Michael Dupuy tops O'Reilly SUPR Sprints once again!

Discussion in 'General/Other Sprint-Midget News' started by jdearing, Aug 31, 2004.

  1. jdearing

    jdearing Administrator Staff Member

    Likes Received:
    Trophy Points:
    By Steve Molnar
    Baton Rouge, Louisiana (August 28, 2004) - Butch David's weekend appeared to be going just as planned as he was leading the race as the field approached the halfway mark and he looked on step closer to securing his second O'Reilly SUPR Sprint Car Championship but then his luck took a decidedly downward turn as his motor let go and his once large lead in the point standings has been reduced to just 22 points. And while not the way he would like to take the win, Michael Dupuy once again rode the Dotted i Signs/D&S Embroidery/Ingram Motorsports B1 to victory at Baton Rouge Raceway. The win marked Dupuy's sixth career O'Reilly SUPR Sprint Car victory.

    With David slowing with a wounded motor and the race slowing for the only caution of the night, Shane Morgan was set to inherit the lead and in fact he did bring the field around for the restart but he would not be credited for leading a lap as Dupuy swept by Morgan on the restart and stormed away to take the win, leaving few survivors in his wake as he lapped all but the top 5 cars in the process.

    And while he was unable to main his short hold on the lead, Shane Morgan did finish second and in the process reclaimed second place in the championship standings just one point ahead of Michael Herrington who also finished one place behind Morgan with a third at the checkers. The race results now leave an extremely close chase for the 2004 title with David leading Morgan by 22 points and Herrington by 23 points with six races remaining on the
    2004 schedule.

    The surprise of the night may well have been the performance of Wendell Magnon who finished fourth. The surprise was not so much based on Magnon's highest finish in SUPR competition but in the fact that many didn't even know it was him driving as he was at the wheel of the #24 Bengal Roach Spray car previously owned by Glynn LeBlanc. Mark Tate also recorded a solid run to round out the top five.

    18 O'Reilly SUPR Sprint Cars were on hand with Shane Morgan, Butch David and Michael Dupuy opening the action with the heat race victories.

    Official Results:
    1. Michael Dupuy
    2. Shane Morgan
    3. Michael Herrington, Jr.
    4. Wendell Magnon
    5. Mark Tate
    6. Harold Henderson
    7. Seavy Clemmons
    8. Cary Farmer
    9. Billy Gunter
    10. Joey Pilgrim
    11. Jerry Aguillard
    12. Butch David
    13. Nick Gleber
    14. Larry Todd
    15. Terry Vidrine
    16. David Forbis
    17. Adam Moneyhun
    18. Herman Carrier

Share This Page