Shryock looks to extend Mayetta streak to six

Discussion in 'USMTS' started by jdearing, Mar 23, 2006.

  1. jdearing

    jdearing Administrator Staff Member

    Likes Received:
    Trophy Points:
    MAYETTA, Kan. (March 22) -- Kelly Shryock's drive for an unprecedented eighth O’Reilly Auto Parts United States Modified Touring Series title will resume this Friday and Saturday, March 24-25, at the Thunderhill Speedway in Mayetta, Kan.

    The high-banked clay oval has been kind to the Fertile, Iowa, pilot over the last two seasons where Shryock is unbeaten in the last five O’Reilly USMTS events there. Shryock's victory one year ago was his first of the 2005 season and allowed him to take over the top spot in the points standings -- a spot he never relinquished throughout the season.

    After a pair of top-5 finishes in the season-opening doubleheader at Junction Motor Speedway, the seven-time defending O’Reilly USMTS National Champion enters the 4th Annual Kansas Spring Fling tied for fourth in the O’Reilly National points standings and will be looking to put his familiar No. 3 Skyrocket back in the winners circle.

    Veteran Modified pro Mark Noble of Blooming Prairie, Minn., leads all points contenders coming into this weekend's race. Jon Tesch of Watertown, S.D., sits second in points with Ryan Ruter of Forrest City, Iowa, in third. Shryock is tied for fourth of Randy Timms of Wheatland, Okla.

    Looking to continue their chase for the national title, other O’Reilly USMTS drivers expected at this weekend's event include Tommy Myer, Steve Arpin, Johnny Bone Jr., Dustin Boney, Mike Chasteen, Clayton Christensen, Gary Clark, Justin Cooper, Mookie Cunningham, Michael Darnall, Scott Drake, Tony Fraise, Jason Friesen, Matt Gilbertson, Chevy Hadan, Al Hejna, Jim Horejsi, Jason Hughes, Marlin Kracht, Brett LaFollette, Kevin Larkins, Dean Mahlstedt, Jim Mathieson, Matt McDermid, Brad McEwan, Greg Metz, Alan Mondus, Scott Mullen, Jake Neal, Chris Oertel, Jay Poidinger, Josh Reisch, Jeff Schluetter, John Schwab, Chuck Stanton, Mike Steensma, Jeremy Tibben, Zack VanderBeek, Joshua Vinnedge, Nate Wasmund, Mike Wedelstadt, Tommy Weder Jr. and Ryan York.

    Expected Western Region competitors include John Allen, Matt Bonine, Reese Coffee, Jim Cole, Wade Cross, Mike Hansen, Dave Hardesty, Mike Johnson, Tim Karrick, Darrick Klima, Mike Lineberry, Jay Noteboom, Matt Richards, Johnny Saathoff, Ricky Stephan, Jason Thoennes and Scott Ward.

    Friday's "A" Main winner will pocket $2,000 while Saturday's winner will take home $3,000.

    Gates open at 4 p.m. on Friday, March 24, with hot laps at 6:30 and racing to follow. Grandstand general admission is $12 for adults and $4 for kids. On Saturday, March 25, gates open at 12 noon, with hot laps at 3 p.m. and racing at 3:30. Grandstand general admission is $15 for adults and $5 for kids. Children under 6 are admitted free both days. Pit passes are $25 Friday, $30 Saturday.

    Sunday, March 26, is reserved as a raindate if needed.

    USRA Stock Cars (formerly Factory Stocks) and USRA Hobby Stocks will also be on the racing card both days (no entry fee - pit pass only). The USRA Stock Car winner will earn $250 Friday and $400 Saturday. USRA Hobby Stocks will pay $200 to win on Friday and $300 to win on Saturday. This event will be a national points race for both USRA-sanctioned classes -- the first USRA points races of the 2006 season.

    The 4th Annual Kansas Spring Fling will be the third and fourth of 74 races on the 2006 schedule for the O’Reilly Auto Parts United States Modified Touring Series -- the third and fourth of 14 scheduled events comprising the Western Region slate.

    Thunderhill Speedway is located 14.6 miles north of U.S. Highway 24 on U.S. Highway 75 to 142nd Street, then 2.2 miles west.

    For more information, contact the USMTS office by calling 515-832-7944 or email Race Director Todd Staley at The O’Reilly Auto Parts United States Modified Touring Series is online at

    O’Reilly Auto Parts United States Modified Touring Series
    National Points Standings (top 20):

    1. 74 Mark Noble, Blooming Prairie, MN .... 205
    2. 14 John Tesch, Watertown, SD .... 196 (1 win)
    3. 555 Ryan Ruter, Forrest City, IA .... 188
    4. 3 Kelly Shryock, Fertile, IA .... 187
    4. 5 Randy Timms, Wheatland, OK .... 187
    6. 1f Jason Friesen, Sutton, NE .... 170 (1 win)
    7. 00eh Steve Arpin, Fort Frances, ON, CAN .... 164
    8. 26 Brad McEwan, Storm Lake, IA .... 159
    9. 12 Jason Hughes, Colcord, OK .... 140
    10. 65 Tommy Myer, Blooming Prairie, MN .... 139
    11. 4 Chevy Hadan, Waterloo, NE .... 136
    12. 1 Scott Mullen, Seymour, WI .... 126
    13. 4x Kevin Larkins, Greenwood, NE .... 125
    14. 98a John Allen, Chanute, KS .... 124
    15. 2 Tommy Weder Jr., Woodward, OK .... 118
    16. 21m Dean Mahlstedt, Clear Lake, IA .... 115
    17. 00 Joshua Vinnedge, Forreston, IL .... 107
    17. X Mike Wedelstadt, Hortonville, WI .... 107
    19. 17 Jeremy Tibben, Stanton, IA .... 101
    20. 35 Jeff Schluetter, New Hampton, IA .... 100


    USMTS TITLE SPONSOR: O’Reilly Auto Parts.

    USMTS OFFICIAL SPONSORS: American Race Tires, Holley Performance Products, Home Pride Companies, Intercomp, Marsh Racing Wheels, Olympic Fire Protection, R.A. Benson Motorsports, Real Racing Wheels, Reich Concrete, Rookies Rockin’ Sports Bar, SpeedNet Direct, UNIJIG, Yeager Machine.

    USMTS CONTINGENCY SPONSORS: AFCO Racing Products, Bassett Racing Wheel, Bell Racing, Belleville Motorsports, Bert Transmission, Boyer’s Engine Development, Dynatech Racing Exhaust, Edelbrock, Fast Shafts, GRT Race Cars, Hyperco, Intensitee Custom Clothing, Isky Racing Cams, KEVKO Oil Pans & Components, KSE Racing Products, Larson Racing Specialists, Quarter Master, QuickTime Performance Race Parts, RaceQuest, T.A.R. Race Car Bodies, US Brake.

Share This Page