Home Dirt Late Model News Scott James Takes Fall 50 at Florence Speedway

Scott James Takes Fall 50 at Florence Speedway

Florence Speedway
Florence Speedway

UNION, KY (October 22, 2011) – Scott James of Lawrenceburg, IN closed the 2011 racing season at Florence Speedway by winning the Fall 50 on Saturday Night. James took the lead from Tyler Reddick on a lap 29 restart after Reddick had dominated the first 28 laps of the race. It was James’ fourth win of the season at the half-mile facility.

Reddick, who started from the pole, took the lead at the start of the $5,000 to win main event. The 15-year-old who was runner-up in this year’s Rookie of the Year chase on the Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series tour immediately opened up a wide gap between himself and the rest of the field. Reddick built a big lead in the early going as he started to pick-up the tail end of the field by the seventh lap.

Reddick’s early momentum was halted briefly on lap ten when a caution appeared for Cody Mahoney who had stopped on the track. On the restart Reddick again pulled away from James, Kent Robinson, Greg Johnson and Darrell Lanigan opening up another large margin.

Reddick again started to encounter heavy traffic by the 19th circuit, but James was unable to take advantage. Reddick kept widening his lead through lapped traffic ass James tried to stay within striking distance. Reddick would make a nifty move splitting two cars as his margin would increase to nearly a straightaway margin over James.

Reddick would put at least six lapped cars between himself and James as a tight battle for third was starting to heat up between Robinson, Lanigan and Johnson. But Reddick’s huge lead would go away as Frank Heckenast Jr. would slow up against the wall in turn two with 28 laps complete.

The caution would severely cripple Reddick’s chance at his second career victory in a Late Model, because on the restart both James and Lanigan went past him as an exciting three-car battle for the lead ensued. Reddick would fall to third and two laps after the restart he hooked the inside burm in turn four which caused him to lose control of the car which resulted in a spin. Reddick would then head pitside out of the race after having led the first 28 laps unchallenged.

On lap 32 a caution would come out for the cars of Mahoney and Jarrod Breeding who had come together in turn number one. Lanigan, who was running second at the time headed pit side calling it a night. Josh McGuire then picked up the second spot behind James on the restart and that’s where he stayed the rest of the race.

James would go unchallenged the rest of the way as McGuire closed the gap between the two in the late going, but James would change his line in the last five laps pulling away for a comfortable win. McGuire of Grayson, KY would claim the second spot followed by Robinson of Bloomington, IN. Eddie Carrier Jr. of Salt Rock, WV finished fourth earning hard charger of the race honors after he started 19th. Greg Johnson of Bedford, IN rounded out the top five.

In victory lane at Florence in the Scott Riggs-owned Clearwave Communications-sponsored Rocket Chassis James commented that his tire choice is what led to his victory. “He (Reddick) went with a softer combination than we did, we bolted on the hardest tire you can run here, the car was good all night, he (Reddick) was real good in the early going, but after that one restart, I think his tires started going away, we built up a good lead there and my guys in the infield were telling me to change my line because there was somebody gaining on me,” said the 40-year-old driver.

“I have to thank all the fans that came out tonight, we tried to put on a quality show for them and I think we did that, it’s always good to end the season on a winning note, and I have to thank Scott Riggs for giving me a chance to drive his cars this year, it’s been a pretty good year for us, the Rocket Chassis and Jay Dickens Engines were spot on this year.”

Completing the top ten were Rod Conley, Jason Montgomery, Joe Janowski, Bobby Pierce and R.J. Conley

In the Open Wheel Modified Division Joey Kramer of Hanover, IN was the winner.

Florence Fall 50 Finish: Scott James, Josh McGuire, Kent Robinson, Eddie Carrier Jr., Greg Johnson, Rod Conley, Jason Montgomery, Joe Janowski, Bobby Pierce, R.J. Conley, Frank Heckenast Jr., Chad Smith, Jarrod Breeding, Dustin Linville, Steve Casebolt, Mike Jewell, Darrell Lanigan, Tyler Reddick, Jesse Lay, Cody Mahoney, Josh Williams, Kevin Weaver, John Gill, Tim Prince, Kenny Christy

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Latest articles

Related articles

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
%d bloggers like this: