Home --> Dirt Late Model News --> Guss Jr tops Late Models in Mid-Season Championships at Quad City Speedway

Guss Jr tops Late Models in Mid-Season Championships at Quad City Speedway

Quad City Racewayby Brad Hines
EAST MOLINE, IL (June 24) – An excellent field of 90 cars checked into the pits Sunday night for the Orion Tire Repair Mid-Season Championship at the Quad City Speedway. With all the feature events lined-up by point standings the stage was set for a great night of racing action.

Current Extreme Auto Glass Street Stock point leader, Ron Marks Jr., took full advantage of his pole position starting spot leading every lap of the caution free 15 lap feature. Clarence, Iowa’s, Emily Gade finished an impressive second followed by Rick Schriner, Chuck Fox, and Dwaine Hasson.

Doug Crampton gave current Orion Tire Repair IMCA modified point lead Jason Bahrs all he could handle in their 20 lap feature. After Crampton raced side by side with Greg Durbin for several laps, he set his sights on Bahrs. Colona’s Bahrs proved to be too strong though and would go onto to win. Crampton would finish second with Greg Durbin, Brian Bushong, and Jason Masengarb completing the top five.

Shon Sanders, of Geneseo, dominated the 12 lap Mod Lite feature from the number one starting spot. Sanders would lead every lap after holding off an early charge from Todd Cramer and Rob Guss. Cramer would take second followed by David Norton, Rob Guss, and Anthony Guss.

The Verplaetse Excavating A-Modifieds once again stole the show in their 20 lap feature event. John Bull would take the early lead with Milo Veloz Jr. charging through the field from his sixth place starting spot. Bull would stick to the bottom side of the track with Veloz using to the top side of the track to run down Bull. They raced side by side for several laps with, the current point leader, Bull holding off Veloz to take the checkered flag. Scott Fridley crossed the line third with Dustin Schram and Shaune Lewis rounding of the top five.

Sexton Ford IMCA Late Model point leader Ray Guss Jr. used his pole position starting spot to cruise to another win in the 30 lap feature event. Silvis’ Nate Beuseling would finish second with Hall of Famer Gary Webb coming from the 12th starting spot to take third. Mike Garland and Eric Gustaf would take fourth and fifth.

The evening was capped off with an exciting Aaron’s Affordable Towing 4-Cylinder feature. After taking the lead from his cousin, Wade Dahl, Zachary Dahl would hold off a very strong effort from the No. 1 of Jason Blocker and take the checkered flag. Shane Kelly would finish third with Eric Stogdell and W. Dahl completing the top five.

Racing returns next Sunday at the Quad City Speedway with the IMCA Late Models, Street Stocks, IMCA Modifieds, A-Modifieds, Mod Lites, and 4-Cyliners all in action. Gates open at 3:30pm with racing at 5:30pm. Visit www.qcspeedwayracing.com for more info.

Results – 6/24/12

Sexton Ford IMCA Late Models

Heat 1
1. Gary Webb
2. Mike Cothron
3. Nate Beuseling
4. Adam Oppendike
5. Mike Guldenpfennig
6. Shawn Mulvany
7. Mike Zemo Jr.
8. Bob Miller

Heat 2
1. Eric Gustaf
2. Rob Toland
3. Ray Guss Jr.
4. LeRoy Brenner
5. Mike Murphy Jr.
6. Mike Garland
7. Buck Harmening
8. Todd Malmstrom

1. Ray Guss Jr.
2. Nate Beuseling
3. Gary Webb
4. Mike Garland
5. Eric Gustaf
6. Shawn Mulvany
7. Mike Cothron
8. LeRoy Brenner
9. Buck Harmening
10. Mike Guldenpfennig
11. Adam Oppendike
12. Todd Malmstrom
13. Mike Murphy Jr.
14. Bob Miller
15. Mike Zemo Jr.
16. Rob Toland

Extreme Auto Glass Street Stocks

Heat 1
1. Ron Marks Jr.
2. Jeremy Gustaf
3. Jerame Mowery
4. Korey Peterson
5. Phil Anderson
6. Dewayne Smith Jr.
7. Andy Warner

