Home Dirt Late Model News Dustin Neat Dandy in Big Bull 50 Indiana Late Model Series Victory...

Dustin Neat Dandy in Big Bull 50 Indiana Late Model Series Victory at Ponderosa Speedway

Ponderosa SpeedwayJunction City, KY-April 20, 2012- The Indiana Late Model Series would invade Ponderosa Speedway on Friday evening for the $1,500 to win Big Bull 50 and Dustin Neat of Dunnville, KY would enter his first ever Crate-engined powered Dirt Late Model event and would be victorious in picking up a $1,500 payday in the Big Bull 50 for the Indiana Late Model Series. Other feature event winners would be J.T. Ayers of New Haven, KY in Clayton Homes Modifieds and Donnie Sullivan of Stanford, KY in Ken Towery’s Auto and Tire Care Sportsman.

The front row starting duo of Brad Neat and Dustin Neat would bring the Big Bull 50 Indiana Late Model Series event to the green flag, with Dustin Neat grabbing the top spot, while younger brother Brad Neat gave chase, followed by Todd Coffman and Shannon Reed. The brothers’ Neat would establish themselves as the cars to beat immediately and would pull away from the battle for third between Coffman and Reed, while Tyler Allen would make his way into the top five by lap 12. After a pair of cautions near the midpoint of the race, Dustin Neat would maintain the lead at the halfway point, while Reed would take third, with P.J. Feistritzer making his way into the top five and eventually snagging fourth from Coffman. After the seventh and final caution of the event on lap 43, the Neat brothers would again scat away from the field on the final restart, with Dustin Neat taking the win in the Big Bull 50 in the Kevin Colston owned Colston Paving/Keith Adcock Insurance/Smith Race Engines/Renegade Race Fuels sponsored #38x Rocket Chassis. Brad Neat would claim runner-up honors, with Shannon Reed taking third. P.J. Feistritzer and Todd Coffman would complete the top five. The remainder of the top ten would Tyler Allen, Zane Powell, Marty O’Neal, Zak Blackwood, and Jason Johnson. Twenty-one entries would see Brad Neat be the top qualifier at 14.053 seconds, with Country 100.9 MIKE FM heat race victories going to Brad Neat, Dustin Neat, and Todd Coffman.

The 20 lap Clayton Homes Modified feature event would see Michael England take the initial race lead and hold the top spot until J.T. Ayers would work past England on the lower side of turn two on lap 9. Ayers would then pull away in the final five laps of the event to score his second straight open-wheel feature event win at Ponderosa Speedway aboard the Don and Ginger Ayers owned After Hours Body Shop/Quick Time Turbo/Buzick Construction/Hagan Construction/Parkway Service Center sponsored #28 Bandit Race Car powered by a Dale Meers Race Engine. Don Adams would pass Michael England for second late in the event, with England winding up third. Tommy Gregory would work his way from the rear of the field after a lap 9 caution to finish fourth, while Keith Smith completed the top five. Elliott Despain would also restart at the rear of the field on the lap 9 caution and would head up the second five, followed by Cy Cundiff, Chad Scott, Billy Meredith, and Stacey Decker. Fourteen entries would have Ayers also be the top qualifier at 14.988 seconds and also win a heat, while England won the other Smith Automotive Machine Shop heat.

Bartley Grant would lead the first five circuits of the Ken Towery’s Auto and Tire Care Sportsman feature event until Donnie Sullivan would take the lead for good after a side by side battle on lap 6 to secure his third straight win in the division in the seat of his D&D Pallet Recyclers/Simple Sign and Decal/Crown Cuts of Stanford sponsored #1 Chevy Camaro. Gerald Haynes, Jr. would work past Grant on a late race restart to claim second, with Grant third, while Derek Bottoms and Shannon Scott rounded out the top five. Eight entries would see Sullivan be the top qualifier at 16.511 seconds, while Bottoms would score the heat race victory.

SUMMARY-Ponderosa Speedway-Junction City, Kentucky-April 20, 2012

Indiana Late Model Series (21 entries)
Top Qualifier- Brad Neat 14.503
Country 100.9 MIKE FM 1st Heat- Brad Neat, Shannon Reed, P.J. Feistritzer, Zak Blackwood, Steve Godsey, Jim Beeman, James Griffith Country 100.9 MIKE FM 2nd Heat- Dustin Neat, Zane Powell, Marty Cooper, Jason Johnson, Mike McEvoy, Rick Robinson, Adam Bowman Country 100.9 MIKE FM 3rd Heat- Todd Coffman, Jake Henry, Tyler Allen, Marty O’Neal, Mason Covey, Matt Henderson, Mike Covington Big Bull 50- Dustin Neat, Brad Neat, Shannon Reed, P.J. Feistritzer, Todd Coffman, Tyler Allen, Zane Powell, Marty O’Neal, Zak Blackwood, Jason Johnson, Mason Covey, Jim Beeman, Jake Henry, Adam Bowman, Mike Covington, James Griffith, Steve Godsey, Rick Robinson, Marty Cooper, Mike McEvoy, Matt Henderson

Clayton Homes Modifieds (14 entries)
Top Qualifier- J.T. Ayers 14.988
Smith Automotive Machine Shop 1st Heat- J.T. Ayers, Keith Smith, Rocky Wilson, Chad Scott Smith Automotive Machine Shop 2nd Heat- Michael England, Don Adams, Billy Meredith, Tommy Gregory
Feature- J.T. Ayers, Don Adams, Michael England, Tommy Gregory, Keith Smith, Elliott Despain, Cy Cundiff, Chad Scott, Billy Meredith, Stacey Decker, Gary Parks, A.J. Reams, Rocky Wilson, Robbie Gullion

Ken Towery’s Auto and Tire Care Sportsman (8 entries) Top Qualifier- Donnie Sullivan 16.511 Central Painting Heat- Derek Bottoms, Bartley Grant, Donnie Sullivan, Gerald Haynes, Jr.
Feature- Donnie Sullivan, Gerald Haynes, Jr., Bartley Grant, Derek Bottoms, Shannon Scott, Doodle Farris, Johnny King, John Cole

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Latest articles

Related articles

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
%d bloggers like this: