Home Uncategorized Looney Wins Again in MLRA action at Kansas' HPT.com Speedway!

Looney Wins Again in MLRA action at Kansas’ HPT.com Speedway!

Brad Looney
Brad Looney


April 8, 2011 (Buckner, Missouri) Brad Looney’s Federal Protection, Victory Circle by Moyer landed in the Lucas Oil MLRA Triple A Victory Lane for the second time in 2011. Looney lead from start to finish in the Spring Meltdown at I-80 Speedway last weekend, and lead all but one lap Friday night. Looney won his heat race at HPT.com Speedway in Topeka, Kansas to start the feature on the pole.

Looney did not breeze into victory lane. Four yellow flags in four laps slowed the pace at first, but the final 31 laps were contested caution free. John Anderson made a charge off of turn two, late in the race, above Looney and briefly took the lead. Looney then changed his line and battled back to the front. The action was feverish between Purkey, who was the night’s KRC Hard Charger advancing from 18th to 3rd, Stovall, Phillips, Jackson Jr. and Whitwell. These five were several lengths back from the top two cars but, battled for the duration in and around lapped traffic.

Heat race winners included, RC Whitwell, John Anderson, Brad Looney, Chris Simpson and Terry Phillips. The top 16 drivers of the 41 late models in the pits started the Lucas Cattle Company A Feature. Three drivers would transfer from each of two B Features. In the Sunoco Race Fuels B Feature, Bill Koons, Delbert Smith and Denny Eckrich would take the top three places to advance to the feature event. The Hoosier Racing Tire B Feature number two, would find Al Purkey, David Turner and Kyle Berck up front to take the next three spots. Series provisional the 58 of Dave Eckrich and the 50 of Joe Kosiski.

Lucas Oil Heat 1:1. RC Whitwell (Tucson, AZ), 2. Jason Pursley (Hermitage, MO), 3. Al Humphrey (Giltner, NE), 4. Chad Simpson (Mt Vernon, IA), 5. David Turner (Adrian, MO), 6. Chris Spieker (Massena, IA), 7. Delbert Smith (Wichita, KS), 8.Kurt Kile (Nichols, IA), 9. Robbie Andersen (Blair, NE)

Impact Signs Awnings and Wraps Heat 2:1. John Anderson (Omaha, NE), 2. Tony Jackson, Jr (Lebanon, MO), 3. Corey Zeitner (Bellevue, NE), 4. Justin Zeitner (LaVista, NE), 5. Bryant Goldsmith (Corning, IA), 6. Shawn Harker (Nebraska City, NE), 7. DUSTIN REEH (Missouri Valley, IA), 8. Shane Florence (Plattsburg, MO)

Weld Wheels Heat 3:1. Brad Looney (Republic, MO), 2. Jason O’Brien (Atlantic, IA), 3. Alan Vaughn (Belton, MO), 4. Al Purkey (Coffeyville, KS), 5. Kyle Berck (Marquette, NE), 6. Denny Eckrich (Tiffin, IA), 7. Austin Siebert (Grandview, MO), 8. Joe Kosiski (Omaha, NE)

Schoenfeld Headers Heat 4:1. Chris Simpson (Oxford, IA), 2. Nick Marolf (Moscow, IA), 3. Matt Furman (Iowa City, IA), 4. Jeremy Payne (Springfield, MO), 5. Bill Koons (Omaha, NE), 6. Ronny Hollingsworth (North, AL), 7. Justin Asplin (Birch Tree, MO), 8. Dustin Walker (Belton, MO)

Fast Track Photos Heat 5:1. Terry Phillips (Springfield, MO), 2. Jesse Stovall (Galena, MO), 3. Chris Smyser (Lancaster, MO), 4. Dave Eckrich (Oxford, IA), 5. Matt Johnson (Archie, MO), 6. Billy Koons Jr. (Omaha, NE), 7. STUART STONEY (CRESTON, IA), 8. Mike Collins (Council Bluffs, IA)

Lucas Oil MLRA Contingency Awards for April 2, 2011:
Performance Bodies: 56 Tony Jackson Jr.
KRC Hard Charger: 33 Al Purkey
KRC Hard Luck: 77 Justin Asplin
Weld Wheels: 40 Shawn Harker
BSB Manufacturing: 22 Alan Vaughn
R2C Performance Filters: 14 Kyle Berck
Keizer Wheels: 3 Mike Collins
SAFERACER: 51 Billy Koons Jr.
Racing Optics: 58 Dave Eckrich
Rod End Supply: 24 Bryant Goldsmith and 56 Chris Spieker

Sunoco Race Fuels B Feature 1:1. Bill Koons (Omaha, NE), 2. Delbert Smith (Wichita, KS), 3. Denny Eckrich (Tiffin, IA), 4. Justin Zeitner (LaVista, NE), 5. Chris Spieker (Massena, IA), 6. Matt Johnson (Archie, MO), 7. Dustin Walker (Belton, MO), 8. STUART STONEY (CRESTON, IA), 9. Robbie Andersen (Blair, NE), 10. DUSTIN REEH (Missouri Valley, IA), 11. Shane Florence (Plattsburg, MO), 12. Bryant Goldsmith (Corning, IA), 13. Chris Smyser (Lancaster, MO)

