HomeDirt Late Model NewsComp Cams Super Dirt Car SeriesWendell Wallace Tops COMP Cams Super Dirt Series Action at Malden

Wendell Wallace Tops COMP Cams Super Dirt Series Action at Malden

Comp Cams Super Dirt SeriesMalden, Missouri (06/08/12) – The COMP Cams Super Dirt Series (CCSDS) Super Late Model tour made its first trip of the season to Malden Speedway (Malden, Missouri) on Friday night for a $2,000-to-win event, and it was, Wendell Wallace, who claimed the victory.

After coming from the tail of his heat to claim the win Jon Mitchell earned the New Vision Graphics Pole Award for the 35 lap feature. He was joined on the front row by Wendell Wallace, and as the race went green it Wallace, who bolted to the top spot with Mitchell, Brandon Smith, and Timothy Culp close behind.

Wallace, who is the winningest driver in the history of the CCSDS tour, would pace the next twenty laps until defending series’ champion, Brandon Smith drove past him for the lead on lap 22. While the lead duo waged war at the front of the pack, great two and three wide racing reigned supreme throughout the field. Wallace pursued Smith until lap 31, when he drove by for the lead. A lap 32 caution for Stacy Taylor, who lost a shock, would rebound the field for a three lap shootout, and Wallace would go on to claim his thirteenth career win with the tour. He was followed across the finish line by Timothy Culp, Brandon Smith, Jon Mitchell, and Curtis Cook.

GRT Race Cars Heat Race #1 was won by Wendell Wallace with Brandon Smith winning NEA Super Gas/Killer Coatings Heat Race #2. RiceTec Heat Race #3 saw Timothy Culp charge score the win, while Jon Mitchell won Racing Head Service Heat Race #4.

The Boston’s Sports Bar & Restaurants b-mains were won by Robert Baker and Dane Dacus. Baker earned the Larry Shaw Race Cars Hard Charger Award for advancing from his fifteenth starting spot to an eighth place finish. Stacy Taylor received the Quarter Master Hard Luck Award after a mechanical failure with just a few laps remaining forced him to retire from the sixth position.
On Saturday night, June 9th the CCSDS competitors will travel to Northeast Arkansas Speedway (Harrisburg, Arkansas) for a $2,000-to-win/$400-to-start, 35 lap event. The program will also mark the opener of the 2012 RiceTec Summer Series, which will be headlined by a mini-series of six events that will award the best performing drivers in those six races with cash and contingency prizes. In three scheduled appearances at NEA Speedway in 2011 Jesse Stovall and Brandon Smith claimed wins, while rain was the victor in the third event. Joining the CCSDS Super Late Models on the card this Saturday night will be Open Wheel Modifieds, Street Stocks, E-Mods, Factory Stocks, and Mini Stocks. For more information on the event, please visit www.NEASpeedway.com .
The COMP Cams Super Dirt Series is sponsored by and would like to thank all of their sponsors including- COMP Cams, Hoosier Racing Tires, Kuntz & Company, Larry Shaw Race Cars, Quarter Master, GRT Race Cars, Rocket Chassis, Woodco, Inc., New Vision Graphics, RiceTec, ROCKHARD Powdercoat, Inc., Mark Martin Auto Group , NEA Supergas, Killer Coatings, MSR Mafia.com Marketing Services, Tobacco Town Inc., Racing Head Service, BSB Manufacturing, Five Star Bodies, Boston’s Restaurant and Sports Bar Pizza, speedliquidators.com, Schoenfeld Headers, Surrett Contracting, Lawson Farms, Powerhouse Products, ASI Race Wear, and FSR Racing Products.
For the latest information on the COMP Cams Super Dirt Series, please visit www.COMPDirt.com .
COMP Cams Super Dirt Series – June 8th, 2012
Malden Speedway (Malden, MO)

Feature Results
1. Wendell Wallace (Batesville, Arkansas)
2. Timothy Culp (West Monroe, Louisiana)
3. Brandon Smith (Floral, Arkansas)
4. Jon Mitchell (Texarkana, Texas)
5. Curtis Cook (Vilonia, Arkansas)
6. Jeff Floyd (Walnut Ridge, Arkansas)
7. Todd Hall (Charleston, Missouri)
8. Robert Baker (Bryant, Arkansas)
9. Billy Moyer Jr. (Batesville, Arkansas)
10. Johnny Virden (Russellville, Arkansas)
11. Jon Kirby (Russellville, Arkansas)
12. Chandler Petty (Austin, Arkansas)
13. Shawn Knuckles (Poplar Bluff, Missouri)
14. Macon Oberkramer (Broseley, Missouri)
15. Keith Lawson (Houston, Arkansas)
16. Nicolas Black (MO)
17. Stacy Taylor (Jacksonville, Arkansas)
18. Kyle Beard (Trumann, Arkansas
19. Shane Stephens (Arlington, Tennessee)
20. Dane Dacus (Lakeland, Tennessee)

DNS: Tommy Surrett, Robby Moore, Dale Armstrong, Randy Todd, Travis Mosley, Kenneth Jackson, Robert Lovette
Entries: 27
GRT Race Cars Heat Race #1 Winner: Wendell Wallace
NEA Super Gas/Killer Coatings Heat Race #2 Winner: Brandon Smith
RiceTec Heat Race #3 Winner: Timothy Culp
Racing Head Service Heat Race #4 Winner: Jon Mitchell
Boston’s Sports Bar & Restaurant B-Main Winner: Robert Baker, Dane Dacus
New Vision Graphics Pole Sitter: Jon Mitchell
Quarter Master Hard Luck Award: Stacy Taylor
Larry Shaw Race Cars Hard Charger: Robert Baker (15th-8th)
COMP Cams Top Performer: Wendell Wallace
Leaders: Wendell Wallace (1-21), Brandon Smith (22-30), Wendell Wallace (31-35)

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Latest articles

Related articles

%d bloggers like this: