Home Dirt Late Model News Top 25 Dirt Super Late Model Rankings Top 25 Dirt Super Late Model Rankings

    Brandon Sheppard – Jimmy Owens – Jim DenHamer photo

    by Don Martin                    4.11.2019

    Below are the Top 25 Dirt Late Model Rankings as we enter the third week in April.   Last week we saw Brandon Sheppard take home the Illini 100 at Farmer City last Saturday night – what a year BShepp is having again.   The New Berlin, Illinois driver took home $15,000 for his efforts.   Brian Shirley won the Friday portion of the World of Outlaw double header taking home $6000.     Sheppard was the runner-up on Friday so a pretty good weekend for the guy who sits atop of the Dirt Late Model Standings who was also the Champion last year.


    I think the biggest surprise last week at Farmer City had to be Jimmy Mars coming home second.  I don’t think anybody predicted that, Bobby Pierce took home the final podium finish.     The Lucas Series had a couple of races last week one in Tennessee and the other in North Georgia.    Ross Bailes in the Barry Wright house car won at 411 and Jonathan Davenport won at North Georgia.   Davenport and Sheppard look to be very strong this year and both have phenomenal race teams.   You got Sheppy driving for Mark Richards and Davenport driving for Mark Martin.    These two teams are probably the best funded teams in the country and their performances on the track show it.   It should also be noted that Dale McDowell picked up $10,000 last week at Bulls Gap the race was unsanctioned.


    My driver on the rise is Jimmy Owens, he was pretty much dead in the water during Florida Speedweeks but the Ramirez team has really picked up the pace lately with some solid podium finishes.


    My hat goes off to Tony Izzo Jr., for pulling off one of the best daytime races I have seen in quite some time.   Usually daytime events rubber –up and become one lane race tracks making for a boring race.   Not LaSalle during the Thaw Brawl.   Watching Pierce and Erb got at it for over 20 laps was pretty exciting.    Tony not only pulled off a great race but also got everyone out a decent hour it was a very frigid afternoon.


    One special note I want to mention Michael Hoker of Hoker Trucking.   Folks this guy is very passionate about late model racing and we need more sponsors and people like him.    He is not only sponsoring events such as the Thaw Brawl at LaSalle but is a major part of Bobby Pierce’s racing program and Chris Simpson.    Thanks so much Hoker Trucking for the love of dirt late model racing.


    This upcoming week the Lucas Series heads out East for a 4 race swing, and we could see a head to head match up with Davenport and Sheppard which is exciting.    Peoria Speedway has a $5,000 to win race Saturday night paying $5,000 to win and it is opening night at Tri-City Speedway Friday night.   Tri-City will be hosting the Deuces Wild event paying $2000 to win featuring the AMS Modifieds, MOWA Sprint cars, and UMP Late Models.    You can see some of the best modifieds in the Midwest, including the one and only Mike Harrison who is the best.     Harrison won the event last weekend at Farmer City coming from the 10th row.


    In late models you can expect to see Bobby Pierce, Brian Shirley, Shannon Babb, Gordy Gundaker, Tim Manville, and Michael Kloos to name a few.   Should be a great night of racing with no rain at this time in the forecast.


    In closing here is to a speedy recovery to Scott Bloomquist and of course thoughts and prayers to Brett Korves family and friends who lost his life last week at the age of 30.

  Top 25 Super Dirt Late Model Rankings 2019                        4.11.2019

    1              Brandon Sheppard

    2              Jonathan Davenport

    3              Tyler Erb

    4              Bobby Pierce

    5              Earl Pearson Jr.

    6              Jimmy Owens

    7              Ross Bailes

    8              Chris Madden

    9              Brandon Overton

    10           Ricky Weiss

    11           Devin Moran

    12           Don O’Neal

    13           Brian Shirley

    14           Michael Page

    15           Scott Bloomquist

    16           Dale McDowell

    17           Mike Marlar

    18           Shane Clanton

    19           Donald McIntosh

    20           Josh Richards

    21           Dennis Erb Jr.

    22           Chase Junghans

    23           Jimmy Mars

    24           Hudson O’Neal

    25           Chris Ferguson


    Print Friendly, PDF & Email

    Latest articles

    Five Racing Divisions Set To Entertain Fans Friday Night At Lincoln Speedway

    (Lincoln, IL) Lincoln Speedway, located at the Logan County Fairgrounds in Lincoln, IL, is off to a great start for the 2020 racing season....

    Tyler Erb over Pierce for Summer Nationals tour opener win at Brownstown Speedway

    BROWNSTOWN, IN – July 8, 2020 – Just over three years ago, Tyler Erb scored his first career DIRTcar Summer Nationals victory in the...

    Mike McKinney takes opening night Summit Modified Nationals win at Brownstown Speedway!

    BROWNSTOWN, IN – July 8, 2020 – In chasing a championship, it’s crucial to win early and often. That’s exactly what Mike McKinney started...

    Related articles

    Print Friendly, PDF & Email