DLMS Set For $50,000 Weekend

Discussion in 'Crate Late Models' started by CRUSAPR, Jun 29, 2006.


    CRUSAPR New Member

    Likes Received:
    Trophy Points:
    CLARKSVILLE, TN – The Dirt Late Model Series National Tour is set to compete in a three-race Holiday extravaganza over four days with over $50,000 in prize money up for grabs. If a driver can sweep all three races, it could be worth $15,000.

    The action begins on Saturday night at Duck River Speedway in Wheel, TN with a 40-lap $2,000-to-win show. The next stop is Thunderhill Raceway in Lawrenceburg, TN on Sunday night with a 50-lap $3,000-to-win event. The finale will be at Clarksville Speedway in Clarksville, TN on Monday and Tuesday night paying $7,500-to-win the 75-lap feature race.

    The Clarksville Speedway race could pay $10,000-to-win if the winner’s car is equipped with AFCO M2 Gas Shocks and AFCOIL Springs. The $2,500.00 Bonus Money is a part of the AFCO M2 $100,000 Challenge which puts up $5,000.00 bonus winnings at 20 events during 2006 season.

    Not only will the winning driver riding on AFCO Shocks and AFCOIL Springs receive a $2,500.00 bonus, but the authorized AFCO Distributor that supplied the winning driver with the AFCO products will also receive a $2,500.00 bonus.

    The AFCO M2 Challenge will be a part of not only the Tuesday night DLMS event at Clarksville Speedway, but also at the 2nd Annual World Crate Late Model Championship Race on December 16 at East Bay Raceway Park in Tampa, FL. Dirt Late Model Series officials have announced that they will open up the field for Sunday night’s National Touring event at Thunderhill Raceway to non-qualified cars, and have increased the starting field from 24 to 26 cars.

    At least two drivers that were qualified for the 50-lap $3,000-to-win event that was rained out on May 26, have said they will not be able to return for the Sunday night show, leaving two spots open, plus DLMS officials have added two more spots to the starting field.

    Non-qualified cars will now be eligible to enter the event, and qualify for a starting spot in a 12-lap B-Main Race. The top finishers in the B-Main will fill in the number of starting spots available, which at this point is four, to fill out the 26-car starting field. Cars that start the B-Main, but fail to transfer to the Feature Race will receive $50.00 tow money.

    Many of the top drivers are looking forward to returning to all three tracks where they have had success, or they are looking to improve on a past performance.

    Ronnie Johnson of Chattanooga, TN, who is third in the Dirt Late Model Series National point standings, will return to Duck River Speedway on July 1 after winning the series National event there on May 25. Johnson beat David Gentry of Lewisburg, TN in the main event. Gentry is second in points, and will be looking for another good finish at his home track.

    The Thunderhill Raceway event is a continuation of the May 26 DLMS National event that was rained out after 14-laps. The feature race will restart at lap one with fast qualifier Jeff Fields of Aragon, GA on the pole position, and 18-year-old “Young Gun” Jordy Nipper of Gray, GA starting on the outside of the front row.

    Fields is fifth in the Dirt Late Model Series National point standings, and was leading the May 26 Thunderhill race when the rains came. Nipper is a young driver on the move in DLMS National competition, and has just moved up to the tenth spot in the National points chase.

    The drivers that have already qualified for the Thunderhill race will be locked into the feature race, and non-qualified drivers will be eligible to compete in a special B-main race on Sunday night to earn the two new additional starting spots, and any spots that become open if an already qualified driver does not return for Sunday’s race.

    The two-day July 3-4 event at Clarksville Speedway will be the second visit for the Dirt Late Model Series to its home track, and the $7,500 winner’s share will be the largest so far this season. The race will have qualifying and heat races on July 3, and the B-Mains and the 75-lap Feature Race on July 4. Dirt Late Model Series National point leader Shannon Buckingham of Morristown, TN took the win at Clarksville Speedway on May 27, with Gentry finishing in the second spot.

    Other top ten Dirt Late Model Series National Touring drivers expected for the three-race series over the holiday weekend include Jeff Smith of Villanow, GA, Carnell Parker III of Clarksville, TN, Frankie Beard of Hartwell, GA, Zach Nichols of Cedartown, GA, and Jeff Purvis of Clarksville, TN.

    Joining the DLMS National Touring drivers will be some of the top Weekly Racing Series drivers from the West Region. Tony Albright, Steven Ashby, Brian Caudle, and Roger Brewer compete weekly at both Clarksville Speedway and Thunderhill Raceway on a weekly basis, and all of them are in the top 15 of the West Region.

    Duck River Speedway is located just north of U.S. Highway 64 in Wheel, TN on Haskins Chapel Road. For more information call 931-684-8200, or visit the track web site at

    Thunderhill Raceway is located north of Lawrenceburg, TN just off U.S. Highway 43 on Old Military Road. For more information call 931-964-2120, or visit the track web site at

    Clarksville Speedway is located on Needmore Road, just off Highway 79 at Exit 4 on I-24. For more information call 931-645-2523, or visit the track web site at

    For more information about the Dirt Late Model Series visit the series web site at

Share This Page