Home IMCA Late Model Series News Deery Brothers Series News Appropriately, Guss wins Hershel Roberts Memorial Deery feature

    Appropriately, Guss wins Hershel Roberts Memorial Deery feature

    Quad City RacewayEAST MOLINE, Ill. (July 20) – Ray Guss Jr. won one for the team Wednesday night at Quad City Speedway.

    Guss chased down long-time leader Mike Murphy Jr., then held off Nate Beuseling to capture the Hershel Roberts Memorial Deery Brothers Summer Series feature. The $2,000 IMCA Late Model tour win was the first of the season for Guss and came on the night when fans at East Moline honored his late friend and car owner.

    Beuseling, Murphy, Charlie McKenna and Terry Neal completed the top five. Andy Eckrich ran 10th and now leads Neal by two points and Guss by four in the updated standings.

    Already into lapped traffic 10 circuits into the 40-lapper, Murphy settled into the high line and had McKenna in pursuit when the first caution came out on lap 13.

    Both Neal and Guss passed McKenna on the ensuing restart and Guss followed the inside groove to second by midway.

    The frontrunners were running with lapped cars before cautions on laps 26 and 28. A three-car battle between Murphy, Guss and Beuseling followed, with Guss finally catching and passing Murphy with six laps left.

    A five-car tangle brought out the final yellow the next time around. Guss stuck to the bottom for his 22nd career Deery win. Beuseling took over the runner-up spot in the late going.

    Roberts, a long-time driver and Quad City Speedway Hall of Fame inductee, died this spring at the age of 68. He and his son Ken fielded the car Guss drove to IMCA national, series, state and three local track titles in 2010.

    Jay Johnson won the $250 Sunoco Race Fuels feature qualifier drawing.

    The next event in the silver anniversary tour takes Deery drivers to Knoxville Raceway for their Harris Clash show on Tuesday, July  26. Pit gates open at 3:30 p.m., the grandstand opens at 6:30 p.m. and racing starts at 7:15 p.m.”

    McKenna will have his grill car on hand for the Partnering For A Purpose cookout at Pella Motors from 11 a.m.-1 p.m. that day. Fareway provides the complimentary pork loins and hot dogs.

    Feature results –

    1. Ray Guss Jr., Milan;

    2. Nate Beuseling, Silvis;

    3. Mike Murphy, Colona;

    4. Charlie McKenna, Clear Lake, Iowa;

    5. Terry Neal, Ely, Iowa;

    6. Justin Reed, Quincy;

    7. Shawn Mulvany, Moline;

    8. Tom Darbyshire, Morning Sun, Iowa;

    9. Mike Zemo Jr., Davenport, Iowa;

    10. Andy Eckrich, Iowa City, Iowa;

    11. Matt Ryan, Davenport, Iowa;

    12. Matt Strassheim, Burlington, Iowa;

    13. Jay Johnson, West Burlington, Iowa;

    14. Tyler Bruening, Decorah, Iowa;

    15. Darrel DeFrance, Marshalltown, Iowa;

    16. Todd Malmstrom, Silvis;

    17. T.J. Criss, Oskaloosa, Iowa;

    18. Sam Halstead, New London, Iowa;

    19. Colby Springsteen, Morning Sun, Iowa;

    20. Eric Sanders, Moline;

    21. Gary Webb, Blue Grass, Iowa;

    22. Jon Passick, Waterloo, Iowa;

    23. Mike Cothron, Moline;

    24. Mike Garland, Morrison.

    1st heat – 1. Cothron; 2. Sanders; 3. Beuseling; 4. Mulvany; 5. Webb; 6. Reed; 7. Criss; 8. DeFrance. 2nd heat – 1. Garland; 2. Murphy; 3. Guss; 4. Bruening; 5. Malmstrom; 6. Ryan; 7. Eckrich; 8. Zemo. 3rd heat – 1. Springsteen; 2. Darbyshire; 3. McKenna; 4. Neal; 5. Strassheim; 6. Passick; 7. Johnson; 8. Halstead.

    Print Friendly, PDF & Email

    Latest articles

    Danny Burton’s Hoosier Race Report – 8/8/20

    The Hoosier Race Report: Sprint Week Aftermath What follows is an informal listing of random thoughts I’ve had since the opening night of Indiana Sprint...

    POWRi Lucas Oil WAR Equips for Central Missouri Speedway

    Belleville, IL. (08/10/2020) For the first time since 2014, the POWRi Lucas Oil WAR Sprint League will return to Central Missouri Speedway in Warrensburg,...

    Pair of Top-10’s for Sheppard in WoO Wisconsin Swing

    Four-Day Swing Through PA and OH Next for Rocket1 SHINNSTON, W.Va. (08/10/20) – Closing out a grueling 40-day stint, Brandon Sheppard drove the Valvoline No....

    Related articles

    Print Friendly, PDF & Email