HomeDirt Late Model NewsRay Cook Starts 2012 Season with Ice Bowl Victory at Talladega Short...

Ray Cook Starts 2012 Season with Ice Bowl Victory at Talladega Short Track!

Talladega Short Track

(BRASSTOWN, NORTH CAROLINA) The “Tarheel Tiger” Ray Cook debuted a new orange paint scheme on his #53 MasterSbilt racecar on January 7-8 at the Talladega Short Track in Eastaboga, Alabama and it certainly did not slow him down, as he captured his second ‘Ice Bowl’ title in convincing fashion! During the extended weekend at TST, a combination of new clay and intermittent rain showers kept the racing surface rough and fast. On Saturday, Ray laid down a solid lap during the qualifying session and later dominated his heat race en route to the prelim victory.

When Sunday rolled around at the track deemed as the “Hornets Nest,” Ray started the 50-lap ‘Ice Bowl’ from the outside of the second row. The Brasstown, North Carolina native muscled past polesitter Jason Wilson to grab the point on the eighth circuit and led the remainder of the distance en route to the $6,000 payday. Ray, who also won the ‘Ice Bowl’ back in 2009, defeated Joe Armistead, Jr., Stacy Holmes, Jason Hiett, and Chad Winkles in the rough and tumble race, which was slowed by nine caution periods. Complete coverage from ‘Ice Bowl XXI’ can be accessed by clicking on www.dirtondirt.com.

“We are just so tickled to get a win right off the bat in 2012 and especially at a race with so much prestige like the Ice Bowl,” stated Cook via telephone this morning. “Everything worked real well all weekend and we learned some stuff on our car to get through those rough track conditions. I have to thank my entire team, but especially Keith (Masters) and Gary (Winger) for some valuable help on how to get through those holes. Back in 2009 when I won the Ice Bowl for the first time, it helped propel us to maybe the best year in my career. Hopefully, this Ice Bowl victory will come close to doing the same thing!”

The D&R Motorsports team will go back to work at the shop this week to comb through their #53 car to look for any bent or broken parts due to the rough racing surface at TST. Weather pending, the next race for the team will be on Saturday, January 21 at the Boyd’s Speedway in Ringgold, Georgia. The annual running of the ‘Cabin Fever 40′ is scheduled to pay $3,000 to the winner in two weeks time. Additional information on this unsanctioned program can be viewed by logging onto www.boydsspeedway.net.

Ray Cook would like to thank all of his supporters including: D&R Motorsports, Hicks & Ingle Company, MasterSbilt Race Cars, Race Engine Design, PPM Racing Products, A+ Moving and Storage Company, K&N Filters, PRC Racing, Real Racing Wheels, Bill Elliott Racing, James Cook Construction, American Race Tire, Bert Transmissions, Brodix Cylinder Heads, Chizmark & Larson Insurance Agency, DBR Starters, Delph Communications, Demon Carburetors, Eibach Springs, FK Rod Ends, Frankland Racing Supply, GW Performance, Integra Shocks, ISC Racers Tape, JB Performance, Mason Racin’, MSD Ignition, Peterson Fluid Systems, Schaeffer’s Racing Oil, Scott Performance Wire, Stealth Carburetors, Sweet Mfg., T&D Machine, Turbo Start Batteries, VP Racing Fuels, Wiles Driveshafts, and Wilwood.

For the latest news and schedule information concerning the #53 team, feel free to visit their official Internet home at www.raycook53.com.

Media Contact: Ryan Delph – Delph Communications


1 53 Ray Cook
2 21 Joe Armistead
3 2H Stacy Holmes
4 1H Jason Hiett
5 12 Chad Winkles
6 66 Jake Knowles
7 22 Jason Wilson
8 25R Tim Roszell
9 33B David Brannon
10 1 Vic Hill
11 15H Ethan Hunter
12 17S Jeff Smith
13 47M Ross Martin
14 32 Lamar Scoggins
15 99 Terry Smith
16 47 Brad Hall
17 15D Jamie Dacus
18 124 Mike Weeks
19 18C Dillon Crim
20 97B Lee Burdett
21 26 Tony Knowles
22 15B Tim Busha
23 121 Benji Cole
24 129 Jason Welshan
25 C8 Timothy Culp

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Latest articles

Related articles

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
%d bloggers like this: