Home IMCA Late Model Series News Deery Brothers Series News Roberts Memorial Deery checkers fly again for Guss

    Roberts Memorial Deery checkers fly again for Guss

    IMCAEAST MOLINE, Ill. (July 18) ­­– Ray Guss Jr. came through in the most important race on his schedule.


    Guss led the last three laps of Wednesday’s Deery Brothers Summer Series event at Quad City Speedway to win the Hershel Roberts Memorial event for the second straight year.

    Roberts, a former IMCA Late Model driver, owned the car Guss drove to series and national IMCA championships in 2010 and 2011. The main event was 58 laps in honor of Roberts’ car number.

    Justin Kay followed the lower line and led the first 40 circuits most of them with pole starter Todd Malmstrom in hot pursuit and Mike Cothron and the 11th starting Guss on the top side.

    Following a lap nine caution for debris, the race stayed green until Gary Webb slowed on lap 38 to bring the yellow out and bunch the field back up.

    Malmstrom found his way around Kay following the restart and was still up front when Guss made a serious bid of his own for the lead. Malmstrom caught a bit of the wall before Guss completed his pass at the flagstand for the lead on lap 56.

    Guss wouldn’t be caught from that point, winning ahead of Cothron, Kay, Malmstrom and point leader Jeff Aikey.

    The $2,000 victory was the third out of the last four series events, and the fourth this season for Guss. He’s now second on the all-time Deery wins list with 27 career checkers.

    Mike Murphy Jr. was the $250 Sunoco Race Fuels feature qualifier drawing winner.

    Six races remain on the 2012 Deery schedule, the next on Monday, Aug. 13 at the Iowa State Fairgrounds Speedway in Des Moines.

    Pit gates open at 3 p.m., the grandstand opens at 4:30 p.m. and hot laps are at 5:30 p.m. with racing to follow.

    The 400th event in series history is Saturday, Sept. 1 when 34 Raceway hosts the $5,000 to win Pepsi USA Nationals.

    Feature results ­­– 1. Ray Guss Jr., Milan.; 2. Mike Cothron, Moline; 3. Justin Kay, Wheatland, Iowa; 4. Todd Malmstrom, Silvis; 5. Jeff Aikey, Waterloo, Iowa; 6. Andy Eckrich, Oxford, Iowa; 7. Mike Murphy Jr., Colona; 8. Mike Zemo Jr., Davenport, Iowa; 9. Rob Toland, Colona; 10. Darrel DeFrance, Marshalltown, Iowa; 11. Jay Johnson, West Burlington, Iowa; 12. Nate Beuseling, Silvis; 13. Kevin Blum, Colona; 14. Jeff Mitrisin, Oskaloosa, Iowa; 15. Gary Webb, Blue Grass, Iowa; 16. Brunson Behning, Calamus, Iowa; 17. Eric Sanders, Coal Valley; 18. Travis Denning, Sterling; 19. Mike Garland, Morrison; 20. Joel Callahan, Dubuque, Iowa.

    1st heat – 1. Cothron; 2. Johnson; 3. Malmstrom; 4. Kay; 5. Blum; 6. Sanders; 7. DeFrance. 2nd heat ­– 1. Beuseling; 2. Aikey; 3. Eckrich; 4. Guss; 5. Murphy; 6. Mitrisin; 7. Webb. 3rd heat ­– 1. Denning; 2. Zemo; 3. Behning; 4. Callahan; 5. Garland; 6. Toland.

    Print Friendly, PDF & Email

    Latest articles

    Tyler Erb over Pierce for Summer Nationals tour opener win at Brownstown Speedway

    BROWNSTOWN, IN – July 8, 2020 – Just over three years ago, Tyler Erb scored his first career DIRTcar Summer Nationals victory in the...

    Mike McKinney takes opening night Summit Modified Nationals win at Brownstown Speedway!

    BROWNSTOWN, IN – July 8, 2020 – In chasing a championship, it’s crucial to win early and often. That’s exactly what Mike McKinney started...

    NASCAR, INDYCAR to race on August 30 at World Wide Technology Raceway

    ARCA Menards Series 150 will open NASCAR-INDYCAR Weekend on August 29 July 8, 2020, St. Louis Region – World Wide Technology Raceway in Madison, Illinois, today...

    Related articles

    Print Friendly, PDF & Email