POWRi National Midgets schedule 30-event season, open at Cowtown Speedway in Texas March 16-17

POWRiMILLSTADT, Ill. (Jan. 24, 2012)—The POWRi Lucas Oil National Midget Series will open a 30-event season on March 16-17 with its first visit to Texas, racing at Cowtown Speedway in Kennedale.

The Midget Stampede at the ¼-mile track located near Fort Worth has a purse exceeding $40,000 with Friday’s feature paying $3,000 to win and $300 to start and Saturday’s $5,000 to win and $500 to start. $100 in tow money will be paid each night for the entrants not making the feature.

Cowtown will also be the inaugural event for the POWRi Lucas Oil West Midget Series. Its complete schedule will be released separately. POWRi National and West points will be awarded at Cowtown.

This will be the eighth season for POWRi National Midgets, co-founded by Kenny Brown and Jim Siner.

“We’re pretty excited to take the POWRi Lucas Oil National Midget Series to Cowtown and Texas and debut our West series with it,” Brown said. “We’re spreading out from our Midwestern roots, but we’re equally proud to be returning to our traditional tracks that have been our partners in building POWRi.”

The National schedule  has five events at Belle-Clair Speedway in Belleville, Ill.,  including the Arnie Knepper Memorial on Aug. 12 and the Charlene Meents Memorial on Oct. 12-13, the RevHoney/Speedway Motors Midget Money Week at Solomon Valley Raceway in Beloit, Kan., on July 27,  Junction Motor Speedway in McCool Junction, Neb., on July 28 and US 36 Raceway in Cameron, Mo., on July 29, the Dana Godfrey Memorial at Macon (Ill.) Speedway on Aug. 17, the Cornfest Midget Classic at Angell Park Speedway in Sun Prairie, Wis. On Aug. 19, the Dean King Memorial at the Southern Illinois Center in Du Quoin on Sept. 1 and the Tom Knowles Memorial at Spoon River Speedway in Canton, Ill., on Sept. 15.

POWRi returns to Lucas Oil Speedway in Wheatland, Mo., on May 5 for the Missouri Mid-State Midget Nationals. The American Sprint Car Series’ Warrior Region is also running in the event.

POWRi will co-sanction the Hut 100 with the United States Auto Club on June 2 at Tri-State Speedway in Haubstadt, Ind.

The schedule also includes three additional events at Macon (April 28, June 23, Sept. 29), two at Valley Speedway in Grain Valley, Mo. (May 4, June 8), two at Jacksonville (Ill.) Speedway (April 27, Sept. 14), two at Lincoln (Ill.) Speedway (June 22, Aug. 18), two at Angell Park Speedway in Sun Prairie, Wis., (July 15, Aug. 19), one at Peoria (Ill.) Speedway (May 19), one at Fayette County Speedway in Brownstown, Ill., (June 1), one at Springfield (Mo.) Raceway (June 9) and one at Wilmot (Wis.) Raceway (July 14).

Belle-Clair’s March 24 event will be run with Modifieds and the May 18 event will be run with Late Models.

The season-ending Charlene Meents Memorial at Belle-Clair on Oct. 12-13 will be broadcast tape-delayed by Lucas Oil on the Edge.

POWRi Lucas Oil National Midget Series 2012 schedule

March 16-17—+#Cowtown Speedway (1/4-mile), Kennedale, Texas; March 24—Belle-Clair Speedway (1/5-mile), Belleville, Ill.; April 27–*Jacksonville (Ill.) Speedway (1/4-mile); April 28—*Macon (Ill.) Speedway (1/5-mile); May 4—+Valley Speedway (1/3-mile), Grain Valley, Mo.; May 5—+Lucas Oil Speedway (3/8-mile), Wheatland, Mo.; May 18—Belle-Clair Speedway (1/5-mile), Belleville, Ill.; May 19—*Peoria (Ill.) Speedway (1/4-mile); June 1—Fayette County Speedway (1/4-mile), Fayette, Ill.; June 2–@Tri-State Speedway (1/4-mile), Haubstadt, Ind.; June 8–+Valley Speedway  (1/3-mile), Grain Valley, Mo.; +June 9—Springfield (Mo.) Raceway (1/4-mile); June 22–*Lincoln (Ill.) Speedway (1/4-mile); June 23–*Macon (Ill.) Speedway (1/5-mile); July 14–*Wilmot (Wis.) Raceway (1/3-mile); July 15–*Angell Park Speedway (1/3-mile), Sun Prairie, Wis.; July 27–+Solomon Valley Raceway (1/5-mile), Beloit, Kan.; July 28–+Junction Motor Speedway (3/8-mile), McCool Junction, Neb.; July 29–+US 36 Raceway (3/8-mile), Cameron, Mo.; Aug. 12—Belle-Clair Speedway (1/5-mile), Belleville, Ill.; Aug. 17–*Macon (Ill.) Speedway (1/5-mile); Aug. 18–*Lincoln (Ill.) Speedway (1/4-mile); Aug. 19–@*Angell Park Speedway (1/3-mile), Sun Prairie, Wis.; Sept. 1—Southern Illinois Center (1/5-mile), Du Quoin; Sept. 14—Jacksonville (Ill.) Raceway (1/4-mile); Sept. 15—Spoon River Raceway (3/8-mile), Canton, Ill.; Sept. 29—Macon (Ill.) Speedway (1/5-mile); Oct. 12–@+Belle-Clair Speedway (1/5-mile), Belleville, Ill.; Oct. 13—@+Belle-Clair Speedway (1/5-mile), Belleville, Ill.

@–co-sanctioned with United States Auto Club; *co-sanctioned with Badger Auto Racing Association; #co-sanctioned with Rocky Mountain Midget Racing Association; +co-sanctioned with POWRi Lucas Oil West Midget Series.

For more information on POWRi Racing, go to www.POWRi.com.