Rare twinbill takes Deery Series, Hawkeye Dirt Tour to Tipton on June 12

Discussion in 'Super Late Models' started by jdearing, Jun 8, 2012.

  1. jdearing

    jdearing Administrator Staff Member

    Likes Received:
    Trophy Points:
    TIPTON, Iowa (June 8) – IMCA’s Deery Brothers Summer Series for Late Models and JR Motor*sports Hawkeye Dirt Tour for Modifieds make a rare joint appearance on June 12 at Cedar County Raceway.
    The Tuesday night twinbill at Tipton marks just the second time the two series have shared a race night card. The Late Model main event pays $2,000 to win and a minimum of $250 to start; the Modified feature is a qualifying event for the Fast Shafts All-Star Invitational ballot, paying $1,000 to win and a minimum of $150 to start.
    Pit gates and the grandstand both open at 5 p.m. Hot laps are at 6:30 p.m. and racing starts at 7 p.m.
    Spectator admission is $16 for adults, $13 for seniors, $5 for kids ages 6-12 and free for youngsters five and under. Pit passes are $25.
    Mike Murphy Jr. of Colona, Ill., has won three of the first seven Deery events and takes a 14 point ad*vantage over Andy Eckrich of Oxford and Jeff Aikey of Waterloo to Cedar County.
    There’s also a tie for second in the Hawkeye Dirt Tour standings as Richie Gustin of Gilman owns a two point advantage over Jeremy Mills of Garner and Mark Schulte of Delhi.
    Both series made separate visits to Cedar County in 2011: Ron Barker of Dubuque was the Hawkeye Dirt Tour winner in June while Nate Beuseling of Silvis, Ill., topped the Deery show in August.
    The one previous Deery-HDT doubleheader was last September at Farley Speed*way.
    Deery Brothers Summer Series top 20 point standings – 1. Mike Murphy Jr., Colona, Ill., 334; 2. Andy Eckrich, Oxford, and Jeff Aikey, Waterloo, both 320; 4. Tyler Bruening, Decorah, 314; 5. Jay Johnson, West Burlington, 299; 6. Joel Callahan, Dubuque, 294; 7. Darrel DeFrance, Mar*shalltown, 290; 8. Justin Kay, Wheatland, 283; 9. Colby Springsteen, Wapello, 280; 10. Ray Guss Jr., Milan, Ill., 271; 11. Denny Eckrich, Tiffin, 259; 12. Gary Webb, Blue Grass, 223; 13. Nate Beusel*ing, Silvis, Ill., 200; 14. Luke Goedert, Guttenberg, 186; 15. Jeff Mitrisin, Oskaloosa, 173; 16. Dean Wagner, Evansdale, 171; 17. Dan Shelliam, Hazel Green, Wis., 150; 18. Jason Hahne, Webster City, 138; 19. Doug Yates, Monticello, 128; 20. Bryan Klein, Cedar Rapids, and Joe Ross, Thomson, Ill., both 126.
    JR Motorsports Hawkeye Dirt Tour top 20 point standings – 1. Richie Gustin, Gilman, 108; 2. Jeremy Mills, Garner, and Mark Schulte, Delhi, both 106; 4. Jay Noteboom, Hinton, 99; 5. Rich Smith, Davenport, 92; 6. Mark Elliott, Webster City, 91; 7. Ronn Lauritzen, Jesup, 88; 8. Jeff Water*man, Quincy, Ill., 87; 9. Darin Duffy, Hazleton, 86; 10. Kelly Meyer, Big Rock, 84; 11. Ryan Dolan, Lisbon, 80; 12. Jimmy Gustin, Marshalltown, 75; 13. Jason Schoenberger, Russell, Kan., 50; 14. Mike Van Genderen, Newton, 49; 15. Jeff Ignaszewski, Wells, Minn., 47; 16. Cayden Carter, Oskaloosa, 44; 17. Ray Cox Jr., Maquoketa, and Vern Jackson, Waterloo, both 41; 19. Mike Hansen, Alton, 40; 20. J.J. Wise, Manly, and J.D. Auringer, Waterloo, both 39.

Share This Page