HomeRace Track NewsIllinoisKenny (Schrader) & Kenny (Wallace) Give Illini Dash NASCAR Flavor

Kenny (Schrader) & Kenny (Wallace) Give Illini Dash NASCAR Flavor

Illinois State FairSPRINGFIELD, IL (August 8, 2012)-NASCAR invaders Ken Schrader and Kenny Wallace have entered the second running of the UMP Modified Dirt Car Series Illini Dash at the Illinois State Fairgrounds on Saturday August 18. A field of drivers who frequent the central Illinois dirt tracks is expected to join the two NASCAR stars in a 20-mile event run in conjunction with the USAC Tony Bettenhausen 100.

For Schrader it’s a return to the Springfield Mile after a two-year absence with his last appearance coming in the 2009 Allen Crowe 100 ARCA event. Schrader has one UMP Modified victory on the Springfield Mile, that coming in the spring of 1998. He also has victories in ARCA stock cars and midgets.

The youngest of Russ Wallace’s sons ran his first (and perhaps only) dirt mile event in 1983 when he won a street stock race on the Springfield Mile in October of 1983. Brothers Rusty and Mike both previously raced at Springfield in USAC Stock Car competition but neither was able to find victory lane and later Mike would race outlaw late models on the fastest one mile dirt track in the world. Kenny Wallace has not returned to the Illinois State Fairgrounds dirt track since 1983 but he could be a contender for the win.

Defending winner Shelby Miles of Bloomington, Indiana is expected to join the fray as is Joey Kramer of Hanover, Indiana. Kramer dominated the May Indyana Classic at the Indiana State Fairgrounds.

Local drivers Dennis Vandermeersch (Springfield), Donnie Sheppard (New Berlin), Brian Shaw (Robinson), and Steve Adams (Humboldt) are expected as well.

The second Illini Dash will be held at approximately 1:00 p.m.at the Illinois State Fairgrounds immediately prior to the USAC Tony Bettenhausen 100.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Latest articles

Related articles

Print Friendly, PDF & Email
%d bloggers like this: