Home IMCA Late Model Series News Deery Brothers Series News Aikey takes point lead to Quad City Speedway for July 18 Deery...

    Aikey takes point lead to Quad City Speedway for July 18 Deery show

    IMCAEAST MOLINE, Ill. (July 16) – There will be a new name atop the point standings when the Deery Brothers Summer Series travels to Quad City Speedway for a Wednesday, July 18 show.

    Jeff Aikey finally caught Mike Murphy Jr. in the IMCA Late Model tour point race after the 13th of 20 events this season on Sunday at Dubuque Fairgrounds Speedway. The six-time series champion will take a seven point advantage over Murphy to East Moline.

    Pit gates open at 4:30 p.m. and the grandstand opens at 5 p.m. for the second annual Hershel Roberts Memorial. Hot laps are at 6:30 p.m. and racing starts at 7 p.m.

    The main event pays $2,000 to win and a minimum of $250 to start.

    Spectator admission is $15 for adults, $10 for kids ages 6-12 and free for youngsters five and under. Pit passes are $25.

    Roberts, a former Late Model driver, had owned the car driven by two-time defending series and IMCA national champion Ray Guss Jr.

    Guss won last year’s memorial, becoming the 12th different driver to win one of the 13 Deery races held at Quad City. The only repeat winner has been Rob Toland, in 1998 and 2004.

    The series is at the Iowa State Fairgrounds Speedway in Des Moines on Monday, Aug. 13. The 400th event in series history will be the Pepsi USA Nationals on Saturday, Sept. 1 at 34 Raceway in West Burlington.

    Deery Brothers Summer Series top 20 point standings – 1. Jeff Aikey, Waterloo, Iowa, 600; 2. Mike Murphy Jr., Colona, Ill., 593; 3. Andy Eckrich, Oxford, Iowa, 586; 4. Ray Guss Jr., Milan, Ill., 561; 5. Jay Johnson, West Burlington, Iowa, 554; 6. Tyler Bruening, Decorah, Iowa, 546; 7. Justin Kay, Wheatland, Iowa, 536; 8. Denny Eckrich, Tiffin, Iowa, 535; 9. Joel Callahan, Dubuque, Iowa, 520; 10. Darrel DeFrance, Marshalltown, Iowa, 511; 11. Colby Springsteen, Wapello, Iowa, 385; 12. Jeff Mitrisin, Oskaloosa, Iowa, 370; 13. Gary Webb, Blue Grass, Iowa, 309; 14. Dean Wagner, Evansdale, Iowa, 281; 15. Doug Yates, Monticello, Iowa, 266; 16. Dan Shelliam, Hazel Green, Wis., 260; 17. Luke Goedert, Guttenberg, Iowa, 256; 18. Nate Beuseling, Silvis, Ill., 242; 19. Jason Utter, Columbus Junction, Iowa, 216; 20. Kurt Kile, Nichols, Iowa, 213.

    Print Friendly, PDF & Email

    Latest articles

    Tyler Erb over Pierce for Summer Nationals tour opener win at Brownstown Speedway

    BROWNSTOWN, IN – July 8, 2020 – Just over three years ago, Tyler Erb scored his first career DIRTcar Summer Nationals victory in the...

    Mike McKinney takes opening night Summit Modified Nationals win at Brownstown Speedway!

    BROWNSTOWN, IN – July 8, 2020 – In chasing a championship, it’s crucial to win early and often. That’s exactly what Mike McKinney started...

    NASCAR, INDYCAR to race on August 30 at World Wide Technology Raceway

    ARCA Menards Series 150 will open NASCAR-INDYCAR Weekend on August 29 July 8, 2020, St. Louis Region – World Wide Technology Raceway in Madison, Illinois, today...

    Related articles

    Print Friendly, PDF & Email