Hoosier Racing Tires B Feature 2:1. Al Purkey (Coffeyville, KS), 2. David Turner (Creighton, MO), 3. Kyle Berck (Marquette, NE), 4. Kurt Kile (Nichols, IA), 5. Ronny Hollingsworth (North, AL), 6. Joe Kosiski (Omaha, NE), 7. Shawn Harker (Nebraska City, NE), 8. Austin Siebert (Grandview, MO), 9. Justin Asplin (Birch Tree, MO), 10. Billy Koons Jr. (Omaha, NE), 11. Dave Eckrich (Cosgrove, IA), 12. Mike Collins (Council Bluffs, IA)

Lucas Cattle Company A Feature:1. Brad Looney (Republic, MO), 2. John Anderson (Omaha, NE), 3. Al Purkey (Coffeyville, KS), 4. Jesse Stovall (Galena, MO), 5. Tony Jackson, Jr (Lebanon, MO), 6. Terry Phillips (Springfield, MO), 7. RC Whitwell (Tucson, AZ), 8. Denny Eckrich (Tiffin, IA), 9. David Turner (Creighton, MO), 10. Kyle Berck (Marquette, NE), 11. Nick Marolf (Moscow, IA), 12. Jason Pursley (Hermitage, MO), 13. Jason O’Brien (Atlantic, IA), 14. Dave Eckrich (Cosgrove, IA), 15. Joe Kosiski (Omaha, NE), 16. Bill Koons (Omaha, NE), 17. Alan Vaughn (Belton, MO), 18. Corey Zeitner (Bellevue, NE), 19. Chris Simpson (Oxford, IA), 20. Jeremy Payne (Springfield, MO), 21. Al Humphrey (Giltner, NE), 22. Chad Simpson (Mt Vernon, IA), 23. Delbert Smith (Wichita, KS), 24. Matt Furman (Iowa City, IA)

Saturday night April 9th is Lucas Oil Speedway’s opening night. Gates will open at 5:00 PM with hot laps at 6:30 PM, racing at 7:00 PM. Adult Admission at the gate will be just $20 with Seniors and Active Military only $15. Juniors (6-15) will be $5 and Kids 5 and under are always FREE at Lucas Oil Speedway. Advanced Tickets are available by clickinghttp://lucasoilspeedway.showclix.com/ .Show Your AAA Membership Card at the gate and receive $3 off any Adult or Senior General Admission Ticket. Pit Pass pricing is set at $30. Family Passes are priced at only $40 for this event, which includes entry for two adults (age 16 and up) and up to three youth (ages 6-15), discounts on kids meals, gift shop merchandise, and funnel cakes.

Lucas Oil Speedway goes all out when the Lucas Oil MLRA comes to Wheatland! Saturday night will feature special guest Miss Missouri 2010, Erika Hebron, live music from Rideshy, inflatables on the midway for the kids, Rockstar Energy Drink Late Model Simulator and fireworks after the show! For more information about the Diamond of Dirt Tracks visit www.LucasOilSpeedway.com .

Al Purkey 2010 Lucas Oil MLRA Champion captured his first Lucas Oil Speedway win last year when the series traveled to Wheatland in April. Dave Eckrich of Cosgrove, Iowa finished 3rd in Lucas Oil MLRA points last season and captured his first ever series win at the Diamond of Dirt Tracks last August.

Visit the series website www.MLRAracing.com for the most up to date information on the Lucas Oil MLRA.

The Lucas Oil MLRA (Midwest Latemodel Racing Association) sanctions regional Super Dirt Late Model touring series events in Missouri, Kansas, Oklahoma, Nebraska, and Iowa.

For all the latest news and information on the Lucas Oil MLRA please visit us on the web at www.MLRAracing.com or by calling the series office at (816) 650-5063 or (816) 305-6572.

The Lucas Oil MLRA would like to thank the sponsors of the 2011 Tour including Lucas Oil Products, AAA Missouri, Hoosier Race Tires, Lucas Cattle Company, Hatfield Racing Engines, Larry Shaw Race Cars, AFCO Racing Products, GRT Race Cars, Powertrain Industries, Sunoco Race Fuels, Bodee’s Race Bodies, Outpace Racing Products,Fast Track Photos, Weld Racing Wheels, Impact Signs and Lighting, Rod End Supply, Racing Optics, Schoenfeld Headers, Kluhsman Racing Components, Performance Bodies, ATL Fuel Cells, Bilstein Shocks, RacinDirt.com, BSB Manufacturing, MasterSbilt, R2C Performance Products, SAFERACER, Keizer Wheels,

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Latest articles

Related articles

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
%d bloggers like this: