Peoria SpeedwayBruce, Siegel, Barnes, Jr and Butterfield pick up wins       

(Peoria,IL) On a muggy Saturday night inCentral Illinois, and with a full moon overhead, the action was just as hot on-track.

Current UMP Late Model track point leader Steve Lance, Jr. steered his Rayburn to his 2nd straight feature win, but had to fight off Jason Jaggers in an entertaining race. Lance, Jr. immediately jumped to the top of the racetrack from his outside front row starting spot and began to open up a big lead over pole-sitter John Gardner, Jr. Gardner, Jr. was challenged by  Shane Allen, who took over 2nd on lap 12. As Lance Jr. was driving away from the field, Allen slowed in turn 4 on lap 14, bringing out a caution and wiping out a huge lead.

Mike Mullvain inherited 2nd on the re-start, but was pressured by Jaggers, who made the pass the next lap. Lance had stayed on the bottom for the first time all night, and Jaggers closed quickly using the middle of the track. Jaggers pulled even on several occasions, but Lance decided to go back to the top of the track as Jaggers hugged the tires. Fans were treated to a classic-high-low battle until a lap 26 caution slowed the action.

On the re-start, Lance went high and Jaggers low as the war resumed. Lance jumped the cushion in turn 4 with 2 to go, but held off Jaggers for the win. Mullvain finished 3rd, with Charley Hess and Gerry Reeder, Jr. completing the top 5.

A worn-out Lance told thePeoriacrowd, “That was a tough one there! I didn’t know what to do. I have 4 crew guys, and they were all giving me different hand signals on where I should run. I went to the bottom but Jason ran me down so I got back on top and jumped the cushion a few times. Give Jason a lot of credit, he gave me all I could handle and drove a terrific race.”

Erik Bruce returned to his winning ways in the UMP Modified division, but had to fight off Ray Bollinger, who tried every line possible to get by Bruce. Bollinger pulled even with Bruce on lap 16 and looked to have the lead until the 5th caution of the race on lap 16 slowed the action. Bollinger then had to fight off Mark Johnson, with a final caution forcing a lap 19 re-start. Johnson drove by Bollinger as the white flag flew, but could never catch Bruce and ended up 2nd. Bollinger, Donovan Lodge, and Dan Turner rounded out the top 5.

“We finally had a good night,” Bruce said. “We’ve had lots of bad luck, so hopefully this turns it around. We had a good car and a good starting spot, but the motor kinda stumbled there on that last re-start. We will take it, though.”

Jack Siegel fought off Brian Crebo in another caution-filled race to won his 7th Limited Late Model feature of the year. Siegel has dominated at times this year, but Crebo made him earn it as he pressured Siegel heavily over the last 5 laps.

“That was one long race with all those cautions”, Siegel said. “I didn’t think Crebo was that close but he hit my quarter panel there on the last lap so I knew he was there.”

Chuck Barnes, Jr. led flag-to-flag in the Street Stock division, but the race featured a race-long battle between Paula Harrison, John Farris and Terry Miller for 2nd. Farris ended up in the runner-up spot, with Miller, Harrison and Bobby Eskew the top 5.

“By my calculations, this win should put us first in the nation in (UMP) points”, said Barnes, Jr. “We finished 3rd last night and won tonight so we should be in the lead”.

Kenny Butterfield held off chief rival Jeremy Kingsley for his 7th Hornet feature win of the year, leading flag-to-flag. Zac Bollinger, Matt Musgrave and Brent Terry completed the top 5.

Fans will be treated to a double-header next weekend at Peoria Speedway with a regular UMP DirtCar Series racing program next Saturday, July 23. The 2nd Annual Kitchen Cooked Potato Chips “Sprint Car Summer Shootout”, featuring the Ideal Ready Mix Sprint Invaders Series, will headline the action on Sunday, July 24. UMP Modifieds, Illinois Lightning Sprints and Hornets will all be in action with the Iowa-based 360 Sprint Car Series.



1. 25-Steve Lance,Jr.,Cuba

2. 32J-Jason Jaggers, Wyanet

3. 4-Mike Mullvain, Bartonville

4. 40-Charley Hess, Bartonville

5. 65-Gerry Reeder, Jr., Bartonville

6. 38C- John Gardner Jr.,Peoria

7. 4g-Bob Gardner,Peoria

8. 93-Kevin Paul.Colchester

9. 50-Tim Faulkenberry, Mapleton

10. 16-Shane Allen,East Peoria

11. T2-Todd Bennett,Peoria

12. 95-Frank Shickel, Sr.,Bloomington

13. 10-Roger Rebholtz, Sparland

14. 46-Tim Rivers,Salem,Indiana


FAST TIME: Mullvain (12.316)

HEAT 1: 1. Mullvain 2. J Gardner, Jr.  3. Jaggers  4. Hess  5. Reeder, Jr.  6. Paul 7. Bennett

HEAT 2: 1. Lance, Jr. 2. Allen 3. B. Gardner 4. Rebholtz 5. Rivers 6. Faulkenberry 7. Shickel


1. 2-Erik Bruce,Norwood

2. 26J-Mark Johnson, Glasford

3. 77-Ray Bollinger, Kewanee

4. 32-Donovan Lodge,Moline

5. 38-Steve Turner, Princeville

6. 59-Johnny Parlier,Peoria

7. 40JR-Mike Chasteen, Jr.,East Peoria

8. 144-Ryan Cary, Catlin

9. 23T-Billy Tuckwell, Metamora

10. 00-Dave Kalb,Peoria

11. 89-Noah Faw,HannaCity

12. 18-Billy Puckett, Metamora

13. Z1-Zac Oedewaldt,HannaCity

14. 44-John Smith,Peoria

15. 56-Joe Cook,SpringBay

16. 44x-Roger Cary, Catlin

17. M1-Dale Munson,Fairview

18. 01-Don Kiger,Springfield

19. 5- Dan Glover,Peoria

20. D3-Matt Dillon,West Peoria

HEAT 1: 1. Bruce 2. Bollinger 3. Ryan Cary 4. Dillon 5. Chasteen, Jr. 6. Doug Sauder (Princeville)  7. John Winters (Canton)  8. Smith  9. Tuckwell

HEAT 2: 1. Cook 2. Turner 3. Parlier 4. Kalb 5. Munson  6. Kiger 7. Zane Oedewaldt (HannaCity) 8. Allen Etherton (Pekin)

HEAT 3: 1. Lodge 2. Johnson 3. Roger Cary 4. Faw 5. Zac Oedewaldt  6. Puckett 7. Glover 8. Mike Mennell (Peoria) DNS

SEMI 1: 1. Chasteen, Jr. 2. Munson 3. Glover 4. Kiger 5. Winters 6. Tuckwell 7. Zac Oedewaldt 8. Puckett 9. Smith 10. Etherton


1. A2-Jack Siegel,Pekin

2. 99-Brian Crebo,HannaCity

3. 0-Zac Kuhel,Pekin

4. 00-Jason Weyeneth,Peoria

5. 15-SteveShannon, Bartonville

6. 22c-Bobby Cowell, Sr.,East Peoria

7. F4-Chris Feger,MarquetteHeights

8. 18J-Joey Markle,Peoria

9. 73s-Scott Schoener, Flanagan

10. 45-Dwayne Walters, Metamora

11. 01-Jim Sellner,PeoriaHeights

12. 93-Amanda Ellis, Washington

13. 28M-Matt Mills,East Peoria

14. 65T-Mike Reeder,Peoria

15. 72-Scott Kelsey, Bartonville

16. 51-Cameron Guidi,HannaCity

17. 7-Rick Erwin,Peoria

18. 5-John Traver,Peoria

19. 55-CJ VanBeveran,East Galesburg(DNS)

HEAT 1: 1. Siegel 2.Shannon. 3. Schoener 4. Cowell  5. Mills 6. Kelsey 7.Ellis 8. Van Beveran 9. Traver 10. Erwin

HEAT 2: 1. Crebo 2. Weyeneth 3. Kuhel 4. Markle. 5. Feger 6. Walters 7. Guidi 8. Reeder 9. Sellner

PRO STREET(15 cars)

1. B22-Chuck Barnes, Jr.,Peoria

2. 90-John Farris,Peoria

3. 0-Terry Miller,Lincoln

4. 4h-Paula Harrison, Germantown Hills

5. 19e-Bobby Eskew,LakeFork

6. 68-Wally Zander, Groveland

7. 75M-Darrell Matthews, Jr,Roanoke

8. 22x-Bob Cowell, Jr.,East Peoria

9. 30-NateGriffin,Peoria

10. V8-Jeff Massey, Bartonville

11. 124-Jim Bolen,Pekin

12.6S-SquoriaRivers,East Peoria

13. c7-Mike Cusack, Sr., Edwards

14. 52-Michael Wells,Peoria

15. 63p-Greg Sauder,Peoria(DNS)


HEAT: 1.Harrison2. Barnes 3. Cusack 4.Griffin5. Cowell 6. Bolen 7. Rivers 8. Wells

HEAT 2: 1. Farris. 2. Miller 3. Eskew 4. Zander 5. Massey 6. Sauder 7. Matthews

UMP HORNETS (12 cars)

1. 24-Kenny Butterfield,KingstonMines

2. K2-Jeremy Kingsley,Peoria

3. 77-Zac Bollinger, Kewanee

4. 13-Matt Musgrave,Peoria

5. 39-Brent Terry,Peoria

6. J25-Jerry Sally,Peoria

7. 65B-Don Britton, Creve Coeur

8. 3s-David Sills,Peoria

9. B5-Tyler Benson, Creve Coeur

10. 88B-Billy Snider, Elmwood

11. c7-Mike Cusack, Jr., Edwards

12. WFO- Tyler Etherton, Bartonville

HEAT 1: 1. Sally 2. Snider  3. Cusack  4. Musgrave 5. Sills  6. Etherton

HEAT 2: 1.Kingsley 2. Butterfield 3. Bollinger 4. Benson 5. Terry 6.Britton


Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Latest articles

Related articles

%d bloggers like this: