Home Dirt Late Model News Steve Francis Debuts New MasterSbilt Race Car with Third Place Finish at...

Steve Francis Debuts New MasterSbilt Race Car with Third Place Finish at 34 Raceway

Lucas Oil Late Model SeriesBURLINGTON, IA – Steve Francis of Ashland, KY debuted a brand new MasterSbilt Race Car this past Friday Night in the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series-sanctioned event at 34 Raceway in Burlington, IA. Steve nearly had a clean sweep of the evening’s activities as he set fast time among the 37 entrants in the Red Buck Cigars Time Trials with a lap of 14.954 seconds He then went on to dominate his heat race which earned him the pole position.

In the 50-lap main event Steve took the lead on lap two from Brad Neat. Steve then held the point until Brian Birkhofer, who started fourth grabbed the lead momentarily from Steve on lap six, but one circuit later, Steve was back in front. Steve would hold what looked like a commanding lead until lap 22 when Birkhofer caught him and re-took the lead from him.

Birkhofer then went to win the race followed by two-time series champion, Scott Bloomquist. Steve would come home in third followed by Jimmy Owens and John Blankenship. It was the best finish of the season for Steve on the LOLMDS tour and that performance has vaulted him into fifth place in the championship point’s standings. Saturday’s race at La Salle (IL) Speedway was postponed to September 27th because of inclement weather.

Steve and the rest of the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series regulars will head to Batesville Motor Speedway in Locust Grove, AR for the Inaugural Bad Boy 98 this weekend. On Thursday Night, May 19th will be a special practice session, followed on Friday Night, May 20th with red Buck Cigar Time Trials and Heat races. On Saturday Night, May 21st will be the B-Mains followed by the $10,000 to win main event. The trophy for the winner will be a 2011 Chevrolet Camaro. Also a lucky fan in attendance will win a 2011 Ford Mustang.

For more information on this weekend’s racing action log onto www.batesvillemotorspeedway.net and www.lucasdirt.com.

Current Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series Championship Points Standings

1. Scott Bloomquist (Mooresburg, TN) – 1440
2. Jimmy Owens (Newport, TN) – 1300
3. Don O’Neal (Martinsville, IN) – 1265
4. Earl Pearson Jr. (Jacksonville, FL) – 1115
5. Steve Francis (Ashland, KY) – 1100
6. Mike Marlar (Winfield, TN) – 1080
7. Dale McDowell (Chickamauga, GA) – 1065
8. Bub McCool (Vicksburg, MS) – 1045
9. Dennis Erb Jr. (Carpentersville, IL) -1045
10. Brad Neat (Dunnville, KY) – 1040

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Latest articles

David Stremme Preps for Drydene World Short Track Championship at Charlotte

LETHAL WEAPON: Stremme Preps for Fifth Drydene WSTC Start, Tough Competition at Charlotte UMP Modified veteran looks to end string of success at the Drydene...

Kyle Larson Set for World of Outlaws Late Model Debut at Charlotte

YUNG MONEY: Kyle Larson Debuting with World of Outlaws Late Models at Last Call The Dirt Racing Sensation, with 42 wins in 2020, will pull...

Modster Mash entry list boasts 50 national championships

We’re now just hours away from the biggest four days in dirt modified racing history when four monstrous events happen Halloween Weekend with the...

Clarksville Speedway Results – 10/25/20

Clarksville Speedway 357 602 Crates A-Feature Finish Start Driver Points 1 4 Brandon Tibaldi (16) Almo, Ky. 65 2 1 Elvin Sawyer (19) Tennessee Ridge, Tn. 59 3 6 Levi Scarbrough (51) Murray, Ky. 58 4 3 Matthew Rollins (46) Princeton, Ky. 57 5 5 Kris Lafever (8) Winchester, Tn. 56 6 2 Gavin Minnehan (115) Woodlawn, Tn. 50   Crate...

Related articles

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
%d bloggers like this: