HomeDirt Late Model NewsNational All Star Racing Association Kicks Off 2011 at “The Bad Fast...

National All Star Racing Association Kicks Off 2011 at “The Bad Fast Taz”

NASRABerea, KY-March 21, 2011- The National All Star Racing Association will begin its 2011 championship on Saturday April 2 with a trip to the beautiful East Tennessee area at the Tazewell Speedway in Tazewell, TN for the 2nd Annual Charles Trammell Memorial, which will pay the winner $3,000 for their efforts.

The Saturday April 2 event at Tazewell Speedway will be the 2nd Annual Charles Trammell Memorial and will be the season opening events for both Tazewell Speedway and NASRA tour.  Events for the evening will include a full program of practice, time trials, qualifying heats, B-Mains, and the $3,000 to win 2nd Annual Charles Trammell Memorial A-Main event.  Local divisions in action at Tazewell Speedway on Saturday April 2 will be Modified Street, Classics, Street Stocks, and Four Cylinders.

Activities for the Saturday April 2 Tazewell Speedway will see the pit area open at 4:00 p.m., with the general admission area set to open at 5:00 p.m.  The drivers meeting is set for 6:30 p.m., with practice laps set to begin at 6:45 p.m., followed by time trials and race action.  Ticket prices for this event in the general admission area will be $16 for adults and children ages 10 and under will be admitted free.  A pit pass will cost $30.  Tazewell Speedway does accept Mastercard and/or Visa payments.

The National All Star Racing Association has made two previous appearances at Tazewell Speedway.  Billy Ogle, Jr. of Knoxville, TN is the defending champion of the Charles Trammell Memorial event from April of 2010 and Mike Marlar of Winfield, TN won the Buddy Rogers Memorial race at Tazewell in September of 2010.

The A-Main purse for the 2nd Annual Charles Trammell Memorial race at Tazewell Speedway is as follows:  1st– $3,000, 2nd– $1,500, 3rd– $1,000, 4th– $800, 5th– $700, 6th– $600, 7th– $500, 8th– $400, 9th– $375, 10th– $350, 11th– $340; 12th– $330, 13th– $320, 14th– $310, 15th– $300, 16th– $290, 17th– $280, 18th– $270, 19th– $260, 20th– $250, 21st– $240, 22nd– $230, 23rd– $225, 24th– $225.

The tire rules for the series will see the tire choice be open on the front, while on the rear the racers must use the Hoosier LM40 or 1600, American Racer MD56, and Goodyear 50 and these tires must durometer a minimum of 60.  The only exception to this will be for racers that choose to use the 602 or 604 crate engine and they have the option of using the Hoosier 1350 or American Racer 48 on the left rear only.  Weight rules for the series will see those cars with the 602 or 604 crate engine weight 2,100 lbs., cars using a steel block or CT525 engine will weight 2,200 lbs., and those cars with open aluminum engines will weigh 2,300 lbs.  All cars will utilize an 8” spoiler.

Known as “The Bad Fast Taz”, Tazewell Speedway is located just two miles northwest of Tazewell, TN.  Driving south on US 25-E, turn left and then left again onto Bacchus Road, then head 1.8 miles north, then 0.8 miles west and the track is located on the left.  For more information about Tazewell Speedway, visit the track’s webpage at www.tazewellspeedway.net or phone (423) 626-2222 on raceday.

Aaron Ridley of Chatsworth, GA is the two-time and defending National All Star Racing Association series champion.  Other drivers in the top five in final series points from 2010 were Skylar Marlar of Winfield, TN, David Webb of Nicholasville, KY, Arnie Fields of Wallingford, KY, and Justin Rattliff of Campbellsville, KY.

The National All Star Racing Association sanctions regional Super Late Model racing events at tracks in Indiana, Kentucky, Ohio, and Tennessee.  For more information about NASRA, visit the series webpage at www.nasra.com or call series race director Jeff Evans at (859) 358-7178.

National All Star Racing Association 2011 Series Sponsors:

*American Racer Tires South (www.americanraceronline.com)

*Budda Bert Transmission Sales and Service (www.berttransmission.com)

*C.J. Rayburn Race Cars (www.cjrayburn.com)

*Cruise With The Champions (www.cruisewiththechampions.com)

*Double H Race Fabrication (www.doublehracefab.com)

*JumpStart Communications (www.jumpstartcommunications.net)

*Wayne Bowen Racing Supply (www.waynebowenracing.com)

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Latest articles

Related articles

%d bloggers like this: