Duncan Takes Jackson Victory!

Discussion in 'Racing News (2010 & Earlier)' started by jdearing, Apr 12, 2004.

  1. jdearing

    jdearing Administrator Staff Member

    Likes Received:
    Trophy Points:
    Columbus, MS- The MSCCS invaded the Capital City and made their first visit to Jackson Motor Speedway of the year. A fine field was on hand that would result with the fourth different winner in the first four races on the ultra competitive series. Hometown hero Dennis Duncan of Terry, Mississippi would take his first MSCCS win of the season and also make a move into second in the series title chase.

    Action got underway for the event with Brown Engineering Pole Qualifying with Four Corner’s driver David Breazeale earning the Fast Gun of the evening with a 16.10-second lap in his Robert Brown powered racecar over the 30-car field on hand. Dennis Duncan shared the front row honors after having the second quick time of the evening as the top eight qualifiers were locked into the field.

    The two Cliburn Tank Lines B-Main events were run with Chris Wall and Phillip Cooper taking the B-Main wins. Completing the 22-car starting field was MSCCS provisional Jimmy Cliburn and track provisional Steve Bynum.

    The $2,500 to win main event would see Duncan jump to the lead and take the win in a flag to flag run with Mike Boland applying pressure and taking a strong second place finish. Chris Wall continued his consistent efforts with a third place finish after starting ninth on the evening and being the Boland Performance top RotY finisher with Sumrall’s Keith Miller taking fourth place and MSCCS points leader Scott Slay completing the top five. Rounding out the top ten finishers were David Breazeale, Phillip Cooper, Rodney Wing, Jason Cliburn, and Jimmy Cliburn completing the top ten.

    The next stops on the MSCCS tour will be this Friday and Saturday night April 16th and 17th at the ¼-mile semi banked ovals of Southern Speedway in Hattiesburg Friday night with a 40-lap $2,000 to win main event and South Mississippi Speedway in Long Beach, Mississippi this Saturday night featuring a 50-lap $2,500 and $300 to start main event.

    Action will consist of Brown Engineering Pole Qualifying locking in the top eight qualifiers with positions 9 through 20 set by Cliburn Tank Lines B-Main events plus two provisionals to complete the 22-car starting field.

    Southern Speedway in Hattiesburg is located by taking I-59 to exit 59, then 2.5 mi. east on US 98, then .7 mi. south on US 49, then west (south of Hattiesburg). Information can also be obtained by contacting Aubrey McKenzie at 601-765-6900 or the track on raceday at 601-545-3333.

    South Mississippi Speedway conveniently located alongside I-10 at exit 24 in Long Beach, Mississippi. South Mississippi Speedway information can be found at www.southmsspeedway.com or by calling the track on raceday at 228-255-8008.

    For more information about the Mississippi State Championship Challenge Series please visit the MSCCS website at www.stateseries.com or call Charles Thrash at 601-917-2335 days or 601-482-5251 evenings.

    MSCCS Race Stats:

    Jackson Motor Speedway – April 10th

    50 laps - $2,500 to win

    30 Super Late Models on hand

    Brown Engineering Fast Gun Award: David Breazeale 16.104

    Styling Signs and Decal Hard Charger Award: Jimmy Cliburn

    Boland Performance Top Rookie: Chris Wall

    Lap Leaders: Dennis Duncan 1-50

    Cliburn Tank Lines B-Main winners: Chris Wall and Phillip Cooper

    Provisionals- Jimmy Cliburn and Steve Bynum

    Official MSCCS finish:

    1-Dennis Duncan 2-Mike Boland 3-Chris Wall 4-Keith Miller 5-Scott Slay 6-David Breazeale 7-Phillip Cooper 8-Rodney Wing 9-Jason Cliburn 10-Jimmy Cliburn 11-James Dean 12-Randy Little 13-Greg Fore 14-Richey Cauthen 15-Gary Cooper 16-Josh Fuller 17-Steve Bynum 18-George Paul 19-Brock Wester 20-Bub McCool 21-David Molpus 22-Darin Dorsey

    MSCCS Top 10 in points:

    1-Scott Slay-475 2-Dennis Duncan-440 3-Rodney Wing-420 4- Chris Wall®-420 5-David Breazeale-410 6-Phillip Cooper-355 7-Keith Miller-345 8-Mike Boland 345 9-Jason Cliburn-340 10-Jimmy Cliburn-330

    For more information about the Mississippi State Championship Challenge Series please visit the MSCCS website at www.stateseries.com or call Charles Thrash at 601-917-2335 days or 601-482-5251 evenings.

    Upcoming MSSCS Events:
    April 16th-Southern Speedway-$2,000 to win

    April 17th-South Mississippi Speedway-$2,500 to win

    May 1st-Columbus Speedway-$3,000 to win

    MSCCS 2004 corporate sponsors:
    Hoosier Tire South, Jimmy Smith's American Race Tires, Cliburn Tank Lines, Brown Engineering, Boland Performance, Schaeffer's Oil, Behind the Wheel/Late Model America, Warrior Race Cars, Clausen Racing, GRT Race Cars, Styling Signs and Decals, Oval Craft, J Michael Cox, and midsouthracing.com

Share This Page