NARA DirtCar Series Preparing For Historic Visit to Brownstown Speedway April 17th

Discussion in 'NARA Battle of the Bluegrass Series' started by jdearing, Apr 2, 2004.

  1. jdearing

    jdearing Administrator Staff Member

    Likes Received:
    Trophy Points:
    Brownstown, IN--A Midwest racing tradition that began in 1984 with the first ever STARS Late Model Series visit to the state of Indiana and the Midwest will begin a new tradition as the historic Brownstown (IN) Speedway will host its first ever North American Racing Association (NARA) DirtCar Series event on Saturday Night, April 17, 2004 as the 21st Annual Hoosier Dirt Classic will play host to dirt racings' newest entry into the world of late model racing. The event has a posted payoff of $7000 to win and will feature NARA standard double file restarts in A-main, another first for 52 year old Jackson County speedplant. The first ever Hoosier Dirt Classic held in 1984 at the Jackson County (IN) Fairgrounds quarter-mile dirt oval saw Hall of Famer Jeff Purvis score the win in the first ever sanctioned STARS race at Brownstown.

    Turn the calendar forward 20 years with the sanctioning of NARA as the track hosts the states' first ever sanctioned NARA event. The tradition rich race has seen eight National Dirt Late Model Hall of Fame inductees end up in victory lane. In recent years the race has been won by former Brownstown Speedway track champions Don O'Neal and John Gill as Gill snapped O'Neal's four-race win streak in the annual event. Overall O'Neal has five wins in the Hoosier Dirt Classic followed by Gill's four triumphs joining Hall of Famer Billy Moyer with two wins as the only drivers to win this race more than once. The list of former winners is impressive with Hall of Famers, Purvis, Larry Moore, Jack Boggs, Larry Phillips, Bob Pierce, Scott Bloomquist and C.J. Rayburn joining Moyer as the Hall of Famers who have won the Hoosier Dirt Classic. Other drivers who have won the Hoosier Dirt Classic include Davey Johnson and Shannon Babb.

    NARA founded in late 2003 hopes to expand the tradition of the Hoosier Dirt Classic with the series' first visit to Brownstown in April. "Brownstown Speedway has been a popular race track for a number of years and we hope to bring some more exciting racing to those drivers and fans with our first visit on April 17," said NARA series director, Spencer Wilson.

    For more information on dirt racings' newest touring series please log onto or to check information on Brownstown Speedway you can go to


    1984-Jeff Purvis
    1985-Billy Moyer
    1986-Larry Moore
    1987-Jack Boggs
    1988-Larry Phillips
    1989-John Gill
    1990-Bob Pierce
    1991-Scott Bloomquist
    1992-John Gill
    1993-Billy Moyer
    1994-Davey Johnson
    1995-Don O'Neal
    1996-John Gill
    1997-C.J. Rayburn
    1998-Shannon Babb
    1999-Don O'Neal
    2000-Don O'Neal
    2001-Don O'Neal
    2002-Don O'Neal
    2003-John Gill

Share This Page