Home Missouri Butler Motor Speedway Shawn Nations, Matt Johnson, Jerry Brown, Cody Clark, and Gary Newport take...

Shawn Nations, Matt Johnson, Jerry Brown, Cody Clark, and Gary Newport take Friday Night Butler Motor Speedway Victories!

Butler Motor Speedway
Butler, Missouri
September 2, 2011

After yet another sizzling summer day in Western Missouri, fans and drivers were ready for a nice evening of racing action at Butler Motor Speedway with comfortable evening temperatures rolling in around race time Friday night. Thirty-nine cars checked in for the night’s action on the 3/8th mile speedway in five racing divisions.

In modified action, Lucas Dobbs and Shawn Nations claimed the preliminary heat races and the front row positions for the 15-lap feature event, which turned out to be an eventful way to finish off the night. After several botched attempts at the start of the race, which unfortunately led to an early ending of the night for some strong runners, including Johnny Fennewald, Chases Jones, and Kayleigh Archer, the race was able to get underway. Nations held the top spot with Dobbs hounding him on each restart once green flag conditions prevailed. Josh Poe started deep in the field in 8th but was able to make his way into the top five by the midpoint of the race. Jordon McCrimmon ran a solid race in the top five as well. By the time the checkered flag waived though, it was Nations who convincingly took the win over Dobbs in second, Poe third, McCrimmon fourth and Danny Scrogham fifth.

Late model action saw Larry Jones and Matt Johnson bring home the heat-race victories to set the stage for the 20-lap feature. At the start of the main, it looked as though Johnson might have his hands full as the top runners were nearly three wide from the onset. However, it did not take long for Johnson to jump out to a commanding lead while the rest of the competitors settled in behind him. Jones and Shane Essary ran very strong inside the top three and were seemingly glued together throughout the event until a late-charging Alan Vaughn made his way past both of them to grab second position after starting fifth. While Johnson began lapping cars, Vaughn was on a mission to try to reel in the leader but simply ran out of time as Johnson took yet another BMS win. Vaughn finished second with Jones getting the best of the battle for third over Essary. Kevin Coyne was fifth with Steve Johnson sixth, Jon Binning seventh and Bob Cummings in eight spot.

Cody Clark of Yorktown, Iowa set the bar high early on in street stock/factory stock action by claiming the lone heat race for the division and the pole for the 15-lap main event. From the drop of the green flag the rest of the field tried to find a way to make a race for the checkers but Clark simply had things going his way and ultimately went on to claim the win over Chris Graenser, all the way down from Clarenda, Iowa in the runner-up spot. Terry Moss managed a third-place run followed by John McClain and Gene Jones of Butler.

B-modified action saw Orrick driver, and normally modified standout Aaron Marrant claim the heat race victory with Jerry Brown a close second. The two drivers led the drivers to the initial green flag for the 15-lap main with a great battle for the lead. As laps wore down the race had several twists and turns with the leaders all the way until the checkered flag flew when, on the final lap Marrant made one more attempt to take the win, which ultimately shuffled him back to fifth in the final rundown as Brown claimed the victory. Brent Bollinger of Ft. Scott, Kansas wound up second ahead of Devin Irvin, Michael Mullins and Marrant.

For the hobby stock heat race Doug Coffey of Windsor drove to the win to grab the top starting position for the main event. Gary Newport, the man to beat seemingly started to his outside when the race went green and it didn’t take him long to grab the top spot away from Coffey. In a quick run to the checkered flag Newport took the win over Coffey, Allen Guthrie, Tommy Boven, and Dave Baldwin.

Stay tuned to future press announcements regarding the remaining action at BMS. You will find BMS by taking US Highway 71 to the Passaic Exit to Business Highway 71. Cross back underneath Highway 71 and travel to Rte TT where you will make a right turn over the railroad tracks. Travel a short distance and take the first right hand turn to continue on to the speedway. There is plenty of parking in the pit and grandstands parking areas. Coolers may be brought into the grandstands area by paying a $5 charge upon entering the grandstands. Only canned beer and ice may be brought in via coolers, NO EXCEPTIONS! The concession stand, which is accessible from both the pits and grandstands, features a full line of prepared food, snacks, and non-alcoholic beverages. For same day race information call 816-738-1866 begin_of_the_skype_highlighting 816-738-1866 end_of_the_skype_highlighting. We hope you pay BMS a visit … we look forward to seeing you this Friday night.