Heat 2
1. Dwaine Hasson
2. Rob Henry
3. Chris Lawrence
4. Chuck Fox
5. Nick Lawrence
6. Terry Smith

Heat 3
1. Rob Nylin
2. Emily Gade
3. Rick Schriner
4. Steve Gustaf Sr.
5. Kevin Dickey
6. T.J. Patz

1. Ron Marks Jr.
2. Emily Gade
3. Rick Schriner
4. Chuck Fox
5. Dwaine Hasson
6. Rob Henry
7. Chris Lawrence
8. Rob Nylin
9. Korey Peterson
10. Kevin Dickey
11. Phil Anderson
12. Steve Gustaf Sr.
13. Nick Lawrence
14. Jeremy Gustaf
15. T.J. Patz
16. Terry Smith
17. Jerame Mowery
18. Dewayne Smith Jr.
19. Andy Warner

Orion Tire Repair IMCA Modifieds

Heat 1
1. Thad Wilson
2. Matt Werner
3. Todd Dykema
4. Aaron Burroughs
5. Doug Crampton
6. B.J. Jackson
7. Jason Bahrs
8. Justin Veloz
9. Scotty Powell

Heat 2
1. Brian Bushong
2. John Ahlers
3. George Spence III
4. Chance Huston
5. Jason Masengarb
6. Kevin Blum
7. Greg Durbin
8. Joe Jones Jr.
9. Eric Barnes

1. Jason Bahrs
2. Doug Crampton
3. Greg Durbin
4. Brian Bushong
5. Jason Masengarb
6. B.J. Jackson
7. Todd Dykema
8. George Spence III
9. Scotty Powell
10. Thad Wilson
11. John Ahlers
12. Justin Veloz
13. Matt Werner
14. Chance Huston
15. Aaron Burroughs
16. Joe Jones Jr.
17. Kevin Blum
18. Eric Barnes

Mod Lites

Heat 1
1. Todd Cramer
2. Anthony Guss
3. Brad Lucy
4. Rob Guss
5. Gary Snyder
6. Blake Woodruff
7. Dan Guss

Heat 2
1. Shon Sanders
2. Jason Masengarb
3. Dusty Masolini
4. David Norton
5. Brian Woodruff
6. Mike Dominguez
7. Cody Brown

1. Shon Sanders
2. Todd Cramer
3. David Norton
4. Rob Guss
5. Anthony Guss
6. Gary Snyder
7. Dusty Masolini
8. Dan Guss
9. Blake Woodruff
10. Brad Lucy
11. Mike Dominguez
12. Jason Masengarb
13. Cody Brown
14. Brian Woodruff

Verplaetse Excavating A-Modifieds

Heat 1
1. Milo Veloz Jr.
2. John Bull
3. Dustin Schram
4. Jason Pershy
5. Jerry Bailey Jr.
6. Shaune Lewis
7. Scott Fridley
8. Chad Tucker
9. Doug Curless
10. Graham Jackson

1. John Bull
2. Milo Veloz Jr.
3. Scott Fridley
4. Dustin Schram
5. Shaune Lewis
6. Jason Pershy
7. Doug Curless
8. Jerry Bailey Jr.
9. Chad Tucker
10. Graham Jackson

Aaron’s Affordable Towing 4-Cylinders

Heat 1
1. Josh Sharpe
2. Zachary Dahl
3. Dustin Forbes
4. Brandon Dahl
5. Shane Kelly
6. Jason Blocker
7. Tony Vicary

Heat 2
1. Eric Stogdell
2. Cameron Poci
3. Mike Cusack Jr.
4. Wade Dahl
5. Rick Hurlbut
6. Aaron Hitt

1. Zachary Dahl
2. Jason Blocker
3. Shane Kelly
4. Eric Stogdell
5. Wade Dahl
6. Dustin Forbes
7. Brandon Dahl
8. Rick Hurlbut
9. Aaron Hitt
10. Tony Vicary
11. Cameron Poci
12. Josh Sharpe
13. Mike Cusack Jr.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email