Home Dirt Late Model News Hoosier WRS D55 Tire Rule For John Knutz Springfield Raceway LateModel Event/Phillips...

    Hoosier WRS D55 Tire Rule For John Knutz Springfield Raceway LateModel Event/Phillips Looking for 1st Series Win of Season

    Springfield RacewaySpringfield,Mo-This Sat nights John Kuntz Memorial LateModel Special at the SpringfieldRaceway is a co-sanctioned event by both the MARS(Mid-American Racing Series) and the Lucas Oil MLRA(MidWest LateModel Racing Association) as both forces join together to present what is quickly becoming a must see for any Latemodel fan.

    The tire rule for this Sat event will be Hoosier WRS D55’s on all 4 corners.Both Series will be giving Series points for this event as another star-studded field will attempt to make the starting grid.Springfield’s Terry Phillips is the defending event champion and would like nothing better than to be able to repeat as this event carries a special meaning to the defending MARS Champion.”Its a homecoming here in Springfield,I started my racing career on this very ground in a Modified.The track is different,but alot better as you can run 2-3 wide here most any time.John Kuntz was a special man and not only a sponsor,but a very dear friend.

    Phillips,who is looking for his first series win in either the MARS or MLRA Circuit this season currently rides 2nd in the current MARS Series standing behind Republic’s Brad Looney and 4th in the MLRA Series standings as Jesse Stovall heads up the MLRA Point Standings.

    So far this season in the MARS Series,Tennessee’s Ronnie Johnson,Illinois Dennis Erb Jr,Galena’s Jesse Stovall(2 wins),Al Purkey and Lebanon’s Brandon McCormick have claimed victories.

    In the Lucas Oil MLRA Series,last season’s points runner-up Brad Looney of Republic has gathered 2 win while Iowa’s Chad Simpson and defending MLRA Champion Al Purkey have claimed wins.

    Currently the top 5 in the MARS Series has Looney,Phillips,Stovall,Tony Jackson Jr of Lebanon and Jeremy Payne of Springfield in the top 5.Payne is a 2-time Kuntz Memorial winner.

    On the MLRA side of points,Stovall known for his outstanding Modified talent and nicknamed “The Undertaker” has a slim lead of Purkey of Coffeyville,Kansas while Nebraska’s Kyle Berck will be making his first ever visit to the SpringfieldRaceway.berck one of the top guns of Midwest Dirt LateModel Racing can run both the small tracks and bigger tracks.Phillips sets fourth in the standings while Omaha’s John Anderson rounds out the top 5.Anderson has been to Springfield before and really comes on strong in the latter stages of the races.

    This is the first of two events co-sanctioned by both Series(The Larry Phillips Memorial being the other) at the track quickly known for its 2-3 wide action week in and week out at the track known as the Quick-Quarter which will be held in Sept.

    Pitgates open at 3PM with the Grandstand Gates opening at 5PM.Local drivers meeting for the support classes which include the USRA Modifieds,SportMods,Midwest Modz and Legends will be at 5:50 while hotlaps are slated for 6:15.Racing to start at 7PM.

    Grandstand admission is only $20 for this event while pitpasses are $35.Kids prices in the grandstands are $5 for ages 6-12 and under 6 are Free.

    Raceday phone is 417-863-0097 or you can text SPRINGFIELDRACEWAY 368674 for updates.

    More information can be gathered at WWW.SpringfieldRaceway.Com or contact Jerry Hoffman at 417-673-7426


    Print Friendly, PDF & Email

    Latest articles

    Macon Speedway Set For Midgets & Fireworks Saturday Night

    (Macon, IL) The excitement level is high for the return of Midgets to Macon Speedway this coming Saturday, July 4 for a holiday special...

    ‘Midwest Sheet Metal Caution Flag’ to Fly Again During 2021 Keyser Manufacturing Wild West Shootout

    QUEEN CREEK, Ariz. (July 3, 2020) — After making its debut during the 2020 Keyser Manufacturing Wild West Shootout presented by O’Reilly Auto Parts,...

    Richard Frost, Trent Young, Corey Dunn, Tony Cruse & Michael Rittenberry take Clarksville Speedway wins!

    July 2nd, 2020 Clarksville Speedway Late Models Feature: Finish Start Driver Points 1 4 Richard Frost (15) Clarksville, Tn. 65 2 5 Oakley Johns (C6) Hohenwald, Tn. 59 3 3 Gavin Schmidt (19) Cumberland Furnace, Tn. 58 4 6 Larry Barber Jr. (54Jr) Hopkinsville, Ky. 57 5 2 Caleb Ashby (61) Cunningham, Tn. 56 6 1 David Seibers (18) Chapel...

    Jason Jameson & Ryan Thomas take Florence Speedway wins!

    July 2nd, 2020 Florence Speedway Late Models   1st HEAT FINISH 10 LAP 1 4g KODY EVANS 2 28 TYLER CARPENTER 3 1am AUSTYN MILLS 4 83 SCOTT JAMES 5 49 BILLY GREEN 6 15 JON HENRY 7 71r ROD CONLEY 8 9 CHRIS SHANNON NR 28 MIKE SIMPSON    2nd HEAT FINISH 10 LAP 1 1g DEVIN GILPIN 2 71c R.J. CONLEY 3 32 JAMES RICE 4 13w DAVID...

    Related articles

    Print Friendly, PDF & Email