Murphy adds Memorial Day hardware to growing collection of Deery Series trophies

Discussion in 'Super Late Models' started by jdearing, May 29, 2012.

  1. jdearing

    jdearing Administrator Staff Member

    Likes Received:
    Trophy Points:
    BOONE, Iowa (May 28) – At this rate, Mike Murphy Jr. is going to have to build a bigger display case.
    Murphy added another Deery Brothers Summer Series trophy to his collection on Monday, lead*ing all 40 laps of the Memorial Day feature at Boone Speedway.
    The $2,000 IMCA Late Model tour victory, Murphy’s third of the season and career fourth, came despite the best efforts of Tyler Bruening and Jeff Aikey following a trio of restarts with two laps to go.
    After drawing the outside row one start, the series point leader found the fast lower line and caught up to the back of the field by the 10th circuit.
    Both Bruening and Aikey chased Murphy into lapped traffic. Bruening pulled alongside for a cou*ple laps but was never able to get past and settled in on the leader’s back bumper.
    Laps clicked off quickly before the three late yellows, the last two of which involved multi-car inci*dents. Aikey tried a higher after the final restart but couldn’t catch Murphy or Bruening.
    Ray Guss Jr., winner of the Sunoco Race Fuels feature qualifier drawing, and Luke Goedert rounded out the top five. Drake Ostrom was ninth in his career first Deery feature start.
    Murphy is the only multiple winner through seven tour events this season. He’s also the 11th differ*ent driver to win a Memorial Day feature at Boone in the last 12 years.
    Next up for the Deery Brothers Summer Series is the Tuesday, June 12 show at Cedar County Raceway; the JR Motorsports Hawkeye Dirt Tour for IMCA Modifieds is also at Tipton that even*ing.
    Pit gates and the grandstand both open at 5 p.m. Hot laps are at 6:30 p.m. and racing starts at 7 p.m.
    Other feature winners on Memorial Day at Boone were Michael Murphy in the IMCA Sunoco Stock Cars, Daniel Tasler in the Karl Chevrolet Northern SportMods and John Watson in the IMCA Sunoco Hobby Stocks.
    Feature results – 1. Mike Murphy Jr., Colona, Ill.; 2. Tyler Bruening, Decorah; 3. Jeff Aikey, Water*loo; 4. Ray Guss Jr., Milan, Ill.; 5. Luke Goedert, Guttenberg; 6. Ryan Giles, West Des Moines; 7. Jay Johnson, West Burlington; 8. Colby Springsteen, Wapello; 9. Drake Ostrom, Mo*line, Ill.; 10. Al Johnson, Story City; 11. Jason Hahne, Webster City; 12. Andy Eckrich, Oxford; 13. Denny Eckrich, Tiffin; 14. Darrel DeFrance, Marshalltown; 15. Justin Kay, Wheatland; 16. Joel Callahan, Dubuque; 17. Gary Webb, Blue Grass; 18. Chad Cooney, Des Moines; 19. Todd Cooney, Des Moines; 20. Dale Hackwell Jr., Washburn; 21. Josh Most, Red Oak; 22. Jeff Mitrisin, Os*kaloosa; 23. Dean Wagner, Evansdale.
    1st heat – 1. Murphy; 2. Hahne; 3. Callahan; 4. Kay; 5. Todd Cooney; 6. DeFrance; 7. Ostrom; 8. Denny Eckrich.
    2nd heat – 1. Goedert; 2. Aikey; 3. Springsteen; 4. Hackwell; 5. Guss; 6. Mitrisin; 7. Giles; 8. Most.
    3rd heat – 1. Al Johnson; 2. Chad Cooney; 3. Bruening; 4. Jay Johnson; 5. Andy Eckrich; 6. Wag*ner; 7. Webb.

Share This Page