• St. Louis Motor Racing News! Providing the most complete motorsports coverage in the Midwest!


Barren County Speedway Presents the NARA 23rd Annual "Kentucky Klassic" on August 27

Discussion in 'NARA Battle of the Bluegrass Series' started by jdearing, Aug 25, 2004.

  1. jdearing

    jdearing Administrator Staff Member

    By Spencer Wilson

    GLASGOW, KY--Barren County Speedway in Glasgow, KY proudly presents the 23rd Annual "Kentucky Klassic" race on Friday Night, August 27 sanctioned by the North American Racing Association (NARA) DirtCar Series. The "Kentucky Klassic" is the longest continuous running dirt late model event in the state of Kentucky having been contested every year since 1982. This year's event will pay $7000 to win and $500 to start the 60 lap feature. There will be a complete show on Friday Night at Glasgow for the NARA DirtCars with RealPower Time Trials, Crown Spray Power Heat Races, O'Reilly Auto Parts B-Mains and the 60 lap Lucas Oil 23rd Annual "Kentucky Klassic" main event.

    In the previous 22 "Kentucky Klassic" events ran there have been 17 different drivers win the race. A total of seven National Dirt Late Model Hall of Fame Inductees have won the "Klassic" including, Jeff Purvis, Pat Patrick, Billy Moyer, Scott Bloomquist, Freddy Smith , Jim Curry, and the late, Jack Boggs. 2003 NARA Battle of the Bluegrass DirtCar Series Champion Mike Marlar is the defending race winner.

    Barren County Speedway is under new management in 2004 with six Late Model shows under their belts the track has hosted the O'Reilly NARA Battle of the Bluegrass DirtCar Series twice this year with Greg Johnson and Tyrel Todd winning those races, along with regular show winners Victor Lee and Michael England. Lee, who currently leads the Barren County Speedway Late Model point’s standings heading into the "Kentucky Klassic" has racked up three wins this year at the 3/8ths mile speedplant. This will be the first ever visit for the NARA DirtCar Series at Barren County Speedway.

    Lee leads the tracks points over Michael England, John Gill, Johnny Wheeler and Tim Tungate. The rest of the top ten in points includes Jeff Watson, Greg Johnson, Terry English, Brad Neat and Billy Dever.

    The country's newest Dirt Late Model Sanctioning Body, NARA will be looking for its fourth different event winner in four races with the upcoming event Glasgow. In the first three NARA races contested this year, Scott Bloomquist, Mike Jewell and Shannon Babb have been the winners with John Gill currently leading the series points. Babb is second in points followed by a tie between Greg Johnson and R.J. Conley for third place while Hall of Famer, Freddy Smith sits in fifth. The rest of the top ten in NARA points are Mike Marlar, Steve Barnett, Don O'Neal, Dennis Erb, Jr. and Brad Neat.

    At Barren County Speedway on August 27 activities will get underway with the pit gates opening at 2 pm (CDT), hot laps at 6 PM (CDT), and time trials at 6:30 PM (CDT). Barren County Speedway is located on Highway 68/80 west, 3 miles west of Glasgow, KY. For more information please log on to the track's website at www.barrencountyspeedway.com or call the track office at (270) 678- 1100.

    NARA DirtCar Series is sponsored by: Lucas Oil Products, O’Reilly Auto Parts, Crown Spray Power, RealPower, Columbus Classic, American Racer Tires, Hoosier Racing Tires, PPM Racing Products, Real Wheels, Dart Machinery, CJ Rayburn Race Cars, Weld Wheels, Renegade Race Fuels, Outlaw Disc Brakes, Trailer Parts and Sales and Wayne Bowen Racing Supply.

    Kentucky Klassic Payoff
    1. $7000.00
    2. 3500.00
    3. 2000.00
    4. 1500.00
    5. 1400.00
    6. 1300.00
    7. 1200.00
    8. 1100.00
    9. 1000.00
    10. 950.00
    11. 900.00
    12. 850.00
    13. 800.00
    14. 750.00
    15. 700.00
    16. 650.00
    17. 625.00
    18. 600.00
    19. 575.00
    20. 550.00
    21. 525.00
    22. 500.00

    Previous "Kentucky Klassic" Champions
    1982--Jeff Purvis
    1983--Harry Underwood
    1984--Pat Patrick
    1985--Don Hobbs
    1986--Don Hobbs
    1987--John Gill
    1988--Billy Moyer
    1989--Scott Bloomquist
    1990--Freddy Smith
    1991--Billy Moyer
    1992--Scott Bloomquist
    1993--Jack Boggs
    1994--Steve Barnett
    1995--Don O'Neal
    1996--Billy Moyer
    1997--Billy Moyer
    1998--Jim Curry
    1999--Kevin Weaver
    2000--Timmy Yeager
    2001--Kevin Claycomb
    2002--Mike Hawley
    2003--Mike Marlar


Share This Page