modified drivers, The Fall Series starting in Sept. will award National points each race night up until the dead line.

For updated information visit and like the Facebook Page and The Website at WWW.MidwaySpeedway.Net


Results-USRA Out Pace B modified presented by S&S U-Pull It Auto Parts


1 ( 3)  9  Sam Petty

2 ( 11)  65  Kris Jackson

3 ( 1)  T10  Tyler Brown

4 ( 9)  42J  Donnie Jackson

5 ( 6)  8  Dillion McCowan

6 ( 2)  8K  Tyler Knudtson

7 ( 4)  30  Rex Harris

8 ( 5 )  1B  Bobbye Williams

9 ( 13)  68  Donnie Betts

10 ( 12)  32  Kelly Hicks

11 ( 14)  10P  Dayton Pursley

12 ( 7 )  16m  Brian Myers

13 ( 16)  29  Dalton Keith

14 ( 15)  5  Jeff Hooper

15 ( 10)  7x  Ryan Lewis

16  ( 8)  7R  Rich Reynolds

DNS-1-Tony Fincher


Friday Night-Lebanon Midway Results
Starnes Auto Street Stocks
1) Derek Brown 2) Joe Francis 3) Mark Davis 4) Jay Flinn 5) Justin Grindstaff 6) Tim Petty 7) Brandon Hays
Sing Rental Hornets
1) Corey Henson 2) Ricky Reynolds 3) Dewey Resch 4) Ashley Henderson 5) James Reynolds 6) Jason Walls 7) William Garner 8) Shannon Geller 9) Shyanne Bauman 10) Ed Henson 11) Tyson Moore 12) Mason Rodden 13) Caleb Price 14) Jeff Helton 15) Jonathan Finley 16) Sarah Cunningham DNS-Todd Mauk
Mi-Kel Industries Midwest Modifieds
1) Luke Gideon 2) Colt Cheevers 3) Matt Williams 4) Kyle Bates 5) Jesse Hawkins 6) Donnie Gennings 7) Brian Piercy 8) Jamie Petty 9) Jeremy Hazel 10) Zach Cheever 11) Brandon Lyons 12) James Epperson 13) Clinton Betts 14) Billy Jones 15) Phillip Jackson 16) Trei Walters 17) Blake Rhoades
Complete Services Pure Stocks
1) John Gamble 2) Jack Wood 3) Justin Roberts 4) Greg Dykstra 5) Ron Duncan 6) Les Hayes 7) Corey Henson 8) Jim Alexstates 9) Ron Myers 10) Dalton White
1st State Bank Bombers
1st Ft-1) Mark Simon 2) Rob White 3) Sam McDaniel 4) William Garner 5) Tony Wright 6) Derek Collins
2ns Ft-1) Simon 2) McDaniel 3) Donnie Gennings 4) Garner 5) Collins 6) Wright 7) Rob White
Next Friday-Final Friday Night of Spring/Summer Series. Normal procedures-open draw for heats. All 6 classes. After this race Midway will come back to action on Saturday Sept. 8th with Saturday Night racing starting with the Bud Perry Memorial featuring the Cash Money Late Models, USRA B mods, Midwest Modz, Pure Stocks, Hornets ad the Gateway Vintage Racing Association. Bud’s Tire and wheel will have extra incentives for the classes.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email