Home --> Dirt Late Model News --> IMCA Late Model Series News --> Deery Brothers Series News --> 20 dates for Deery Brothers IMCA Late Model Series in 2012

20 dates for Deery Brothers IMCA Late Model Series in 2012

IMCAVINTON, Iowa (Dec. 21) – Twenty dates at 13 different race tracks make up the 2012 schedule for the Deery Brothers Summer Series.

The 26th annual tour for IMCA Late Models opens March 31 at Farley Speedway. Championship night will be Sept. 22 on the half-mile oval at Davenport Speedway.

Top-paying events are the $7,500 to win show on Sept. 15 during Farley’s Yankee Dirt Track Classic and the $5,000 to win show on Sept. 1 during the Pepsi USA Nationals at 34 Raceway in West Burlington.

Three $3,000 to-win events are on the calendar: April 7 at 34’s Brent Slocum Memorial, April 21 at West Liberty Raceway and April 22 at Dubuque Fairgrounds Speedway.

All other features, including opening night at the Yankee on Sept. 14, pay $2,000 to win and a minimum of $250 to start.

“Notably, there are no two-day events with qualifying on the first night and the feature on the second night in 2012,” said Tour Director Kevin Yoder. “We’ve ended the series with rainouts the last two years and we’re not going to let that happen again next season.”

Farley is the only track with three Deery dates in 2012 and all will be on the half-mile. Thirty-Four Raceway rolls out the red carpet for two series races, as do Davenport, West Liberty, Dubuque and Boone Speedway.

The April 20 program at Davenport will be run on the quarter-mile track. West Liberty’s second date is July 10 and Dubuque’s is July 15. Boone hosts the traditional Memorial Day special on May 28 and the Labor Day show on Sept. 3, when the series headlines the IMCA Speedway Motors Super Nationals fueled by Cenex program.

Tracks with single Deery shows are Hamilton County Speedway at Webster City on April 14, Marshalltown Speedway on May 22, Southern Iowa Speedway in Oskaloosa on June 20, I-35 Speedway in Mason City on July 11, Quad City Speedway in East Moline, Ill., on July 18, Cedar County Raceway in Tipton on July 31, and the Iowa State Fairgrounds Speedway in Des Moines on Aug. 13.

Both the I-35 and Quad City shows are county fair specials; the race at Des Moines tops the evening’s enter­tainment during the state fair.

Twenty-six previous series events have been held at Hamilton County Speedway, the most recent of them in 2006. The earliest opening night in Deery history was also green-flagged at Webster City, on March 30 of 2002.

No changes will be made in the draw or race procedures, Yoder said, and tracks paying more than the stand­ard purse will have the option of charging $30 for pit passes.

Two-time defending series champion is Ray Guss Jr. of Milan, Ill.

2012 Deery Brothers Summer Series Schedule

Saturday, March 31 – Farley, Iowa, Speedway. 

Saturday, April 7 – 34 Raceway, West Burlington, Iowa. Saturday, April 14 – Hamilton County Speedway, Webster City, Iowa. Friday, April 20 – Davenport, Iowa, Speedway. Saturday, April 21 – West Liberty, Iowa, Raceway. Sunday, April 22 – Dubuque, Iowa, Fairgrounds Speedway.

Tuesday, May 22 – Marshalltown, Iowa, Speedway. Monday, May 28 – Boone, Iowa, Speedway. 

Wednesday, June 20 – Southern Iowa Speedway, Oskaloosa. 

Tuesday, July 10 – West Liberty, Iowa, Raceway.  Wednesday, July 11 – I-35 Speedway, Mason City, Iowa. Sunday, July 15 – Dubuque, Iowa, Fairgrounds Speedway. Wednesday, July 18 – Quad City Speed­way, East Moline, Ill. Tuesday, July 31 – Cedar County Raceway, Tipton, Iowa.

Monday, Aug. 13 – Iowa State Fairgrounds Speedway, Des Moines.

Saturday, Sept. 1 – 34 Raceway, West Burlington, Iowa. Monday, Sept. 3 – Boone, Iowa, Speedway.  Friday, Sept. 14 – Farley, Iowa, Speedway. Saturday, Sept. 15 – Farley, Iowa, Speedway. Saturday, Sept. 22 – Davenport, Iowa, Speedway.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email