BMS Race Results, September 2, 2011

Hobby Stock Heat Race: 1) 7n Doug Coffey-Windsor, 2) 7 Gary Newport-Harrisonville, 3) 3 Allen Guthrie-Raymore, 4) 17a Dave Baldwin-Raymore, 5) 71 Tommy Boven-Paola, KS, 6) 33 Ricky Barney-Windsor

Hobby Stock Main Event: 1) 7 Gary Newport-Harrisonville, 2) 7n Doug Coffey-Windsor, 3) 3 Allen Guthrie-Raymore, 4) 71 Tommy Boven-Paola, KS, 5) 17a Dave Baldwin-Raymore, DNS) 33 Ricky Barney-Windsor

Street Stock/Factory Stock Heat: 1) 69 Cody Clark-Yorktown IA, 2) 98 John McClain-Raymore, 3) 90 Terry Moss-Raymore, 4) 10g Chris Graenser-Clarenda IA, 5) 7 Gene Jones-Butler

Street Stock/Factory Stock Main Event: 1) 69 Cody Clark-Yorktown IA, 2) 10g Chris Graenser-Clarenda IA, 3) 90 Terry Moss-Raymore, 4) 98 John McClain-Raymore, 5) Gene Jones-Butler

B-Modified Heat: 1) 30 Aaron Marrant-Orrick, 2) X Jerry Brown-Prescott KS, 3) 33 Brent Bollinger-Ft. Scott KS, 4) 1 Devin Irvin-Cleveland, 5) 57 Michael Mullins-Kingsville, 6) 08 Scott Pullen-Garden City, 7) 101 Matt Rose-LaMar

B-Modified Main Event: 1) X Jerry Brown-Prescott KS, 2) 33 Brent Bollinger-Ft. Scott KS, 3) 1 Devin Irvin-Cleveland, 4) 57 Michael Mullins-Kingsville, 5) 30 Aaron Marrant-Orrick, DNS) 08 Scott Pullen-Garden City, DNS) 101 Matt Rose-LaMar

Late Model Heat One: 1) 99 Larry Jones-Eldorado Springs, 2) 22k Kevin Coyne-Kingsville, 3) 22v Alan Vaughn-Belton, 4) 11 Steve Johnson-Joplin

Late Model Heat Two: 1) 5j Matt Johnson-Archie, 2) 15 Shane Essary-Aurora, 3) 65 Jon Binning-Warrensburg, 4) Bob Cummings-Sedalia

Late Model Main Event: 1) 5j Matt Johnson-Archie, 2) 22v Alan Vaughn-Belton, 3) 99 Larry Jones-Eldorado Springs, 4) 15 Shane Essary-Aurora, 5) 22k Kevin Coyne-Kingsville, 6) 11 Steve Johnson-Joplin, 7) 65 Jon Binning-Warrensburg, 8) Bob Cummings-Sedalia

Modified Heat One: 1) 23 Lucas Dobbs-Eldorado Springs, 2) 92 Danny Scrogham-Peculiar, 3) 25-Jordan McCrimmon-Bolivar, 4) 14b Randy Keith-Shawnee KS, 5) 3g Clayton Brown-Hume, 6) 12k Kayleigh Archer-Bolivar, 7) 43 Craig Wood-Eldorado Springs

Modified Heat Two: 1) 14 Shawn Nations-Mack’s Creek, 2) 03 Chase Jones-Eldorado Springs, 3) 21 Johnny Fennewald-Appleton City, 4) 4 Josh Poe-Drexel, 5) 30, 6) 7 Dustin Wylerd-Mulkey KS

Modified Main Event: 1) 14 Shawn Nations-Mack’s Creek, 2) 23 Lucas Dobbs-Eldorado Springs, 3) 4 Josh Poe-Drexel, 4) 25 Jordan McCrimmon-Bolivar, 5) 92 Danny Scrogham-Peculiar, 6) 43 Craig Wood-Eldorado Springs, 7) 14b Randy Keith-Shawnee KS, 8) 7 Dustin Wylerd-Mulkley KS, 9) 3g Clayton Brown-Hume, 10) 21f Johnny Fennewald-Appleton City, 11) 03 Chase Jones-Eldorado Springs, 12) 12k Kayleigh Archer-Bolivar, 13) 30

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Latest articles

Related articles

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
%d bloggers like this: